Home | Our members | Contact us | Français | |  

Josephine Rapp

 

Postdoctoral fellow

Department of Biochemistry, Microbiology and Bioinformatics, Université Laval

Charles-Eugène-Marchand Building
1030 avenue de la Médecine
Université Laval
Quebec, Canada
G1V 0A6


josephine.rapp.1@ulaval.ca

 

 


 
 
 

Projet de recherche

Microbe-virus interactions in cryospheric habitats of the Arctic's Last Ice Area

Introduction

The cryosphere, that portion of the planet where most of the water is frozen, has been incurring significant losses in both areal extent and volume over the last decades due to climate change. While mostly frozen, cryospheric habitats are home to diverse and specialized microbial and viral populations that play critical roles for ecosystem functioning. The extreme settings that characterize these environments may foster unique interactions and altered ecologies of microbes and their viruses, with implications for microbial evolution and adaptation, yet modern molecular tools are only now starting to be applied to study these ecosystems.

Objectives

As part of the Sentinel North "Last Ice Microbiomes and Arctic Ecosystem Health" project, I will study the microbial communities and their viruses that live in different types of cryo-environments in the Last Ice Area. Specifically, I will use metagenomic analyses to resolve microbial diversity and metabolism in different habitats, and will investigate whether and how it is affected by viral infection. One of my overarching research questions is whether old and stable ice environments allow for the establishment of specific types of microbe-virus interactions that cannot form under younger and more short-lived environmental settings. With ongoing environmental changes, old and thick ice features are being lost and will eventually be replaced by more transient habitats.

Study sites

We will collect samples for this project from the Ward Hunt Ice Shelf and the surrounding sea ice off the coast of northern Ellesmere Island, Nunavut, Canada. Targeted types of cryo-environments include shelf ice, permanent lakes on the ice shelf surface, thawing and refreezing each year, as well as meltwater rivulets. Further, we will sample seawater and sea ice during an expedition to the Beaufort Gyre aboard CCGS Louis S. St-Laurent, aiming to collect the microbial communities that eventually feed into the ice environments of the Last Ice Area.

Material and methods

We will collect samples on 0.02 µm pore size Anotop filters that capture eukaryotes, prokaryotes and viruses. My focus will be on prokaryotes and viruses for this project. I will extract total community DNA from these filters and use shotgun metagenomic sequencing to access the genomic information encoded by both microbes and viruses. I will reconstruct microbial genomes and their metabolism, and identify viral sequences in the same datasets. In silico virus-host matching, as well as the prediction of viral lifestyle and identification of virally-encoded auxiliary metabolic genes will shed light on specific interactions and the effect of environmental settings on these relationships.

Expected results

Results from this study will help us to better understand the diversity and function of the microbial communities in these extreme and threatened Northern habitats. They will provide some of the first genomic insights into their metabolic capabilities and the role of microbe-virus interactions for community structure and ecosystem functioning. I expect to see differences in both biodiversity and type of interaction between comparably stable and old cryohabitats, i.e. ice shelf and multi-year sea ice, and more transient and short-lived features, i.e. meltwater lakes and young ice, with "aged" communities featuring more specific and synergistic interactions, and younger communities exhibiting a more diverse, but unspecific pool of functions that allow short-lived relationships.

 
 
Location of the research sites
 
 

Scientific communications

Labbé, M., Thaler, M., Pitot, T.M., Rapp, J., Vincent, W.F., Culley, A.I., 2022. Climate-endangered arctic epishelf lake harbors viral assemblages with distinct genetic repertoires. Applied and Environmental Microbiology, 88(17), e00228-22. DOI: 10.1128/aem.00228-22.

 
© 2022 All rights reserved | Adapted from an original design by BinaryTheme.com

Accueil | Nos membres | Nous joindre | English | |  

Josephine Rapp

 

Chercheure post-doctorale

Département de biochimie, microbiologie et bio-informatique, Université Laval

Pavillon Charles-Eugène-Marchand
1030 avenue de la Médecine
Université Laval
Québec
Québec, Canada
G1V 0A6


josephine.rapp.1@ulaval.ca

 

 


 
 
 

Projet de recherche

Interactions microbes-virus dans les habitats cryosphériques de la dernière zone de glace de l'Arctique

Introduction

La cryosphère, cette partie de la planète où la plupart de l'eau est gelée, a subi d'importantes pertes en termes d'étendue et de volume au cours des dernières décennies en raison des changements climatiques. Bien qu'essentiellement gelés, les habitats cryosphériques abritent des populations microbiennes et virales diverses et spécialisées qui jouent un rôle essentiel dans le fonctionnement de ces écosystèmes. Les conditions extrêmes qui caractérisent ces environnements peuvent favoriser des interactions uniques et des écologies modifiées des micro-organismes et de leurs virus, avec des implications pour l'évolution et l'adaptation microbiennes. Les outils moléculaires modernes commencent seulement à être appliqués pour étudier ces écosystèmes.

