Home | Our members | Contact us | Français | |  
 

CEN Kangiqsualujjuaq SUKUIJARVIK Research Station

 
 
 

 
 

Field Station Management

 
General information:  

CEN Kangiqsualujjuaq SUKUIJARVIK Research Station is owned and run by the Centre d’études nordiques (CEN: Centre for northern studies) at Université Laval. The station is part of the CEN Network of research stations. The station is run in close collaboration with the community of Kangiqsualujjuaq and the Qiniqtiq LandHolding Corporation.

Location:   The station is situated in the community of Kangiqsualujjuaq (population of 942 in 2016), on the shores of George River which flows into Ungava Bay, Nunavik, Quebec, Canada.
Owner:   Centre d’études nordiques (CEN), Université Laval
Institution in charge:   Centre d’études nordiques (CEN), Université Laval
Address:   473 Kuururjuaq Street
Kangiqsualujjuaq, Qc
J0M 1N0
Opening year:   The station opened in 2018.
Operational period:   Year-round.
Station networks:  

Canadian Network of Northern Research Operators

INTERACT - International network for terrestrial research and monitoring in the arctic

Environment

 
Keywords:   Mountain, valley, lakes, marine, coastal, woodland tundra, treeline, permafrost, boulders
Climate:   Subarctic
Temperature:   Annual average -5,7°C.
Winds:   Ave. speed 5.30 m/s; max. ave. speed 23.61 m/s; dominant wind direction S/SW
Precipitations:   Rain and snow; total ave. annual precipitation 500-600 mm water, half of which was in the form of snow.
Ice breakup:   May-June
Permafrost:   Discontinuous
Altitude:   28 m at station ; 0 m to 1646 m in area (including Torngat Mountains, Mount Iberville).
Natural environment:  

This region is characterized by deep valleys shaped by glacier retreat and steep cliffs. Several remains from the last glaciation can be found here: trough valleys, cirques, morainic ridges, suspended valleys, etc. The cold climate and topographic heterogeneity create a diverse landscape with tundra, forest tundra and boreal forest vegetation. The valley bottoms are ecologically rich, characterized by a rise of the boreal forest (with the presence of spruce, larch, birch, etc.) that contrasts with the bare areas of the region's slopes and peaks. In terms of wildlife, the distribution of species is closely linked to vegetation, relief and climate. A special feature of this area is the presence of the George River caribou herd and further from the village, the Torngat Mountains herd. Wolf, black bear, snowy owl and willow ptarmigan also inhabit this area. Atlantic salmon and Arctic char are numerous in the region's rivers. As for Ungava Bay and the rivers that flow into it, it represents an estuary rich in salmon, Arctic char, brook trout, beluga whales, and several seal species.

Human dimension:  

Archaeological sites associated with Thule, Dorset and pre-Dorset populations have been identified in the Kangiqsualujjuaq area. The first traces of occupation are dated around 2350 BP. In 1838, the first trading post was established at the present site of the village by the Hudson's Bay Company. In 1959, the first Inuit co-op, the Fédération des coopératives du Nouveau-Québec (FCNQ) was founded in Kangiqsualujjuaq. Until 1980, the village was known as George River or Port Nouveau-Québec. Kangiqsualujjuaq has a population of 942. Inuktitut, English and some French are spoken. Today, the village is the gateway to Kuururjuaq National Park and the Torngat Mountains (Nunavik Parks). Ulittaniujalik Park, a second provincial park operated by Nunavik Parks, is currently being created. There is Mount Caubvick (D'Iberville), the highest peak in the province of Quebec culminating at 1646m. 

Research

 
Disciplines:  

Climate change, permafrost,  environmental sciences, water quality, mapping,  geomorphology, geology and sedimentology, geophysics, hydrology, animal ecology (caribou), limnology, pollution, archaeology

Current research :  

Past and current research focuses on permafrost, coastal geology and geomorphological characterization of the region. Other research areas cover caribou population dynamics, impacts of permafrost thawing in the context of climate warming; slope dynamics; wetland paleoecology; snow and ice dynamics; water quality and contamination; and plant community dynamics and northern plant response to climate change.

Archaeological studies and community follow-up activities also take place such as the Avativut project "Science in Nunavik, high school students learning in relation to their territory".

Permits and licensing:  

No official research permit is required but local authorities must accept all research activities before they take place. You must prepare a letter and supporting documents (in plain language) and send them to the station manager, the Qiniqtiq Landholding Corporation and the Northern Village of Kangiqsualujjuaq.

