Home | Our members | Contact us | Français | |  

Dennis A. Escolástico Ortiz

 

Ph.D. student

Department of Biology, Université Laval

Charles-Eugène-Marchand Building
1030 avenue de la Médecine
Université Laval
Quebec, Canada
G1V 0A6

404469 extension 2212
dennis.escolastico-ortiz.1@ulaval.ca

 

 


 

Direction

 
 

Research project

Phylogeography and microbial association of the moss Racomitrium lanuginosum in sub-arctic and arctic Canada

Introduction

Bryophytes maintain symbiotic associations with nitrogen-fixing bacteria which can grow epiphytically or endophytically. In this symbiosis, the bacteria supply fixed nitrogen to the plant and they mainly receive photosynthesis and sulfate products from the host. Cyanobacteria are the main group performing nitrogen fixation in bryophyte microbiomes. Nonetheless, other bacterial lineages with nitrogen fixation capabilities have been recently discovered. The number and abundance of bacterial species that compose the bryophyte microbiomes seem to vary according to bryophyte species and environment and host genetic structure. Bryophyte cover in arctic ecosystems represents a principal vegetation type and plays an important role for nitrogen budget through the moss-cyanobacteria associations.

The main purpose of this project is to gain insight into bryophyte-bacterial associations from arctic ecosystems. The moss species Racomitrium lanuginosum (Hedw.) Brid. will be used as model species because it is an abundant clonal moss that occurs in both sub-arctic and arctic ecosystems. The aims of the study are to characterize the microbiome of R. lanuginosum in sub-arctic and arctic Canada; to explore variation in microbial composition and association with host genetic structure; and to assess the nitrogen-fixing capability of the moss-bacteria symbiosis.

Study sites

The study sites are the area of Kuujjuarapik and the Tursujuq National Park in Nunavik (55°16'28.4520'' N, 77°45'49.6296'' W). They were chosen because of their location in the Canadian arctic tundra and the abundance of the model species (Racomitrium lanuginosum).

Material and methods

In general, the methodology will consist in the use of genotyping by sequencing to infer genetic structure of the host species. Amplicon sequencing will be used to know bacterial groups growing on the moss for the Sub-arctic and Arctic. The use of bioinformatics will help to analyze both, host genetic diversity and microbial diversity. Acetylene essay reduction will be applied to mosses in order to estimate nitrogen fixation for each population.

Expected results

Populations of Racomitrium lanuginosum may exhibit spatial genetic structure but low genetic diversity within populations due to clonal reproduction. It is expected that microbial diversity varies between populations and according to environmental variation. The nitrogen fixation rates of the moss-microbiome association may differ between sites and in relation to microbial community; nitrogen fixation of the symbiosis could be a main contributor in sub-arctic and arctic ecosystems.

 
© 2019 All rights reserved | Adapted from an original design by BinaryTheme.com

Accueil | Nos membres | Nous joindre | English | |  

Dennis A. Escolástico Ortiz

 

Étudiant 3è cycle

Département de biologie, Université Laval

Pavillon Charles-Eugène-Marchand
1030 avenue de la Médecine
Université Laval
Québec
Québec, Canada
G1V 0A6

404469 poste 2212
dennis.escolastico-ortiz.1@ulaval.ca

 

 


 

Direction

 
 

Projet de recherche

Phylogéographie et association microbienne de Racomitrium lanuginosum dans le Canada subarctique et arctique

Introduction

Les bryophytes peuvent maintenir des associations symbiotiques avec plusieurs bactéries fixatrices d’azote, qui peuvent vivre de façon épiphytique ou endophytique. Dans ces symbioses, la bactérie permet de fournir l’azote fixé à la mousse, qui en échange fournira des composés photosynthétiques et sulfatés. Il existe plusieurs bactéries fixatrices d’azotes associées aux bryophytes, malgré la découverte de nouvelles lignées, les cyanobactéries resteront les plus importantes pour cette fonction. En effet, les bryophytes peuvent être associés avec une variété importante de lignées bactériennes, dont l’identité sera essentiellement dépendante de l’identité de l’hôte, et des conditions environnementales, mais parfois également de la structure génétique de la population de l’espèce de bryophyte. De plus, la répartition des bryophytes dans les écosystèmes nordiques est large et peut former de vastes tapis. En conséquence, ce phénomène permettra d’améliorer l’accès de l’azote d’autres plantes.

Le but principal de ce projet est de mieux comprendre l’association entre les bryophytes et les cyanobactéries, et l’effet de ces associations sur les écosystèmes arctiques. L’espèce Racomitrium lanuginosum (Hedw.) Brid. sera utilisée comme modèle d’étude. Racomitrium lanuginosum, est une mousse qui se reproduit de façon asexuée et est abondante dans les écosystèmes subarctiques et arctiques. Cette mousse sera étudiée dans le but de caractériser son microbiome, de déterminer les mécanismes d’interactions entre les deux organismes et leurs différentes capacités de fixation de l’azote.

Sites d'études

Les sites d’études sont la région autour de Kuujjuarapik et le Parc national Tursujuq, situés au Nunavik (55°16'28.4520'' N, 77°45'49.6296'' O). Ici, l’espèce d’étude (Racomitrium lanuginosum) se trouve de façon abondante. De plus, ces sites sont localisés dans la toundra arctique, zone géographique d’intérêt.

Matériel et méthodes

Pour analyser la diversité et la structure génomique de l’hôte, des techniques de génotypage par séquençage et de séquençage de la petite unité du ribosome (16s) seront effectuées. Ensuite, par utilisation de logiciels bio-informatiques la diversité des hôtes et de leur microbiote sera analysée. Finalement, on utilisera la technique de réduction d’acétylène pour estimer la capacité de fixation d’azote des populations.

Résultats attendus

Les populations de Racomitrium lanuginosum pourraient être génétiquement différentes et peuvent posséder une structure spatiale adaptée à leur mode de reproduction clonal. La diversité microbienne pourrait varier entre les populations et selon l’environnement. Le taux de fixation d’azote de la symbiose pourrait changer entre les sites et en relation avec la communauté microbienne; la fixation d’azote de la symbiose pourrait être un facteur important dans les écosystèmes arctique et subarctique.

 
© 2019 Tous droits réservés | Adapté d'un design original de BinaryTheme.com