Home | Our members | Contact us | Français | |  
 

Research Area 2 - Responses to climate change in the past, present and future

Project leader: Gilles Gauthier
Project co-leader: Florent Dominé
Project co-leader: Alexandre Langlois

Northern environments have been subject to constant change throughout the last few thousand years, but the pace of change appears to have accelerated markedly over the last century. The aim of this theme is to determine the rate of change at different spatio-temporal scales, to evaluate the magnitude of present changes relative to the past, and to understand the consequences for northern land and coastal geo-ecosystem function. These studies focus on critical thresholds, feedback mechanisms at the ecosystem level, and on the effects of global warming. The research aims to identify the mechanisms by which these changes act on various geo-ecosystem variables, and to anticipate the magnitude and direction of change by understanding the causal processes and consequences.

This research area includes five themes.

Researchers: Florent Dominé, Gilles Gauthier; Michel Allard, Marc Amyot, Dominique Arseneault, Marcel Babin, Simon Bélanger, Pascal Bernatchez, Dominique Berteaux, Joël Bety, Najat Bhiry, Stéphane Boudreau, Étienne Boucher, Steeve Côté, France Dufresne, Marco Festa-Bianchet, Pierre Francus, Michelle Garneau, Bernard Hétu, Alexandre Langlois, Isabelle Laurion, Claude Lavoie, Martin Lavoie, Jean-Philippe Lessard, Esther Lévesque, Connie Lovejoy, Guillaume Marie, Serge Payette, Reinhard Pienitz, Milla Rautio, Line Rochefort, Nigel Roulet, Alain Royer, Martin Simard, Martin-Hugues St-Laurent, Jean-Pierre Tremblay, François Vézina, Warwick F. Vincent, Rosa Galvez, Nicolas Lecomte, Oliver Sonnentag, Christophe Kinnard.

Theme 2.1 - Paleo-environmental analyses for improved predictions of environmental change

Theme leader: Reinhard Pienitz

Models predicting the current and anticipated impacts of climate change on geo-ecosystem dynamics must be supplied by paleo-environmental reconstitutions derived from a variety of archives. These supply critical information on climate forcings and geo-ecosystem dynamics through time. We are carrying out long historical reconstitutions with fine temporal and stratigraphic resolutions to understand natural climate variation and better define the processes which shaped the changing environmental conditions during the Quaternary Period. The analysis of geo and bio-indicator databases (magnetic susceptibility, granulometry, geochemistry, diatoms, pollen, invertebrates, pigments, etc.) is undertaken to better define the transformation patterns of Northern Canadian landscapes to reconstitute the history of environmental change and to comprehend the evolutionary change in key species. The development of paleo-ecological reference points and historical environmental data help to define target zones for ecological restoration and to elaborate monitoring and conservation programs.

Researchers: Reinhard Pienitz; Michel Allard, Dermot Antoniades, Dominique Arseneault, Pascal Bernatchez, Najat Bhiry, Étienne Boucher, France Dufresne, Pierre Francus, Bernard Hétu, Claude Lavoie, Martin Lavoie, Milla Rautio, Line Rochefort, Nigel Roulet, Martin Simard, Warwick F. Vincent.

Theme 2.2 - Climate effects on aquatic ecosystems and their biogeochemical processes

Theme leader: Isabelle Laurion

This theme examines the impacts of climate change on the physical characteristics of northern aquatic environments (ice cover, stratification, thermal regime) and their implications on biogeochemistry, contaminant dynamics, plant and microbial biodiversity and biological productivity. Climate change affects river flow and expands aquatic thermokarst ecosystems associated with thawing permafrost and the acceleration of the hydrological cycle. These aquatic ecosystem types release more gaseous carbon into the atmosphere than permafrost, thus contributing to climate change-inducing mechanisms. On the other hand, carbon is sequestered in some thermokarst ponds. The main objective of this theme is to decipher the biogeochemistry, hydrology, and ecology of aquatic environments as well as our knowledge of their links with the terrestrial environment. The complexity of these important systems requires the development of optical, paleo-climatic, limnological, and molecular tools to estimate the emission of greenhouse gases as well as their transformation and responses to actual and future changes. We are contributing to the quantification of climate feedback and improving our ability to better predict the northern climate.