Objectifs

Dans le cadre du projet Sentinelle Nord "Last Ice Microbiomes and Arctic Ecosystem Health", j'étudierai les communautés microbiennes et leurs virus qui vivent dans différents types de cryo-environnements dans la zone des dernières glaces. Plus précisément, j'utiliserai des analyses métagénomiques pour étudier la diversité et le métabolisme microbiens dans différents habitats et j'étudierai si et comment ils sont affectés par une infection virale. L'un de mes principaux objectifs de recherche est de comprendre si les environnements de glace ancienne et stable permettent l'établissement de types spécifiques d'interactions microbes-virus qui ne peuvent pas se former dans des environnements plus jeunes et éphémères. Avec les changements environnementaux en cours, les caractéristiques de la glace ancienne et épaisse disparaissent et seront éventuellement remplacées par des habitats plus transitoires.

Sites d'étude

Dans le cadre de ce projet, nous recueillerons des échantillons sur la plate-forme de glace Ward Hunt et sur la glace de mer environnante, au large de la côte nord de l'île d'Ellesmere au Nunavut, Canada. Les types de cryo-environnements ciblés comprennent la glace de banquise, les lacs permanents à la surface de la banquise, qui dégèlent et regèlent chaque année, ainsi que les ruisseaux d'eau de fonte. De plus, nous prélèverons des échantillons d'eau de mer et de glace de mer lors d'une expédition dans le gyre de Beaufort à bord du NGCC Louis S. St-Laurent, dans le but de recueillir les communautés microbiennes qui alimentent éventuellement les environnements de glace de la dernière zone de glace.

Matériel et méthodes

Nous collecterons des échantillons sur des filtres Anotop ayant une porosité de 0.02 µm qui capturent les eucaryotes, les procaryotes et les virus. Je me concentrerai sur les procaryotes et les virus pour ce projet. J'extrairai l'ADN total de la communauté à partir de ces filtres et utiliserai le séquençage métagénomique shotgun pour accéder à l'information génomique codée par les microbes et les virus. Je reconstituerai les génomes microbiens et leur métabolisme, et j'identifierai les séquences virales dans les mêmes ensembles de données. L'appariement in silico des virus et des hôtes, ainsi que la prédiction du mode de vie des virus et l'identification des gènes métaboliques auxiliaires codés par les virus, permettront de mettre en lumière les interactions spécifiques et l'effet du contexte environnemental sur ces relations.

Résultats attendus

Les résultats de cette étude nous aideront à mieux comprendre la diversité et la fonction des communautés microbiennes dans ces habitats nordiques extrêmes et menacés. Ils fourniront certains des premiers aperçus génomiques de leurs capacités métaboliques et du rôle des interactions microbes-virus pour la structure de la communauté et le fonctionnement de l'écosystème. Je m'attends à voir des différences dans la biodiversité et le type d'interaction entre des cryohabitats comparativement stables et anciens (la plate-forme de glace et la glace de mer pluriannuelle) et les systèmes plus transitoires et éphémères (les lacs d'eau de fonte et la glace jeune). Je m’attends également à ce que les communautés "âgées" présentent des interactions plus spécifiques et synergiques, et que les communautés plus jeunes présentent un ensemble de fonctions plus diversifiées mais non spécifiques qui permettent des relations éphémères.

 
 
Localisation des sites de recherche
 
 

Communications scientifiques

Labbé, M., Thaler, M., Pitot, T.M., Rapp, J., Vincent, W.F., Culley, A.I., 2022. Climate-endangered arctic epishelf lake harbors viral assemblages with distinct genetic repertoires. Applied and Environmental Microbiology, 88(17), e00228-22. DOI: 10.1128/aem.00228-22.

 
© 2022 Tous droits réservés | Adapté d'un design original de BinaryTheme.com