SILA Network

 

The creation of the SILA Network (meaning climate in Inuktitut), a northern network of climate and environmental observatories, was made possible in part by the Programme d'appui au financement d'infrastructures of the Ministère de la RechercheScience et de la Technologie du Québec.

The general objective of the network is to characterize, quantify and evaluate environmental change in eight bioclimatic zones distributed across Northern Quebec and the eastern Canadian Arctic. The SILA Network comprises 100 automated stations acquiring data on a variety of environmental variables. The eight sites have been chosen based on the environmental issues of each of the bioclimatic zones. These sites aredistributed along a North-South transect, from the Boreal forest to the High Arctic. In each region, these experimental and instrumental sites represent a reference site for a wide variety of research programs.

 

Here are the descriptions of the 8 sites from south to north:

 

1. Charlevoix Observatory

 

This observatory is located in the area of the Grands-Jardins Provincial Park and comprises 2 automated stations. A reference station towering at 10 meters is located in a lichen-spruce woodland near the Malbaie River. This station is equipped with dendrometers and instruments measuring atmospheric parameters. The other station is located within the Grands-Jardins Park on top of the Mont du Lac des Cygnes where permafrost is found. This is the southernmost occurrence of permafrost in Quebec.

 

2. Radisson Observatory

 

This observatory is located in the Radisson region (LG2), with a few satellite stations linked by telemetry in a 300 km radius within the La Grande complex. The central post in Radisson connects the five climatological stations owned by the CEN and distributed around the LG2 reservoir. The observatory has the following two objectives: 1) Evaluate the combination of factors affecting forest productivity in the context of climate change, and 2) Improve the capacity of measuring water supply by taking into account the hydrological cycle in the different ecosystems (soils, forests and peatlands) and the seasonal hydrological cycle. This observatory includes dendrometers and piezometers.

 

3. Whapmagoostui-Kuujjuarapik Observatory

 

This observatory plays a central role in the SILA network. The CEN's research station in Whapmagoostui-Kuujjuarapik is the main research facility in northern Quebec. On site, there is a monitoring of standard climatological variables, of ozone and mercury levels in the atmosphere and in precipitation (for Environment Canada and INRS-ETE) and of solar radiation (for the international NASA project called AERONET). The addition of measuring stations for ultraviolet radiation and water levels makes the observatory a world reference for measurement of UV radiation and its impacts on the different ecosystems via the hydrological cycle.

 

4. Lakes Guillaume-Delisle and à-l'Eau-Claire Observatory

 

Future site of a northern provincial park, the region of the lakes Guillaume-Delisle and à-l'Eau-Claire has been the subject of several projects at the CEN over the past 30 years. Instruments for monitoring coastal permafrost are operational in the region of the lake Guillaume-Delisle (collaboration with the German government). The region of the lake à-l'Eau-Claire is particularly rich in biodiversity, ecosystems representative of more northern sites are found there. A climatological station is located on one of the central islands of the lake. The instrumentation aim to determine the impacts of climate change on the regional snow regime, to monitor lake limnological conditions on a long-term basis and to measure the contribution of local factors to the development and preservation of biodiversity.

 

5. Boniface River Observatory

 

The Boniface River is located at the tree line. CEN research work at this site focuses on the long-term dynamism of the various terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems. Five climatological stations monitor conditions at tree line such as climatological contrasts (air and soil) between tundra and forest patches. The creation of this observatory has permitted to add and automate instruments and have access to the data via satellite. The objective is to position the research conducted at this site within international networks such as that of the IASC (International Arctic Science Committee) on the circumpolar Taiga-Tundra Interface.

 

6. Salluit Observatory

 

The Salluit community is located at the northernmost limit of Quebec in a little-studied bioclimatic zone. Some impacts of climate warming have already been detected in this region. The objective of the observatory is to characterize, quantify and categorize the potential effects of climate change in the continuous permafrost zone. Automated thermistor cables are in place as well as 6 climatological stations. A visual monitoring system for ice and snow is planned since these are fundamental variables in environmental change.