If you plan to work within the limits of Kuururjuaq Park, you must submit a research permit application many months in advance : http://www.nunavikparks.ca/en/research-requests  

Climatic and environmental data:  

CEN has been collecting extensive climate data since 1987 and currently operates four SILA climate stations. Seven thermistor cables were also installed to monitor permafrost temperature at various depths. 

Nordicana D:  

CEN's Nordicana D journal publishes data reports, facilitating the management of data sets generated by CEN. The following Nordicana D issue is available from Kangiqsualujjuaq: Sarrazin, D., Allard, M. 2018. Data from climate stations in the Kangiqsualujjuaq region of Nunavik, Quebec, Canada, v. 1.3 (1988-2017). Nordicana D14, doi: 10.5885/45264SL-AF7FDA53F9E44927. Visit the Nordicanca D site for a complete list of data series.

Infrastructure and Local Services

 
Total area:   The area under the roof for the main building for sample manipulation is 26 m2 and 25 m2 for the garage.
Number of rooms (beds):   The station has 2 rooms, one with 1 bunk bed (2 beds) and one with two bunk beds (4 beds). The station also has one meeting room, a kitchen, a sample manipulation room and 2 bathrooms (one with shower and washer/dryer for residents).
Staff:  

A station manager is onsite year-round. Eleonora works part-time during the winter and full-time in the summer, along with Jeannie, a second manager. To reach them:

Eleonora Townley: eleonoratownley@hotmail.com.

Jeannie Annanack is also hired for the summer season:  jeannieannanack@hotmail.com

Capacity:   6 beds; 25 people seated in meeting room (training, presentations).
Commodities:  

Power source is electrical, solar panels will be installed shortly. There is running water that is drinkable. Heating is with an oil furnace. Garbage is collected on a weekly basis, there are bins outside of the stations for this purpose. There is no recycling facility in the village.

Communication :  

A telephone is available in the station for local calls only. The phone number at the station is: 819-337-5488. A calling card must be used for all long distance calls. Satellite phones and VHF are available for rent for members from the CEN. There is a router at the station with intermediate-level internet access. Printer, scanner and fax services are available in the village.

Scientific equipment:  

Chemical storage is not authorized. There is no fumehood, hence only mild chemicals can be used. All chemicals brought in must be brought out immediately. For sample preparation, there is an oven, a freezer (-80°C), refrigerator, scales, some basic glassware, and centrifuge.

Vehicles :  

One ATV (1 passenger) and one side-by-side (6 passengers) can be rented. Snowmobiles, trucks, and other ATV’scan be rented in the village.

Local resources:  

Metal workshop (in town)
Wood workshop (in town)
Plexiglas workshop (in town)
Local guides and translators available for hire.
 

How to Get There

 
Access :  

Daily access by commercial airline (Air Inuit) from Kuujjuaq. Kuujjuaq is accessible by commercial airline (Air Inuit, First Air) through Montreal, Ottawa and Quebec. Every summer, two cargo ships allow shipping of heavy equipment and materials (May-June to August-September), though this requires advance planning.

Charter services:  

Nunavik Rotors, Héli-Inter and Canadian Helicopters offer helicopter services. Air Inuit and Air Creebec offer air charters. 

Landing facilities:  

Gravel airstrip of 1073 × 30 m (length x width). The airport is 2.5km from the station. Lake landing and heliport are available. Ship docking facilities (landing wharf and pier) are found. Ship docking facilities (landing wharf and pier) are also found.

Safety, Medical Services and Insurance

 
Safety equipment:  

Safety equipment recommended for work outside the village: pepper spray, scaring pistol, communication device, first aid kit, weapon. Hire of a local guide. 

Insurance :  

It is the responsibility of the user of the station to ensure that he or she has the necessary insurance to complete his or her research. The CNESST provides insurance coverage to employees or student employees only for accidents at work. In all other cases, personal insurance must cover victims for accidents and evacuation. It is therefore essential to have adequate coverage in terms of activity and destination. Quebec Health Insurance is valid in the area.

Medical services:  

Well-equipped medical facilities (standard) and staff with basic medical training (2 employees) are found at the CLSC (community hospital). Nearest hospital is in Kuujjuaq (45 min). The station is not equipped with compulsory safety equipment (defibrillator).

Airborne medical emergency:  

Air medic offers individual, family, and temporary protection plan to obtain emergency medical or airborne services on 100% of the Quebec territory.

Reservation and Fees

 
Reservation presentation:  

The station and related services are available to all researchers (university, college, governmental and private) working in the area. The station can also accommodate small groups of students. 

