Home | Our members | Contact us | Français | |  

Anna Gaspard

 

Ph.D. student

Department of Biology, Université Laval

Alexandre-Vachon Building
1045 avenue de la Médecine
Université Laval
Quebec, Canada
G1V 0A6

5819225300
anna.gaspard.1@ulaval.ca

 

 


 
 
 

Projet de recherche

Characterization and evolution of major plant formations in Nunavik under climate change

Introduction

Alterations in temperature and precipitation regimes as a result of climate change generally result in improved growing conditions, leading to an increase in the primary productivity of Arctic and sub-Arctic ecosystems. This phenomenon is often referred to as the "greening of the North". Although this greening has been widely documented at the circumpolar scale, little information is available at the scale of the different plant communities found in the Arctic and sub-Arctic landscapes. The main objectives of this thesis are therefore to characterize the major vegetation formations in Nunavik along a latitudinal gradient extending from lichen woodlands bioclimatic zone to the prostrate shrub tundra, to assess the rate of vertical structure development and to evaluate the productivity of woody species.

Objectives

My first objective is to quantify the variation of NDVI within the different dominant terrestrial plant communities present in Nunavik. This will allow us to identify the plant formations that contribute the most to the observed increase in productivity. My second objective is to quantify the temporal evolution of plant structure and primary productivity of plant communities along a latitudinal gradient in Nunavik. My last objective is to evaluate the climatic sensitivity and performance of woody species along a latitudinal gradient, which will allow the identification of buffer zones to the observed changes.

Study sites

The analysis of the vertical structure and primary productivity of plant communities is conducted along a latitudinal gradient in Nunavik extending from forest tundra to prostrate shrub tundra (ca. 52nd to 62nd parallel). In order to capture the variability of the different vegetation formations, eight sampling stations were selected. The southern portion of the gradient includes the Clearwater Lake and Boniface River stations, located in forest tundra vegetation zone. The central portion of the gradient includes three stations located in shrub tundra: the Le Roy Lake station, ca. 90km north of the Boniface River station, the Payne Lake station and another station ca. 100km east of Puvirnituk. The northern portion of the latitudinal gradient comprised three stations located in the prostrate shrub tundra vegetation zone, one station near Chukotat River, one station at Deception Bay and one station near the Inuit community of Ivujivik.

Material and methods

In order to quantify NDVI variation, annual summer NDVI mosaics were generated from Landsat scenes for the period 1984 to 2020. The ecological mapping of the vegetation of Northern Quebec was then superimposed on the mosaics to calculate the average NDVI per vegetation polygon per year. The vertical structure of each sample site was obtained from vegetation surveys to determine the cover, size and biomass of the different functional groups. Shrub productivity and height growth development were determined from dendrochronological analyses. Climate sensitivity of shrubs was assessed using mixed effects models.

Expected results

Since the increase in primary productivity in Arctic and sub-Arctic regions is mainly due to the expansion of shrubs, shrubby formations are expected to show the largest increases in NDVI. We should find evidence of a decrease in the complexity of plant community structure along the latitudinal gradient due to increased climatic and edaphic constraints. Vertical structure and ecosystem productivity of woody species should decrease with increasing latitude. We should observe a structural change in recent decades, particularly important in the central portion of the transect, due to a shift from an open tundra ecosystem to an upright shrub tundra ecosystem. Carbon balance is expected to decrease along the latitudinal gradient and also to accumulate more rapidly in shrubby formations due to increased productivity.