 

7. Bylot Island Observatory

 

Bylot Island (73° N et 80° W) is located north of Baffin Island in Nunavut within the Sirmilik National Park. CEN's researchers have studied this site for a long time because the south plain of the island is one of the main nesting areas for Greater Snow Geese. Seven climatological stations are in operation on the island, they are the second northernmost stations of the CEN's network (after those located on Ward Hunt Island). The site is included in research networks such as EMAN-North (Northern Ecological Assessment and Monitoring Network) and ITEX (International Tundra EXperiment). The objective of this observatory is to provide a comparison point for the other stations of the CEN's network. The instrumentation in place aim to evaluate the local variability in climate conditions. This will allow the CEN to discriminate if regional differences or local microclimate effects cause the differences observed with the other stations of the CEN's network.

 

8. Ward Hunt Island Observatory

 

This observatory is the northernmost of the continent; it is located at the extreme northern end of Canada at 83° latitude north and 74° longitude west. The main station is located on Ward Hunt Island at the mouth of the Disraeli Fjord within the Quttinirpaaq National Park. Data obtained from this station are used for studies on microorganisms (extremophiles) living on the 3000 years old ice shelves. Another station is located on the continent near Lake A and provides complementary data that is used for the limnological studies done in the area.

 


 

 

Contact : Denis Sarrazin

 

Room 1210
Abitibi-Price building
Université Laval
2405 rue de la Terrasse
Québec, Canada
G1V 0A6

Phone : (418) 656-2131 ext. 4299

Réseau SILA

La création du réseau SILA (qui signifie climat en Inuktitut), un réseau d'observatoires permanents des changements climatiques et environnementaux nordiques, par le Centre d'études nordiques a été rendue possible entres autres grâce au Programme d'appui au financement d'infrastructures du Ministère de la Recherche, de la Science et de la Technologie du Québec.

L'objectif général du réseau SILA est de caractériser, quantifier et évaluer les changements environnementaux dans huit zones bioclimatiques du Québec et de l'Est de l'Arctique canadien. Le réseau SILA compte actuellement 100 stations environnementales à acquisition automatique de données réparties dans ces zones. Les huit sites d'intérêt ont été choisis en fonction des enjeux environnementaux propres à chacune des zones bioclimatiques. Ces sites sont distribués le long d'un axe, de la forêt boréale à l'arctique sur 36 degrés de latitude. Il s'agit de sites expérimentaux et instrumentaux servant de référence dans de vastes programmes de recherche dans chacune des régions.

Voici la description des huit sites, du sud vers le nord :

 

1. Observatoire de Charlevoix

 

Cet observatoire est situé dans le secteur du parc des Grands-Jardins et comprend deux stations automatisées. Une station de référence de dix mètres est située dans une pessière à lichen près de la rivière Malbaie. Cette station est dotée de dendromètres ainsi que de capteurs atmosphériques. La seconde station située dans le parc des Grands-Jardins consiste en une station satellite prenant des informations sur un îlot de pergélisol au sommet du Mont du lac des Cygnes. Cet îlot de pergélisol est la représentation la plus méridionale de ce phénomène en territoire québécois.

 

2. Observatoire de Radisson

 

Cet observatoire est situé dans le secteur de Radisson (LG2) avec quelques postes satellites reliés par télémétrie dans un rayon de 300 km dans le complexe La Grande. Le poste central de Radisson met à profit les cinq stations climatologiques du CEN réparties autour du réservoir LG2. L'instrumentation de l'observatoire vise les deux objectifs suivants : 1) Évaluer la combinaison de facteurs qui affectent la productivité des forêts dans un contexte de changement climatique, et 2) Améliorer la capacité de mesure des apports en eau en tenant compte du cycle de l'eau dans les différents écosystèmes (sols, forêts et tourbières) ainsi que du cycle saisonnier de l'eau. Des stations de dendrométrie et de piézométrie sont en place afin de répondre à ces objectifs.

 

3. Observatoire de Whapmagoostui-Kuujjuarapik

 

Cet observatoire joue un rôle central dans l'ensemble du réseau SILA. La station de recherche du CEN à Whapmagoostui-Kuujjuarapik est le principal poste d'accueil de chercheurs dans le nord du Québec. L'observatoire dispose d'un système d'enregistrement en continu de plusieurs variables environnementales dont les variables climatologiques courantes, le taux d'ozone et de mercure dans l'air et dans les précipitations (pour Environnement Canada et l'INRS-ETE) et la radiation solaire (dans le cadre du projet international AERONET de la NASA). L'installation d'une station de mesure du rayonnement ultraviolet et d'une station limnimétrique vise à en faire un site de référence mondial en matière de rayonnement UV et de ses impacts sur différents écosystèmes via le cycle de l'eau.