Availability :  

Reservations calendar
Reservations are made online: http://www.cen.ulaval.ca/en/reservationsejour.php 

Cost :  

Rate schedule

Documentation

 
Documentation:  
On the web:  

Contact

 
Contact:  

Station Manager 
Tel. : 819-929-3319 ext. 227
station@cen.ulaval.ca

Eleonora Townley: eleonoratownley@hotmail.com

Jeannie Annanack is also hired for the summer season:  jeannieannanack@hotmail.com

Centre d'études nordiques (CEN)
Pavillon Abitibi-Price
2405, rue de la Terrasse
Université Laval
Québec (Québec)
Canada, G1V 0A6
Tel.: 418-656-3340
cen@cen.ulaval.ca

 

 

 
© 2019 All rights reserved | Adapted from an original design by BinaryTheme.com

Accueil | Nos membres | Nous joindre | English | |  
 

Station de recherche de Kangiqsualujjuaq SUKUIJARVIK

 
 
 

 
 

Gestion de la station

 
Présentation générale:  

La station de recherche de Kangiqsualujjuaq SUKUIJARVIK (place des sciences) est la propriété de, et est géré par, le Centre d'études nordiques (CEN) dont le secrétariat est basé à l'Université Laval, Québec, Canada. Cette station fait partie du Réseau CEN. La station est administrée en partenariat avec la communauté de Kangiqsualujjuaq et la Corporation foncière de Qiniqtiq.

Localisation:   La station se trouve dans le de Kangiqsualujjuaq (942 habitants en 2016), sur les rives de la Rivière George dans le Baie d’Ungava, au Nunavik, Québec, Canada.
Propriétaire:   Centre d’études nordiques (CEN), Université Laval
Gestionnaire:   Centre d’études nordiques (CEN), Université Laval
Adresse:   473 Kuururjuaq Street
Kangiqsualujjuaq, Qc
J0M 1N0
Ouverture:   La station a été complétée en 2018.
Opération:   Toute l'année
Réseaux de stations:  

Réseau canadien d'opérateurs de recherche nordique

INTERACT - International network for terrestrial research and monitoring in the arctic

Environnement

 
Mots-clés:   Montagne, vallée, lacs, milieux marins, milieux côtiers, toundra forestière, ligne d’arbres, pergélisol discontinu, blocs de roche, formes glaciaires
Climat:   Subarctique
Température:   Annuelle moyenne -5,7°C
Vents:   Moy. des vents 5.30 m/s ; vitesse moy. max. 23.61 m/s; vents dominants de direction S/SO
Précipitations:   Pluie et neige ; précipitations moy. totales annuelles 500-600 mm d’eau, dont la moitié tombe sous forme de neige.
Débâcle des glaces:   mai –juin
Pergélisol:   Discontinu
Altitude:   28 m à la station ; 0 m à 1646 m dans les environs (incluant les Monts Torngats, le Mont d’Iberville)
Environnement naturel:  

Le village est situé dans la baie d’Ungava, sur la rive de la Rivière George. Cette région est découpée par quelques vallées glaciaires profondes et escarpées. Plusieurs vestiges de la dernière glaciation s’y trouvent : vallées en auge, cirques, crêtes morainiques, vallées suspendues, etc. Le climat froid et l’hétérogénéité topographique engendrent un mélange de végétation de toundra, de toundra forestière et de forêt boréale. Les fonds des vallées sont d’une grande richesse écologique, caractérisés par une remontée de la forêt boréale (avec présence d’épinettes, de mélèzes, de bouleaux, etc.) qui contraste avec les étendues dénudées des versants et des sommets de la région. Sur le plan faunique, la répartition des espèces est étroitement liée à la végétation, au relief et au climat. Cette région présente une particularité faunique : la présence du troupeau de caribous de la Rivière George et plus loin du village, le troupeau des monts Torngat. Le loup, l’ours noir, le harfang des neiges et le lagopède des saules habitent aussi cette région. Le saumon atlantique et l’omble chevalier sont nombreux dans les rivières de la région. Pour ce qui est de la baie d’Ungava et des rivières qui s’y déversent, elle représente un estuaire riche en saumon, omble chevalier, omble de fontaine, bélugas et plusieurs espèces de phoques.