Researchers: Isabelle Laurion; Michel Allard, Marc Amyot, Dermot Antoniades, Marcel Babin, Najat Bhiry, Karem Chokmani, Florent Domine, Pierre Francus, Michelle Garneau, Connie Lovejoy, Taha M.J. Ouarda, Reinhard Pienitz, Milla Rautio, Nigel Roulet, Martin-Hugues St-Laurent, Warwick F. Vincent, Rosa Galvez, Oliver Sonnentag, Christophe Kinnard.

Theme 2.3 - Climate-vegetation-permafrost interactions and their inclusion in climate change models

Theme leader: Dominique Arseneault

Modeling the exchanges between the atmosphere, vegetation and permafrost using high spatial resolution (ex. cells of 40 x 40 km) requires parameters measured in the field and algorithms that reproduce the interactions between these three components of the environment. For example, the impact of vegetation growth on the physical properties of snow and thermal patterns of the permafrost is not yet represented in any models. The necessary parameterizations must be developed, based on observations, measurements and monitoring in the field from, amongst other things, our network of SILA-Qaujisarvik stations where the number of measured variables is increasing constantly. This data allows the quantification and formalization of the exchanges of energy and matter between the various environmental components in order to include them in the modeling and better predict the impacts on northern environments and infrastructures. A projection with advanced and accurate technology infers setting up a data bank of georeferenced data listing thermal parameters of geological surfaces and of plant, snow and ice cover necessary for the calculations. The data collected is available to the international community via Nordicana D.

Researchers: Dominique Arseneault; Esther Lévesque, Michel Allard, Pascal Bernatchez, Monique Bernier, Dominique Berteaux, Florent Domine, Richard Fortier, Pierre Francus, Gilles Gauthier, Alexandre Langlois, Isabelle Laurion, Reinhard Pienitz, Alain Royer, Nigel Roulet, Diane Saint-Laurent, René Therrien, Warwick F. Vincent, Oliver Sonnentag, Christophe Kinnard.

Theme 2.4 - Climate effects on terrestrial food web interactions and animal biodiversity

Theme leader: Steeve Côté

Climate change will affect the biocenosis of northern ecosystems, however, the response of the organisms will vary at all levels, from the individual to the ecosystem level. These varying responses could disrupt spatial and temporal synchronization between trophic levels, thereby affecting biodiversity. These phenomena are amplified in northern regions where the species diversity is low, thereby increasing the influence of a single species on ecosystem dynamics as a whole, and where species migrate great distances. This theme examines these dynamics for the key boreal forest and tundra herbivore species, including ungulates, geese, and lemmings across a 3000 km latitudinal gradient. Long term monitoring of these populations, their feeding habits and the predator-prey interactions are coupled with in situ experiments (artificial warming, variations in snow cover) and experiments in controlled environments (acclimation to varying temperatures) to evaluate the sensitivity of northern food webs to disturbances and to model the effects of these disturbances. In addition, field studies coupled with satellite-telemetry data allow us to evaluate the actual and future state of various animal populations.

Researchers: Steeve Côté; Dominique Berteaux, Joël Bêty, Marco Festa-Bianchet, Gilles Gauthier, Jean-Philippe Lessard, Esther Lévesque, Serge Payette, Fanie Pelletier, Line Rochefort, Martin-Hugues St-Laurent, Jean-Pierre Tremblay, François Vézina, Nicolas Lecomte.

Theme 2.5 - The changing water cycle in northern environments

Theme leader: Richard Fortier

In the dual context of climate warming and socio-economic change, water resources in the North are often difficult to access and are vulnerable to contamination. The cold temperatures make their exploitation complex as local communities depend on surface waters as their main source of drinking water and these freeze over the winter months, causing water shortages in the communities. In the context of permafrost thaw, the exploitation of underground water may become an alternative option since the water freed by permafrost thaw and the melting of land ice and snow could replenish aquifers and further increase groundwater supplies. In-depth knowledge of the water cycle in northern environments allows a better understanding of the feedback loop existing between climate warming, permafrost degradation, and geosystem dynamics. The evolution of the depth of the active layer is analyzed using satellite imagery coupled with field data. This allows us to closely monitor surface-layer temperatures as well as evaluate snow cover and its influence on the Earth’s energy balance. In the boreal zone, we also analyze the short and long term variability of the water supply in hydroelectric dams and natural systems.