 

4. Observatoire du parc des lacs Guillaume-Delisle et à l'Eau-Claire

 

Site d'un futur parc nordique du Québec, la région des lacs Guillaume-Delisle et à l'Eau Claire a fait l'objet de nombreuses recherches au CEN depuis 30 ans. Des instruments de suivi du pergélisol côtier sont en place au lac Guillaume-Delisle (collaboration avec le gouvernement allemand). La région du lac à l'Eau Claire est particulièrement riche au plan de la biodiversité, en effet, on y retrouve des écosystèmes représentatifs de zones plus nordiques. Une station climatologique du CEN est présente sur un île centrale du lac. L'instrumentation vise à cerner l'incidence des changements climatiques sur le régime nival régional, à suivre à long terme des conditions limnologiques du lac et à mesurer les facteurs ambiants contribuant au développement et au maintien de la biodiversité.

 

5. Observatoire de la rivière Boniface

 

La rivière Boniface se situe à la limite nordique des arbres. Les travaux qui y sont menés par le CEN concernent le dynamisme à long terme des différents environnements terrestres et aquatiques. Cinq stations climatologiques y enregistrent les conditions qui prévalent à la limite des arbres dont les contrastes climatologiques (air et sol) entre les milieux toundriques et les bosquets forestiers. La création de cet observatoire a permis d'instaurer un accès à distance en continu aux données par un système de communication satellitaire ainsi que d'enrichir et d'automatiser l'instrumentation en place. L'objectif visé est d'inscrire les recherches qui sont menées à cet endroit dans les réseaux internationaux tel que celui de l'IASC (International Arctic Science Committee) sur l'interface Taïga-Toundra dans le monde circumpolaire.

 

6. Observatoire de Salluit

 

Le village de Salluit est situé à l'extrémité nord du Québec dans une zone bioclimatique fort peu étudiée jusqu'à maintenant. La région a commencé à subir certains impacts liés au réchauffement climatique. L'objectif de cet observatoire est de caractériser, quantifier et catégoriser les effets potentiels des changements climatiques dans la zone à pergélisol continu. Des câbles à thermistances automatisés et six stations climatologiques sont en place. Il est aussi prévu d'ajouter un système de surveillance visuelle de variables fondamentales dans les changements environnementaux arctiques telles que la couverture de neige et de glace.

 

7. Observatoire de Bylot

 

L'île Bylot (73° N et 80° O) est située au nord de la Terre de Baffin au Nunavut au sein du parc national Sirmilik. Ce site est étudié depuis longtemps par les chercheurs du CEN parce qu'on retrouve, sur la plaine sud de l'île, une aire principale de nidification de la Grande Oie des neiges. Le site de Bylot est le deuxième plus nordique (après celui sur l'île Ward Hunt) du réseau de suivi climatologique du CEN, sept stations y sont en opération. Le site fait partie de réseaux de recherche tels que EMAN-Nord (Northern Ecological Assessment and Monitoring Network) et ITEX (International Tundra EXperiment). L'objectif de cet observatoire est de fournir un point de comparaison avec les autres stations du réseau du CEN en offrant une perspective régionale aux études climatologiques du CEN. Il s'agit d'évaluer la variabilité locale des conditions pour permettre d'établir si les différences observées avec les autres stations du CEN sont dues à des différences régionales ou à des effets locaux.

 

8. Observatoire de Ward Hunt

 

Cet observatoire de l'extrême nord du Canada est situé à 83° de latitude Nord et 74° de longitude Ouest, il est le plus nordique du continent. La station principale est localisée sur l'île de Ward Hunt à l'embouchure du fjord de Disraeli dans le parc national Quttinirpaaq. Les données de cette station alimentent les travaux sur les micro-organismes (extrêmophiles) vivant sur les plates-formes flottantes de glace amarrées au continent et sur les îles depuis 3000 ans. Une station satellite est située sur le continent près du lac A afin de fournir des données complémentaires pour les travaux limnologiques effectués dans la région.

 


 

 

Responsable : Denis Sarrazin

 

Local 1210
Pavillon Abitibi-Price
Université Laval
2405 rue de la Terrasse
Québec, Canada
G1V 0A6

Téléphone : (418) 656-2131 poste 4299