Home | Our members | Contact us | Français | |  

Coralie Gautier

 

Master student

Department of Applied Geomatics, Université de Sherbrooke

2500, boul. de l'Université
Université de Sherbrooke
Quebec, Canada
J1K 2R1

819.821.8000 extension 62506
coralie.gautier@usherbrooke.ca

 

 


 

Direction

 
 

Research project

Study of habitat quality and migratory patterns of Peary caribou (Rangifer tarandus pearyi) using a thermodynamic model of snow and traditional knowledge

Arctic climate variability and change is now relatively well documented. Dramatic changes in spatial and temporal trends of sea ice, snow, permafrost, and glaciers have been observed due to a variety of strong climate related feedbacks. This warming was estimated at +1.06 °C/decade by Solomon (2007), while a much lower rate is observed for the rest of the planet (+0.43 °C/decade) (Jin et Dickinson, 2002). One of the main consequence of this warming is an increased occurrence of winter extreme events such as rain-on-snow (Dolant et al., 2017), presence of ice layers (Montpetit et al., 2013) and snow densification (Dolant et al., 2018). These events could affect the conditions of access to the food for the Peary Caribou (Rangifer tarandus pearyi) (Ouellet et al., 2017; Langlois et al., 2017).

The main goal of my master’s project is to develop and expand to a larger area of ​​the Arctic the caribou habitat quality model that is under development at GRIMP. The goal of this is to predict the most favorable habitats and changes in caribou populations migration patterns by 2100.

My master’s project will focus on the 2 main areas where the concentration of caribous is highest: Southwestern region of the Canadian Arctic Archipelago (Banks Island and Victoria Island) and the Bathurst Island complex. The first methodological approach will use a spatialization platform for the SNOWPACK model, developed by GRIMP since 2014. This platform can simulate snow conditions at 1-km of resolution (Beaudoin-Galaise, 2016). Snow simulations will be conducted along migratory corridors (Johnson, 2016), and a thresholding approach of snow state variables such as density will be investigated in order to  quantify foraging conditions(Ouellet et al., 2017). This aspect will characterize food access during migration from 1979 to 2100. The second methodological approach will make use of a polynya (openings in ice/open water) climatology currently being developed in our lab. This climatology uses radar satellite imagery from RADARSAT 1 and 2 since 1997. The climatology and ice charts will be compared to migration patterns of the last 20 years in partnership with the local communities, to integrate their traditional knowledge of the caribou’s migration in our habitat prediction models (mainly Ulukhaktok and Resolute Bay communities).

 
© 2019 All rights reserved | Adapted from an original design by BinaryTheme.com

Accueil | Nos membres | Nous joindre | English | |  

Coralie Gautier

 

Étudiante 2è cycle

Département de géomatique appliquée, Université de Sherbrooke

Campus de Sherbrooke
2500, boul. de l'Université
Université de Sherbrooke
Sherbrooke
Québec, Canada
J1K 2R1

819.821.8000 poste 62506
coralie.gautier@usherbrooke.ca

 

 


 
 
 

Direction

 
 

Projet de recherche

Étude de la qualité d’habitat et des patrons migratoires du caribou de Peary (Rangifer tarandus pearyi) à l’aide d’un modèle thermodynamique de neige et du savoir traditionnel

Présentement, le réchauffement observé dans l’Arctique génère de fortes rétroactions climatiques. Ce réchauffement est estimé à +1.06 °C/décennie (Solomon, 2007) ce qui représente un taux bien plus important que sur le reste de la planète à +0.43 °C/décennie (Jin et Dickinson, 2002). Ce réchauffement amène l’augmentation de l’occurrence d'événements de pluie-sur-neige (Dolant et al., 2017), de présence de croûtes de glace (Montpetit et al., 2013) et de densification du couvert neigeux (Dolant et al., 2018) pouvant affecter les conditions d’accès à la nourriture du Caribou de Peary (Rangifer tarandus pearyi) (Ouellet et al., 2017; Langlois et al., 2017).

L’objectif principal de mon projet de maîtrise est donc de perfectionner et d’étendre à une plus grande superficie de l’Arctique le modèle de qualité de l’habitat du caribou, développé par le GRIMP. Ceci dans une optique de prédiction des habitats les plus favorables et des changements dans les patrons de migration des populations de caribous, d’ici à 2100.

Mon projet de maîtrise se concentrera sur 2 régions où la concentration actuelle du caribou de Peary est plus importante, soit le sud-ouest de l’Archipel arctique canadien (Île Banks et Île Victoria) et le complexe de l’Île Bathurst. Le premier volet méthodologique utilisera une plateforme de spatialisation du modèle SNOWPACK développée au GRIMP depuis 2014. Cette plateforme permet de simuler les conditions de neige à 1-km de résolution (Beaudoin-Galaise, 2016). Des simulations seront effectuées le long des couloirs migratoires connus (Johnson, 2016), et un seuillage sur la densité sera fait pour qualifier l’accès à la nourriture suivant le seuil proposé par Ouellet et al. (2017). Cet aspect permettra de valider l’accès à la nourriture pendant la migration de 1979 à 2100 comme le modèle de neige peut être forcé par des données issues d’un modèle climatique. Le deuxième volet méthodologique visera le développement d’une base de données de polynies (ouvertures dans la glace/eau libre) numérisées sur des images RADARSAT 1 et 2 des 20 dernières années. Ce travail utilisera un algorithme de détection de polynies à l’aide d’imagerie radar développée par les chercheurs d’Environnement et Changement Climatique Canada (ECCC). Une climatologie de ces polynies sera donc faite sur les 2 sites d’études pour les 20 dernières années dans le but d’évaluer l’impact de celles-ci sur les migrations entre les îles. Finalement, un volet consultatif avec les populations locales est aussi prévu pour complémenter cette analyse, considérant leurs bonnes connaissances des patrons de migration du caribou de Peary (principalement les communautés de Ulukhaktok et Resolute Bay). Ceci dans un optique de collaboration et intégration de ces communautés au projet de recherche.

 
© 2019 Tous droits réservés | Adapté d'un design original de BinaryTheme.com