Home | Our members | Contact us | Français | |  

Pedro Freitas

 

Ph.D. student

Department of Biology, Université Laval

Alexandre-Vachon Building
1045 avenue de la Médecine
Université Laval
Quebec, Canada
G1V 0A6

418.656.5644 extension 405644
pedro-freitas@campus.ul.pt

 

 


 
 
 

Projet de recherche

Dynamics and spatial variability of Arctic and sub-Arctic thermokarst ponds and their biogeochemical properties

Introduction

The Arctic and Subarctic are changing rapidly, with warming and changes in precipitation leading to permafrost degradation and the formation of thermokarst lakes and ponds. These act as biogeochemical hotspots for the mobilization of soil organic carbon through microbial and photochemical transformations and are a form of abrupt permafrost thaw, contributing to an increase of the global CH4 and CO2 emissions. They exhibit diverse optical properties, reflecting their biogeochemical and limnological characteristics, contributing differentially to greenhouse gas production, and are considered a positive feedback mechanism to global warming. However, due to their small size, these small lakes and ponds are not adequately represented in global climate and Earth System models.

Objectives

Identifying the biogeochemical variables of thermokarst lakes (e.g. Total Suspended Solids, Dissolved Organic Matter, Colored Dissolved Organic Matter, Chlorophyll a) that can be characterized using UAV and satellite imagery, allowing the development of classification algorithms. Identifying local factors (lithological, climatic, vegetation) that control the biogeochemical and spectral properties of thermokarst lakes. Developing methodologies for upscaling observations from local to the regional scales, considering problems related to shadows, wind and reflected radiation from the surrounding environment, currently not considered in regional remote sensing analysis. Characterizing and analyzing the spectral variability of thermokarst lakes along two regional transects in Northern Canada, from the isolated to continuous permafrost zones, and identify the main conditioning factors at the seasonal and interannual levels.

Study sites

Two regional transects will be analyzed: Transect 1- The transect in eastern Hudson Bay, will be between 55° and 58°N, allowing analysis of the tundra-boreal forest transition zone, in an area where permafrost degradation (ice-rich permafrost mounds degradation forming thermokarst lakes) is advanced and shrubification processes are evolving very rapidly. Fieldwork will take place in detailed areas near the CEN stations at Kuujjuarapik-Whapmagoostui and Umiujaq. Transect 2 - The Mackenzie river transect, will be between Eagle Plains and Tuktoyaktuk from 66° to 69°N, with several detailed study sites along the Dempster and Tuktoyaktuk roads. In this transect larger lakes will also be analyzed.

Material and methods

Unmanned Aerial Vehicles equipped with optical and multispectral cameras will be used to spectrally characterize the thermokarst lakes, classify the vegetation, calculate indices, characterize the geomorphology and structure of the vegetation, and perform biomass calculations. A multiparameter probe will be used for the physical-chemical characterization of parameters associated to the optical properties of the lakes (DOC, TSS, etc.). Water samples will be collected and analyzed in the laboratory. These data will be used to calibrate satellite images through linear and non-linear regressions. Chemical and particle size analysis of lake basin soils will be made, highlighting organic carbon and nutrient content. Point sampling (DGPS) of ground truth with different landcover types will be used for training and validation of satellite image classifiers.

References

Walter Anthony, K., Deimling, T. S., Nitze, I., Frolking, S., Emond, A., Daanen, R. Anthony, P., Lindgren, P., Jones, B., Grosse, G. (2018). 21st-century modeled permafrost carbon emissions accelerated by abrupt thaw beneath lakes. Nature Communications, 9:3262. DOI: 10.1038/s41467-018-05738-9. Bouchard, F., MacDonald, L., Turner, K., Thienpont, J., Medeiros, A., Biskaborn, B., Korosi, J., Hall, R., Pienitz, R., Wolfe, B. (2016). Paleolimnology of thermokarst lakes: a window into permafrost landscape evolution. Arctic Science, Vol. 3, 91-117. DOI: 10.1139/as-2016-0022. Schuur, E. A. G., McGuire, A. D., Schadel, C., Grosse, G., Harden, J. W., Hayes, D. J., Hugelius, G., Koven, C. D., Kuhry, P., Lawrence, D. M., Natali, S. M., Olefeldt, D., Romanovsky, V. E., Schaefer, K., Turetsky, M. R., Treat, C. C., Vonk, J. E. (2015). Climate change and the permafrost carbon feedback. Nature, Vol. 520, 171 - 179. DOI:10.1038/nature14338.

 
 
Location of the research sites
 
 

Scientific communications

Folhas, D., Duarte, A.C., Pilote, M., Vincent, W.F., Freitas, P., Vieira, G., Silva, A.M.S., Duarte, R.M.B.O., Canário, J., 2020. Structural characterization of dissolved organic matter in permafrost peatland lakes. Water, 12(11), 3059. DOI: 10.3390/w12113059 .

Freitas, P., Vieira, G., Canário, J., Folhas, D., Vincent, W.F., 2019. Identification of a threshold minimum area for reflectance retrieval from thermokarst lakes and ponds using full-pixel data from Sentinel-2. Remote Sensing, 11(6): 657. DOI: 10.3390/rs11060657.