Researchers: Richard Fortier; Michel Allard, Dermot Antoniades, Dominique Arseneault, Thomas Buffin-Bélanger, Simon Bélanger, Pierre Francus, Alexandre Langlois, Isabelle Laurion, Martin Lavoie, Jean-Michel Lemieux, Dominic Larivière, John Molson, Reinhard Pienitz, Milla Rautio, Alain Royer, Nigel Roulet, Martin Simard, René Therrien, Warwick F. Vincent, Rosa Galvez, Christophe Kinnard.

 

 
© 2017 All rights reserved | Adapted from an original design by BinaryTheme.com

Accueil | Nos membres | Nous joindre | English | |  
 

Axe 2 - L'évolution des environnements nordiques dans le contexte du changement planétaire

Responsable : Gilles Gauthier
Co-responsable : Florent Dominé
Co-responsable : Alexandre Langlois

Les environnements nordiques sont en changement depuis des millénaires, mais tout indique que ce rythme s'accélère sous l'effet des activités humaines. Nos travaux visent à mesurer la vitesse de ces changements à différentes échelles de temps et d'espace afin de mieux évaluer l'ampleur des changements actuels et de préciser leurs conséquences sur le fonctionnement des géo-écosystèmes nordiques continentaux et côtiers. Une attention particulière est portée aux seuils critiques, aux processus de rétroactions entre les composantes des systèmes et aux effets des changements climatiques. Nous précisons également les mécanismes par lesquels ces changements agissent sur différentes composantes des géo-écosystèmes. Il existe un besoin pressant pour le développement d’approches d’adaptation et ces connaissances visent à comprendre les processus en cause, les conséquences des changements et prévoir la trajectoire des systèmes.

Cet axe comporte cinq thèmes de recherche.

Équipe de recherche : Florent Dominé, Gilles Gauthier; Michel Allard, Marc Amyot, Dominique Arseneault, Marcel Babin, Simon Bélanger, Pascal Bernatchez, Dominique Berteaux, Joël Bety, Najat Bhiry, Stéphane Boudreau, Étienne Boucher, Steeve Côté, France Dufresne, Marco Festa-Bianchet, Pierre Francus, Rosa Galvez, Michelle Garneau, Bernard Hétu, Christophe Kinnard, Alexandre Langlois, Isabelle Laurion, Claude Lavoie, Martin Lavoie, Nicolas Lecomte, Jean-Philippe Lessard, Esther Lévesque, Connie Lovejoy, Guillaume Marie, Serge Payette, Reinhard Pienitz, Milla Rautio, Line Rochefort, Nigel Roulet, Alain Royer, Martin Simard, Oliver Sonnentag, Martin-Hugues St-Laurent, Jean-Pierre Tremblay, François Vézina, Juan Carlos Villarreal, Warwick F. Vincent.

Thème 2.1 - Raffiner les reconstitutions des  paléo-environnements nordiques afin de mieux prédire les impacts des changements du climat

Responsable : Reinhard Pienitz

Les modèles prédictifs des impacts des changements climatiques en cours et anticipés sur la dynamique des géo-écosystèmes doivent être alimentés de reconstitutions paléo-environnementales par l'analyse d'archives divers. Ces dernières fournissent des informations cruciales sur les forçages climatiques et la dynamique des géo-écosystèmes à travers le temps. Nous réalisons de longues reconstitutions à très fine résolution stratigraphique et temporelle pour bien cerner la variabilité climatique naturelle et les processus qui ont agi sous des conditions environnementales changeantes durant le Quaternaire. L'analyse de bases de données de géo-indicateurs (susceptibilité magnétique, granulométrie, LOI, géochimie, etc.)  et de bio-indicateurs (diatomées, pollen, invertébrés, pigments, etc.) sert à déterminer les patrons de transformation des paysages du Nord canadien, à reconstituer l'historique des changements environnementaux et à comprendre les trajectoires évolutives d'espèces-clés. Le développement de points de référence paléo-écologiques et de données environnementales historiques permet de définir des cibles de restauration écologique et d’élaborer des programmes de suivi et de conservation.

