Home | Our members | Contact us | Français | |  

Valérie Langlois

 

Master student

Department of Biochemistry, Microbiology and Bioinformatics, Université Laval

Charles-Eugène-Marchand Building
1030 avenue de la Médecine
Université Laval
Quebec, Canada
G1V 0A6

418.656.2131 extension 4963
valerie.langlois.8@ulaval.ca

 

 


 
 
 

Projet de recherche

Diversity, seasonality and dispersion of thermokarst ponds viruses in Northern Quebec

Arctic and subarctic ecosystems have been disproportionately affected by climate change. Among the consequences of the increase in temperature in these regions has been an increase in the size and the number of thermokarst lakes and ponds, small water bodies resulting from the melting and erosion of permafrost. It is known that these ecosystems have a very rich microbial diversity whose intense metabolic activity is responsible for a substantial greenhouse gas emission, including methane and carbon dioxide. However, even though aquatic viruses influence the structure and evolution of microbial communities, the flow of resources in the food web and the metabolism of their microbial hosts, the viral portion of the communities of these ponds remains almost uncharacterized.
The main objective of this project is the characterisation of the diversity and seasonal dynamics of wild viruses in subarctic thermokarst ponds.
We have selected three representative thaw ponds in the region of Whapmagoostui-Kuujjuarapik, in the Sasapimakwananisikw (SAS) valley (55°22'N, 77°69'O), as sampling site for this project.
Triplicate viral communities from surface and bottom water will be characterized based on a metagenomic approach, with samples collected from the SAS thermokarst ponds in 2015, 2016, 2017, 2020 and 2021. Water will also be collected from a nearby river and it's opening in the Hudson bay in 2020 and 2021. Briefly, water is collected from the pond, prefiltered to remove cells and collected on a 0.02 µm filter. The filter with the virus-enriched fraction is subsequently extracted and prepared for sequencing.
With these data, we intend to characterize thaw pond viral diversity, investigate seasonal differences, elucidate possible overwintering adaptations and gain insight into the role of viruses in microbial metabolic activity both in thermokarst ponds and through a pond to sea continuum.

 
 

Scientific communications

Girard, C., Langlois, V., Vigneron, A., Vincent, W.F., Culley, A.I., 2020. Seasonal regime shift in the viral communities of a permafrost thaw lake. Viruses, 12(11), 1204. DOI: 10.3390/v12111204.

Vigneron, A., Cruaud, P., Langlois, V., Lovejoy, C., Culley, A.I., Vincent, W.F., 2020. Ultra‐small and abundant: Candidate phyla radiation bacteria are potential catalysts of carbon transformation in a thermokarst lake ecosystem. Limnology and Oceanography Letters, 5(2): 212-220. DOI: 10.1002/lol2.10132.

 
© 2022 All rights reserved | Adapted from an original design by BinaryTheme.com

Accueil | Nos membres | Nous joindre | English | |  

Valérie Langlois

 

Étudiante 2è cycle

Département de biochimie, microbiologie et bio-informatique, Université Laval

Pavillon Charles-Eugène-Marchand
1030 avenue de la Médecine
Université Laval
Québec
Québec, Canada
G1V 0A6

418.656.2131 poste 4963
valerie.langlois.8@ulaval.ca

 

 


 
 
 

Projet de recherche

Diversité, saisonnalité et dispersion des virus de mares thermokarst du nord du Québec

Les écosystèmes arctiques et subarctiques ont été touchés de façon disproportionnée par les changements climatiques. Parmi les conséquences de l'augmentation de la température dans ces régions,on remarque une augmentation de la taille et du nombre de lacs et de mares thermokarstiques, de petits plans d'eau résultant de la fonte et de l'érosion du pergélisol. On sait que ces écosystèmes présentent une très riche diversité microbienne dont l'activité métabolique est responsable d'une importante émission de gaz à effet de serre tel que le méthane et de dioxyde de carbone. Cependant, même si les virus aquatiques influencent la structure et l'évolution des communautés microbiennes, le flux des ressources dans le réseau alimentaire et le métabolisme de leurs hôtes microbiens, la portion virale des communautés de ces mares demeure très peu caractérisée.
L'objectif principal de ce projet est la caractérisation de la diversité, de la saisonnalité et de la dispersion des virus sauvages dans les mares thermokarstiques subarctiques.
Nous avons sélectionné trois étangs de dégel représentatifs de la région de Whapmagoostui-Kuujjuarapik, dans la vallée de Sasapimakwananisikw (SAS) (55°22'N, 77°69'O), comme site d'échantillonnage pour ce projet.
Les communautés virales des eaux de surface et de fond seront caractérisées selon une approche métagénomique. Des échantillons seront prélevés dans les mares thermokarstiques de SAS en 2015, 2016, 2017, 2020 et 2021. De l'eau sera également recueillie dans une rivière voisine qui s'ouvre dans la baie d'Hudson en 2020 et 2021. En bref, l'eau échantillonnée est pré-filtrée pour en retirer les cellules puis la fraction virale enrichie est recueillie sur un filtre de 0,02 µm. Le filtre avec la fraction enrichie en virus est ensuite extrait et préparé pour le séquençage.
Avec ces données, nous avons l'intention de caractériser la diversité virale des étangs de dégel, d'étudier les différences saisonnières, d'élucider les éventuelles adaptations hivernales et de mieux comprendre le rôle des virus dans l'activité métabolique microbienne à la fois dans les étangs thermokarstiques et le long du continuum entre les mares et la baie d'Hudson.

 
 

Communications scientifiques

Girard, C., Langlois, V., Vigneron, A., Vincent, W.F., Culley, A.I., 2020. Seasonal regime shift in the viral communities of a permafrost thaw lake. Viruses, 12(11), 1204. DOI: 10.3390/v12111204.

Vigneron, A., Cruaud, P., Langlois, V., Lovejoy, C., Culley, A.I., Vincent, W.F., 2020. Ultra‐small and abundant: Candidate phyla radiation bacteria are potential catalysts of carbon transformation in a thermokarst lake ecosystem. Limnology and Oceanography Letters, 5(2): 212-220. DOI: 10.1002/lol2.10132.

 
© 2022 Tous droits réservés | Adapté d'un design original de BinaryTheme.com