Home | Our members | Contact us | Français | |  

Hadi Mohammadzadeh Khani

 

Ph.D. student

Department of Environmental Sciences / Geography, UQTR

Léon-Provancher Building
3351, boul. des Forges
UQTR
Quebec, Canada
G9A 5H7

8196097871
hadi.mohammadzadeh.khani@uqtr.ca

 

 


 
 
 

Research project

Climate sensitivity of a high-arctic tundra environment

Most of the arctic land surface is underlined by permafrost that is highly sensitive to climate change. Infrastructures are dramatically affected by permafrost thawing caused by global warming. Permafrost thawing can also increase soil carbon emissions to the atmosphere, affecting climate with increasing global temperature. Predicting future permafrost state is thus important to assess possible disturbances to northern infrastructures and for ecosystem management and protection.

Assessments of climate change impacts on arctic ecosystems are typically investigated at large spatial scales. However, the permafrost response to climate change may be highly site-specific, depending on complex interactions between soils, vegetation and snow at small spatial scales (< 100 m), which can buffer large-scale climate change. For example, large vegetation changes have been detected in the Arctic, but trends are ambiguous (greening vs browning) and relate to site-specific changes in hydrology. Understanding the nature of these interactions is essential for better projecting the future state of arctic ecosystems, permafrost feedbacks on climate (carbon release), as well as the risks related to permafrost degradation.

The overall objective of this project is to assess the impacts of climate change on a high-arctic tundra environment in Bylot Island, Nunavut. The following specific objectives will be pursued:

  1. Measure and study the spatial heterogeneity of surface temperature and its relationship with snow, vegetation, soils, and topography.
  2. Perform a model-based snow sensitivity study to variations in precipitation and temperature based on published climate scenarios for the area.
  3. Use a physically-based hydrological model to simulate how the active layer thickness and ground moisture content will change in response to hypothetical climate scenarios.
  4. Examine the interactions between the factors (vegetation, snow thickness) affecting active-layer deepening and the moisture content of the active layer.

To achieve these objectives, field data collection campaigns will take place between 2018 and 2020 at the study site on Bylot Island. The spatial heterogeneity and interactions between ground surface temperature (GST), moisture, and vegetation will be studied using a network of 100 temperature loggers installed at the soil surface as well as two vertical profiles, supplemented by manual measurements, over a two-year period. The snow cover duration will be derived from the analysis of temperature loggers while snow depth will be measured manually in the field. Field surveys will be complemented with aerial surveys of surface temperature and snow cover using an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV). The data will be analysed to study the soil-snow-vegetation interactions at the site. Then, using the hydrological GEOTOP model (Gubler and Endrizi 2013) and the collected field data, we will investigate the response of the snow cover to future changes in air temperature and precipitation. Using the same model, we will next investigate the response of soil moisture and vegetation to the same climate scenarios.

 
© 2019 All rights reserved | Adapted from an original design by BinaryTheme.com

Accueil | Nos membres | Nous joindre | English | |  

Hadi Mohammadzadeh Khani

 

Étudiant 3è cycle

Département des sciences de l'environnement / Géographie, UQTR

Pavillon Léon-Provancher
3351, boul. des Forges
UQTR
Trois-Rivières
Québec, Canada
G9A 5H7

8196097871
hadi.mohammadzadeh.khani@uqtr.ca

 

 


 
 
 

Projet de recherche

Sensibilité au climat d'un environnement de toundra dans le Haut-Arctique

La plupart de la surface terrestre de l'Arctique est constitué par le pergélisol qui est très sensible aux changements climatiques. Les infrastructures sont fortement affectées par le dégel du pergélisol causé par le réchauffement de la planète. Le dégel du permafrost peut également augmenter les émissions de carbone du sol dans l'atmosphère ce qui réchauffe davantage le climat. La prévision de l’état du pergélisol dans le futur est donc importante pour évaluer les perturbations possibles des infrastructures nordiques et pour la gestion et la protection des écosystèmes.

L’évaluation des impacts du changement climatique sur les écosystèmes arctiques est typiquement réalisée à une grande échelle spatiale. Toutefois, la réponse du pergélisol au changement climatique peut être spécifique au site, dépendant notamment des interactions complexes entre les sols, la végétation et le couvert de neige a une échelle spatiale très petite ( - de 100m). Ce qui peut atténuer ou amplifier le forçage climatique à grande échelle. Par exemple, des changements importants de végétation ont été détectés dans l'Arctique. Mais les tendances sont ambiguës (verdissement vs brunissement) et sont liées aux changements hydrologiques spécifiques à un site. Comprendre la nature de ces interactions est essentiel pour mieux projeter l'état futur des écosystèmes arctiques, les rétroactions du pergélisol sur le climat (relargage de carbone), ainsi que les risques liés à la dégradation du pergélisol.

L'objectif général de ce projet est d'évaluer les impacts du changement climatique sur l'environnement de la toundra arctique à l’île Bylot, Nunavut.

Les objectifs spécifiques seront:

  1. Mesurer et étudier l’hétérogénéité spatiale de la température de surface et sa relation avec la neige, la végétation, les sols et la topographie.
  2. Effectuer une analyse de sensibilité par modélisation de la neige aux variations des précipitations et de température futures en se basant sur des scénarios climatiques publiés pour la région.
  3. Utiliser un modèle hydrologique à base physique afin de simuler l'évolution de l'épaisseur de la couche active du pergélisol et de l’humidité du sol en réponse à des scénarios climatiques.
  4. Examiner les interactions entre les facteurs (végétation, épaisseur de neige) qui affectent l'approfondissement de la couche active ainsi que l’humidité de cette couche.

Pour atteindre ces objectifs, une collecte de données aura lieu entre 2018 et 2020 sur le site d'étude de l'île Bylot. Durant une période de deux ans, l'hétérogénéité spatiale et les interactions entre la température de surface du sol, de l'humidité et de la végétation seront étudiées en utilisant un réseau de 100 capteurs de température installés à la surface du sol ainsi que deux profils verticaux, complétées par des mesures prises manuellement. La durée de la couverture de neige sera estimée par l'analyse des capteurs de température, tandis que l'épaisseur de la neige sera mesurée manuellement sur le terrain. Les mesures sur le terrain seront complétées par des données de la température de surface et la couverture de neige détectées par un véhicule aérien sans pilote (UAV). Les données seront analysées pour étudier les interactions sol-neige-végétation sur le site. Ensuite, en utilisant le modèle hydrologique GEOTOP (Gubler et Endrizi 2013) et les données recueillies sur le terrain, nous étudierons la réponse de la couverture neigeuse aux changements futurs de la température et des précipitations.

 
© 2019 Tous droits réservés | Adapté d'un design original de BinaryTheme.com