Équipe de recherche : Reinhard Pienitz; Michel Allard, Dermot Antoniades, Dominique Arseneault, Pascal Bernatchez, Najat Bhiry, Étienne Boucher, France Dufresne, Pierre Francus, Bernard Hétu, Claude Lavoie, Martin Lavoie, Milla Rautio, Line Rochefort, Nigel Roulet, Martin Simard, Warwick F. Vincent.

Thème 2.2 - Comprendre les interactions entre le climat, les cycles biogéochimiques et les systèmes aquatiques dans un contexte de changements climatiques

Responsable : Isabelle Laurion

Les impacts des changements du climat sur la physique des environnements aquatiques nordiques (couverture de glace, stratification, régime thermique) et les implications sur leur biogéochimie, la dynamique de leurs contaminants, leur biodiversité végétale et microbienne et leur productivité biologique sont étudiés. Les changements climatiques affectent le débit des rivières et génèrent l'expansion des écosystèmes aquatiques thermokarstiques associés à l'érosion du pergélisol et à l’accélération du cycle hydrologique. Ce phénomène remet en circulation un réservoir important de carbone organique qui peut être transformé par les microorganismes et la lumière, et ensuite libéré sous forme de gaz à effet de serre ayant un fort potentiel de rétroaction positive sur le climat. Nous améliorons les connaissances sur la biogéochimie des milieux aquatiques, leur hydrologie, leur écologie, et leur connectivité avec le milieu terrestre. La complexité de ces importants écosystèmes nordiques nécessite le développement d'outils exploitant la télédétection, la paléoclimatologie, la paléolimnologie, et la biologie moléculaire afin d'estimer leurs émissions de gaz à effet de serre ainsi que leur transformation et leurs réponses face aux changements actuels et futurs. Nous contribuons à la quantification des rétroactions climatiques et donc à une meilleure prévision du climat nordique à moyen terme.

Équipe de recherche : Isabelle Laurion, Michel Allard, Marc Amyot, Dermot Antoniades, Marcel Babin, Najat Bhiry, Karem Chokmani, Florent Domine, Pierre Francus, Rosa Galvez, Michelle Garneau, Christophe Kinnard, Connie Lovejoy, Taha M.J. Ouarda, Reinhard Pienitz, Milla Rautio, Nigel Roulet, Oliver Sonnentag, Martin-Hugues St-Laurent, Juan Carlos Villarreal, Warwick F. Vincent.

Thème 2.3 - Évaluer les interactions entre le climat et les écosystèmes nordiques et paramétrer les modèles climatiques globaux et régionaux

Responsable : Dominique Arseneault

La modélisation des échanges entre l'atmosphère, la végétation et le pergélisol par les modèles climatiques à haute résolution spatiale (ex. cellules de 40 x 40 km) requiert des paramètres mesurés sur le terrain et des algorithmes reproduisant les interactions entre ces compartiments de l’environnement. Par exemple l’impact de la croissance de la végétation sur les propriétés physiques de la neige et le régime thermique du pergélisol n’est représenté dans aucun modèle. Les paramétrisations nécessaires doivent donc être développées, en se basant sur les observations, les mesures et les suivis instrumentés sur le terrain provenant entre autre de notre réseau SILA-Qaujisarvik dont le nombre de variables mesurées est en constante progression. Ces données permettront de quantifier et formaliser les échanges d’énergie et de matière entre les différents compartiments environnementaux afin de les inclure dans les simulations numériques et prédire les impacts en cascade sur les environnements nordiques et les infrastructures. Un outil privilégié implique la réalisation d’une base de données géoréférencées listant les paramètres thermiques des matériaux géologiques de surface et des couverts végétal, nival et glaciel nécessaires aux calculs. La mise à la disponibilité de la communauté internationale est assurée via Nordicana D.