Dimension humaine:  

Des sites archéologiques associés aux cultures thuléennes, dorsétiennes et pré-dorsétiennes ont été répertoriés dans la région de Kangiqsualujjuaq. Les premières traces d’occupation sont datées vers 2350 BP. En 1838, le premier poste de traite a été établi à l’emplacement actuel du village par la compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson. En 1959, la première coopérative inuite, la Fédération des coopératives du Nouveau-Québec (FCNQ) a été fondée à Kangiqsualujjuaq. Jusqu’en 1980, le village était connu sous le nom de George River ou de Port Nouveau-Québec. Kangiqsualujjuaq compte une population de 942 habitants. On y parle l’inuktitut, l’anglais et un peu le français. Aujourd’hui, le village constitue la porte d’entrée du parc national Kuururjuaq et des monts Torngat (Parcs Nunavik) et du parc national Ulittaniujalik qui est en cours de création. Dans le parc Kuurirjuaq on trouve le mont Caubvick (D’Iberville), le plus haut sommet de la province de Québec culminant à 1646m.

Recherche

 
Disciplines:  

Changement climatique, sciences de l'environnement, géomorphologie, géologie et sédimentologie, géophysique, cartographie, hydrologie, écologie animale (caribou), biologie terrestre, océanographie et pêches, pollution, limnologie, archéologie

Projets en cours:  

Les recherches passées et actuelles portent sur le pergélisol, la géologie côtière et la caractérisation géomorphologique de la région. D’autres domaines de recherche couvrent la dynamique des populations de caribou, les répercussions de la fonte du pergélisol dans le contexte du réchauffement climatique; la paléoécologie des zones humides, la neige et la dynamique des glaces; la dynamique des communautés végétales et de la réponse des plantes du nord au changement climatique.

Des études archéologiques et des activités de suivi communautaires ont également lieu tels que le projet Avativut « La science au Nunavik, un apprentissage des élèves du secondaire en lien avec leur territoire ».

Permis, règles et règlements:  

Aucun permis n'est nécessaire pour accéder à la station ou pour réaliser des recherches dans le secteur. Toutefois, les autorités locales doivent être avisées de vos activités. Vous devez préparer à l'avance une lettre décrivant vos travaux (en termes vulgarisés) et l’envoyer au responsable de la station ainsi qu'aux autorités locales (Qiniqtiq Landholding Corporation et la municipalité (Northern Village)). 

Si vous prévoyez travailler à l’intérieur des limites du Parc Kuururjuaq, vous devez soumettre une demande de recherche des mois à l’avance, voir : http://www.nunavikparks.ca/fr/demande-de-recherche

Données environnementales et climatiques :  

Le CEN recueille depuis 1987 de vastes ensembles de données climatiques dans la région de Kangiqsualujjuaq et y exploite présentement quatre stations climatiques du réseau SILA. Sept câbles à thermistance ont également été installés pour documenter la température du pergélisol à différentes profondeur.

Nordicana D:  

La collection Nordicana-D du CEN rend librement accessible des rapports donnés numériques, facilitant la gestion des ensembles de données générées par le CEN. La parution Nordicana-D suivante est disponible dans ce secteur : Sarrazin, D., Allard, M. 2018. Données des stations climatiques de la région de Kangiqsualujjuaq au Nunavik, Québec, Canada, v. 1.3 (1988-2017). Nordicana D14, doi: 10.5885/45264SL-AF7FDA53F9E44927. Visiter le site web de Nordicanca D pour connaitre la liste complète des séries de données. 

Installations et services locaux

 
Aire totale des bâtiments:   L'aire des bâtiments comprend 26 m2 de salle de manipulation et 25 m2 d'espace de garage.
Nombre de chambres (lits):   Un total de 2 chambres (6 lits) est disponible. La maison comprend également une salle de consultation, une cuisine et une salle de bain avec laveuse/sécheuse.
Personnel:  

Une gérante de station est présent toute l’année et disponible à temps partiel pendant l’hiver et à temps plein pendant l’été. N'hésitez pas à communiquer avec elle:

Eleonora Townley: eleonoratownley@hotmail.com

Jeannie Annanack est aussi disponible pendant l'été :  jeannieannanack@hotmail.com

Capacité:   6 personnes à dormir; 25 personnes assises dans la salle de consultation pour formation/rencontres.
Commodités :  

Les installations disposent d'une alimentation électrique et bientôt solaire 24h/7, de l'eau courante potable et est chauffée à l’huile. La collecte des vidanges se fait fréquemment. Des conteneurs sont disponibles à cet effet. La collecte de recyclage n'est pas offerte.