 
 
Location of the research sites
 
© 2022 All rights reserved | Adapted from an original design by BinaryTheme.com

Accueil | Nos membres | Nous joindre | English | |  

Anna Gaspard

 

Étudiante 3è cycle

Département de biologie, Université Laval

Pavillon Alexandre-Vachon
1045 avenue de la Médecine
Université Laval
Québec
Québec, Canada
G1V 0A6

5819225300
anna.gaspard.1@ulaval.ca

 

 


 
 
 

Projet de recherche

Caractérisation et évolution des grandes formations végétales du Nunavik dans un contexte de changements climatiques

Introduction

L’altération des régimes de température et de précipitations sous l’effet des changements climatiques résulte généralement en une amélioration des conditions de croissance, ce qui se traduit par une augmentation de la productivité primaire des écosystèmes arctiques et subarctiques. Ce phénomène est souvent désigné sous le terme « verdissement ». Bien que ce verdissement ait été largement documenté à l’échelle circumpolaire, peu d’informations sont disponibles à l’échelle des différentes communautés végétales composant les paysages arctiques et subarctiques. Les objectifs principaux de cette thèse sont donc de caractériser les grandes formations végétales du Nunavik présentes le long d’un gradient latitudinal s’étalant de la pessière à lichens jusqu’à la toundra à arbustes prostrés, d’évaluer la vitesse à laquelle se développe la structure verticale des différents écosystèmes et d’évaluer la productivité des espèces ligneuses.

Objectifs

Mon premier objectif consiste à quantifier la variation de NDVI au sein des différentes communautés végétales terrestres dominantes du Nunavik. Cela permettra ainsi d’identifier les formations végétales qui contribuent le plus à l’augmentation de productivité observée. Mon second objectif consiste à quantifier l’évolution temporelle de la structure végétale et de la productivité primaire des communautés végétales le long d’un gradient latitudinal au Nunavik. Mon dernier objectif repose sur l’évaluation de la sensibilité climatique et la performance des espèces ligneuses le long d’un gradient latitudinal, ce qui permettra d’identifier les zones tampons aux changements observés.

Sites d'étude

L’analyse de la structure verticale et de la productivité primaire des communautés végétales se déroule le long d’un gradient latitudinal au Nunavik s’étendant de la toundra forestière à la toundra à arbustes prostrés (ca. du 52e au 62e parallèle). Afin de bien capturer la variabilité des différentes formations végétales, huit stations ont été échantillonnées. La portion sud du gradient comprend les stations du Lac à l’Eau Claire et de la rivière Boniface, situées en toundra forestière. La portion centrale du gradient comprend trois stations situées en toundra à arbustes dressés, soit la station du Lac Le Roy, située à ca. 90km au nord de la station de la rivière Boniface, la station du Lac Payne et une station située à ca. 100km à l’est de Puvirnituq. La portion septentrionale du gradient abrite trois stations situées en toundra à arbustes prostrés, soit une station près de la rivière Chukotat, une station à Baie Déception et une station à proximité de la communauté Inuite d’Ivujivik.

Matériel et méthodes

Afin de quantifier la variation du NDVI, des mosaïques annuelles estivales de NDVI ont été générées à partir de scènes Landsat pour la période de 1984 à 2020. La cartographie écologique de la végétation du Nord québécois a ensuite été superposée aux mosaïques afin de calculer le NDVI moyen par polygone de végétation par année. La structure verticale de chaque site d’échantillonnage a été obtenue à partir de relevés de végétation permettant de déterminer le recouvrement, la taille et la biomasse des différents groupes fonctionnels. La productivité et le développement de la croissance en hauteur des arbustes ont été déterminés à partir d’analyses dendrochronologiques. La sensibilité climatique des arbustes a été évaluée à partir de modèles à effets mixtes.

Résultats attendus

L’augmentation de la productivité primaire dans les régions arctiques et subarctiques étant principalement attribuable à l’avancée des espèces arbustives, les formations arbustives devraient présenter les plus fortes augmentations de NDVI. Nous devrions mettre en évidence une diminution de la complexité de la structure des communautés végétales le long du gradient latitudinal du fait de l’augmentation des contraintes climatiques et édaphiques. La structure verticale et la productivité des écosystèmes des espèces ligneuses devraient diminuer avec l’augmentation de la latitude. Nous devrions observer un changement structurel au cours des dernières décennies, particulièrement important dans la portion centrale du transect, dû au passage d’un écosystème de toundra ouvert à un écosystème de toundra à arbustes dressés.

 
 
Localisation des sites de recherche
 
© 2022 Tous droits réservés | Adapté d'un design original de BinaryTheme.com