Équipe de recherche : Dominique Arseneault; Michel Allard, Pascal Bernatchez, Monique Bernier, Dominique Berteaux, Florent Domine, Richard Fortier, Pierre Francus, Gilles Gauthier, Christophe Kinnard, Alexandre Langlois, Isabelle Laurion, Esther Lévesque, Reinhard Pienitz, Alain Royer, Nigel Roulet, Diane Saint-Laurent, Oliver Sonnentag, René Therrien, Warwick F. Vincent.

Thème 2.4 - Évaluer les effets des changements environnementaux sur les relations trophiques et modéliser leurs conséquences sur la biodiversité

Responsable : Steeve Côté

Les changements climatiques affectent l’ensemble de la biocénose, cependant la réponse des organismes à ces perturbations varie à toutes les échelles, de l’individu à l’écosystème. Cela peut causer une désynchronisation spatiale et temporelle entre les niveaux trophiques et avoir des conséquences sur la biodiversité. Ces phénomènes sont amplifiés dans les régions nordiques à cause du faible nombre d’espèces et la présence de plusieurs populations migrant sur de longues distances. Cette dynamique est étudiée chez des espèces d’herbivores clés de la forêt boréale et de la toundra, tel que les ongulés, les oies et les lemmings, le long d’un gradient latitudinal de 3000 km. Nous combinons des suivis à long terme de ces populations, de leur nourriture et de leurs prédateurs avec des expériences sur le terrain (réchauffement artificiel, variations d’enneigement) et en milieu contrôlé (acclimatation aux variations de température) afin d’évaluer la sensibilité des réseaux trophiques nordiques aux perturbations et de modéliser ces effets. De plus, des études de terrain couplées à la télédétection des écosystèmes nous permettent d’évaluer l’état actuel et futur de différents habitats nordiques.

Équipe de recherche : Steeve Côté; Dominique Berteaux, Joël Bêty, Marco Festa-Bianchet, Gilles Gauthier, Nicolas Lecomte, Jean-Philippe Lessard, Esther Lévesque, Serge Payette, Fanie Pelletier, Line Rochefort, Martin-Hugues St-Laurent, Jean-Pierre Tremblay, François Vézina.  

Thème 2.5 – Dynamique et évolution du cycle de l’eau dans un environnement nordique

Responsable : Richard Fortier

Sous les pressions combinées des changements climatiques et du développement, les ressources en eau sont vulnérables à la contamination et leur exploitation est complexe en raison des températures froides. La majorité des communautés dépende des eaux de surface comme source d’eau potable et elles sont affectées par des pénuries en période d’étiage hivernal. Dans un contexte de réchauffement climatique et de dégel du pergélisol, l’exploitation des eaux souterraines est envisageable par les communautés puisque la recharge des aquifères serait plus importante en raison de l’eau libérée par la fonte de la glace de sol et de la neige, et l’infiltration de l’eau dans le sous-sol. Afin de mieux comprendre les boucles de rétroaction entre le réchauffement climatique, la dégradation du pergélisol et la dynamique des géosystèmes, il est nécessaire d’analyser le cycle de l’eau. L’évolution de la couche active est analysée à l’aide de mesures de télédétection satellite et terrain qui permettent de suivre les températures des couches de surface, en plus de donner l’information sur le stock de neige et de son influence sur le bilan d’énergie de surface. En zone boréale, nous étudions la variabilité à court et long terme, des apports en eau dans les réservoirs hydroélectriques et dans les systèmes naturels. 

Équipe de recherche : Richard Fortier; Michel Allard, Dermot Antoniades, Dominique Arseneault, Thomas Buffin-Bélanger, Simon Bélanger, Pierre Francus, Richard Fortier, Rosa Galvez, Christophe Kinnard, Alexandre Langlois, Isabelle Laurion, Martin Lavoie, Jean-Michel Lemieux, Dominic Larivière, John Molson, Reinhard Pienitz, Milla Rautio, Alain Royer, Nigel Roulet, Martin Simard, René Therrien, Warwick F. Vincent.

 

 
© 2017 Tous droits réservés | Adapté d'un design original de BinaryTheme.com