Communication :  

Un téléphone est en fonction à la maison pour les appels locaux. Le numéro de téléphone est le suivant: 819-337-5488. Il faut prévoir une carte d’appel pour faire des interurbains. Un routeur est installé à la maison, vous permettant d’avoir accès à internet dans toute la maison. Des téléphones satellites (pour les camps) et des VFH sont en location auprès du CEN. Les installations disposent d'une alimentation électrique et bientôt solaire 24h/7, de l'eau courante potable et est chauffée à l’huile. La collecte des vidanges se fait fréquemment. Des conteneurs sont disponibles à cet effet. La collecte de recyclage n'est pas offerte.

Équipement de laboratoire:  

Aucun entreposage de produit chimique n'est permis, tous les produits doivent être rapportés après utilisation.

Véhicules disponibles:  

Deux VTT peuvent être loués auprès du CEN dont un de type côte à côte pouvant transporter 6 passagers. Des motoneiges, VTT et camions 4x4 peuvent être loués auprès du village.

Ressources locales:  

Atelier de métallurgie (au village)
Atelier de menuiserie (au village)
Atelier de plexiglas (au village)
Guides et interprètes disponibles pour embauche
 

Se rendre à la station

 
Accès:  

Kangiqsualujjuaq est desservi par la compagnie aérienne commerciale Air Inuit. Le transport maritime est disponible deux fois par an. L'accès au territoire est possible par vol nolisé (hydravion et hélicoptère).

Services aériens:  

Nunavik Rotors, Héli-Inter et Canadian Helicopters offrent des services d'hélicoptère. Air Inuit offre des services de vols nolisés.

Infrastructures de transport:  

Piste d’atterrissage en gravier de 1073 × 30 m (longueur x largeur). L’aéroport se trouve à 2.5 km de la station. Un héliport est disponible. Aussi accessible en hydravion. Des infrastructures portuaires (port, quai de débarquement, jetée) sont présentes.

Sécurité, services médicaux et assurances

 
Équipement de sécurité:  

Les équipements recommandés pour réaliser des travaux de recherche "en nature" dans le secteur sont : poivre de cayenne, pistolet de départ, système de communication, trousse de premiers soins, arme. Ce matériel n'est pas nécessaire pour circuler à l'intérieur ou autour du village.

Assurances :  

Il est de la responsabilité de l'utilisateur de la station de s'assurer qu'il détient les assurances nécessaires pour réaliser ses recherches. À titre informatif, la CNESST offre une protection d’assurance uniquement pour les cas d’accident du travail d’employé salarié ou d’étudiant rémunéré. Dans tous les autres cas, seules les assurances personnelles couvrent les personnes victimes d’un événement malheureux. L’assurance maladie du Québec n’est valide qu’au Québec. Vous devez vous renseigner si vous quittez le Québec.

Services médicaux:  

Des installations médicales bien équipées (standard) et du personnel avec formation médicale de base (1-2 employés) se trouvent au CLSC du village (Centre de santé). L'hôpital le plus près est à Kuujjuaq (45 min en avion). La station n'est pas équipée pour la réanimation cardiaque.

Secours aéroportés:  

AirMedic offre des secours médicaux aéroportés et hélicoportés sur 100% du territoire québécois mais il est nécessaire d’adhérer préalablement à un plan de protection individuelle, familiale ou temporaire.

Réservation et tarification

 
Présentation des réservation:  

La station est à la disposition de chercheurs de toute provenance (universitaire, collégiale, gouvernementale et privée) qui travaillent dans le secteur. La station peut aussi accueillir des petits groupes d'étudiants désirant effectuer un stage dans le Nord. Des ateliers scientifiques et de consultations en petits groupes peuvent aussi se tenir à la station.

Disponibilité:  

La station est disponible toute l'année. Consultez le calendrier de réservations pour connaître les dates disponibles. 
Effectuez votre réservation en ligne : http://www.cen.ulaval.ca/reservationsejour.php 

Tarification:  

Consultez la grille de tarification pour connaitre les coûts locatifs de la station. Veuillez noter que le tarif pour une semaine implique 7 nuits d’hébergement

Documentation

 
Documentation:  
Sur le web:  

Contact

 
Nous contacter:  

Gérant de la Station
Tél. : 819-929-3319 poste 227
station@cen.ulaval.ca

Sur place - Eleonora Townley: eleonoratownley@hotmail.com et Jeannie Annanack est aussi disponible pendant l'été :  jeannieannanack@hotmail.com

Centre d'études nordiques (CEN)
Pavillon Abitibi-Price
2405, rue de la Terrasse
Université Laval
Québec (Québec)
Canada, G1V 0A6
Tél.: 418-656-3340
cen@cen.ulaval.ca

 

 

 
© 2019 Tous droits réservés | Adapté d'un design original de BinaryTheme.com