 
© 2022 All rights reserved | Adapted from an original design by BinaryTheme.com

Accueil | Nos membres | Nous joindre | English | |  

Pedro Freitas

 

Étudiant 3è cycle

Département de biologie, Université Laval

Pavillon Alexandre-Vachon
1045 avenue de la Médecine
Université Laval
Québec
Québec, Canada
G1V 0A6

418.656.5644 poste 405644
pedro-freitas@campus.ul.pt

 

 


 
 
 

Projet de recherche

Dynamique et variabilité spatiale des mares de thermokarst arctiques et subarctiques et de leurs propriétés biogéochimiques

Introduction

L'Arctique et le subarctique évoluent rapidement avec le réchauffement climatique, entraînant la dégradation du pergélisol et la formation de mares de thermokarst. Ces écosystèmes aquatiques agissent comme des points biogéochimiquement chauds pour la mobilisation du carbone organique du sol par les transformations microbiennes, contribuant à l'augmentation des émissions de CH4 et de CO2. Ils présentent des propriétés optiques diverses, un reflet de ces caractéristiques biogéochimiques et limnologiques. La production des gaz à effet de serre par ces écosystèmes est considérée comme un mécanisme de rétroaction positive à l'augmentation de la température globale. Cependant, en raison de leur petite taille, les mares de thermokarst ne sont pas représentés de manière adéquate dans les modèles climatiques globaux et du système terrestre.

Objectifs

Identifier les variables biogéochimiques des mares (ex. TSS, DOM, CDOM, Chl a) qui peuvent être caractérisées à partir d'images satellitaires à haute résolution et dévélopper des algorithmes pour leur classification. Identifier les facteurs locaux (géomorphologie, sol, climat, végétation) conditionnant les propriétés biogéochimiques et spectrales des mares de thermokarst. Développer des méthodologies permettant de faire passer les observations des propriétés des mares de l'échelle locale à l'échelle régionale, en résolvant les problèmes liés aux ombres, au vent et à la radiation réfléchie par les environs du lac, qui ne sont actuellement pas pris en compte dans les analyses régionales de télédétection. Caractériser et analyser la variabilité spectrale des mares le long de deux transects régionaux dans le nord du Canada, du pergélisol sporadique au pergélisol continu, en identifiant les facteurs de conditionnement. Les dynamiques saisonnières et interannuelles seront aussi analysées.

Sites d'étude

Deux transects régionaux seront analysés: Transect 1- Le transect dans l'est de la baie d'Hudson, se développera entre 55° et 58°N, permettant l'analyse de la zone de transition toundra-forêt boréale, dans un secteur où le pergelisol est en dégradation avancée et où les processus de "arbustification" ont été très rapides. Le travail sur le terrain aura lieu dans des zones détaillées dans les environs des stations du CEN à Kuujjuarapik-Whapmagoostui et Umiujaq. Transect 2 - Le transect de la vallée du Mackenzie, se développera entre Eagle Plains et Tuktoyaktuk de 66° à 69°N, avec plusieurs zones de détail le long des routes Dempster et Tuktoyaktuk. Ce transect permettra également de concentrer l'analyse sur les lacs.

Matériel et méthodes

Des drones équipés avec caméras optiques et multispectrales permettront de caractériser spectralement les lagunes, de classer la végétation, de calculer des índices spectrales, de caractériser la géomorphologie, ainsi que la structure de la végétation et de réaliser des calculs de biomasse. Une sonde multiparamétrique sera utilisée pour la caractérisation physico-chimique des paramètres associés aux propriétés optiques des lagunes (DOC, TSS, etc.). Des échantillons d'eau seront prélevés et analysés en laboratoire. Ces données seront utilisées pour calibrer les images satellitaires par analyses statistiques. Analyse chimique et granulométrique des sols des bassins lacustres, mettant en évidence la teneur en carbone organique et en nutriments. Echantillonnage de points (DGPS) de la vérité de terrain avec différents types de végétation. Elles seront utilisées pour l'entraînement et la validation des classificateurs d'images de télédétection.

Références

Walter Anthony, K., Deimling, T. S., Nitze, I., Frolking, S., Emond, A., Daanen, R. Anthony, P., Lindgren, P., Jones, B., Grosse, G. (2018). 21st-century modeled permafrost carbon emissions accelerated by abrupt thaw beneath lakes. Nature Communications, 9:3262. DOI: 10.1038/s41467-018-05738-9. Bouchard, F., MacDonald, L., Turner, K., Thienpont, J., Medeiros, A., Biskaborn, B., Korosi, J., Hall, R., Pienitz, R., Wolfe, B. (2016). Paleolimnology of thermokarst lakes: a window into permafrost landscape evolution. Arctic Science, Vol. 3, 91-117. DOI: 10.1139/as-2016-0022. Schuur, E. A. G., McGuire, A. D., Schadel, C., Grosse, G., Harden, J. W., Hayes, D. J., Hugelius, G., Koven, C. D., Kuhry, P., Lawrence, D. M., Natali, S. M., Olefeldt, D., Romanovsky, V. E., Schaefer, K., Turetsky, M. R., Treat, C. C., Vonk, J. E. (2015). Climate change and the permafrost carbon feedback. Nature, Vol. 520, 171 - 179. DOI:10.1038/nature14338.

 
 
Localisation des sites de recherche
 
 

Communications scientifiques

Folhas, D., Duarte, A.C., Pilote, M., Vincent, W.F., Freitas, P., Vieira, G., Silva, A.M.S., Duarte, R.M.B.O., Canário, J., 2020. Structural characterization of dissolved organic matter in permafrost peatland lakes. Water, 12(11), 3059. DOI: 10.3390/w12113059 .

Freitas, P., Vieira, G., Canário, J., Folhas, D., Vincent, W.F., 2019. Identification of a threshold minimum area for reflectance retrieval from thermokarst lakes and ponds using full-pixel data from Sentinel-2. Remote Sensing, 11(6): 657. DOI: 10.3390/rs11060657.

 
© 2022 Tous droits réservés | Adapté d'un design original de BinaryTheme.com