Home | Our members | Contact us | Français | |  

Guillaume Couture

 

Master student

Department of Applied Geomatics, Université de Sherbrooke

2500, boul. de l'Université
Université de Sherbrooke
Quebec, Canada
J1K 2R1

819 821 8000 extension 62506
Guillaume.Couture6@USherbrooke.ca

 

 


 

Direction

 
 

Research project

Development of a polynya climatology using RADARSAT imagery in the canadian Arctic

In 2016, Arctic sea ice coverage reached a total area of 4.72M km2. Sea ice surface is complex and presents multiple characteristics increasing its variability in thickness and concentration over short distances. In some places, formation of open water areas can occur in winter following dynamic and thermodynamic processes that have in return important impacts on how the cryosphere responds to climate variability and change. These areas are known as polynyas and play an important role as a food source for great mammals, as a control agent for annual CO2 cycles while initiating spring melt. These areas are also used as hunting grounds for Inuit populations in these regions. With the current observed climate warming in the Arctic, an increase in size and occurrence of these polynyas can be expected. However, there does not seem to be any study to this day which describes the spatial and temporal trends of these polynyas in Arctic regions.

In the context of the project ‘Development of a multi-scale cryosphere monitoring network for the Kitikmeot region and Northwest territories using in-situ measurements, modeling and remote sensing’, funded by POLAR Knowledge Canada, the goal of this project is to develop a digital polynya database based on RADARSAT 1 and 2 images taken in the past twenty years.

The study area for this project is the Kitikmeot region in Nunavut that encompasses parts of Victoria Island, King William Island and Prince of Wales Island. Caribou populations in the region use the sea passages between these islands. An increase in polynya occurrence and size could potentially modify their regular migration routes. Furthermore, a greater insight on polynya location might be very helpful to better guide ships for maritime transport. To do this, a polynya detection algorithm using radar imagery has been developed by Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC).

The project aims to develop a digital polynya database using RADARSAT 1 and 2, to develop a climatology evaluating spatial and temporal trends in the western Canadian Arctic and, finally, to evaluate the characterization of important processes linked to polynya occurrence and the potential links to extreme meteorological events.

 
© 2019 All rights reserved | Adapted from an original design by BinaryTheme.com

Accueil | Nos membres | Nous joindre | English | |  

Guillaume Couture

 

Étudiant 2è cycle

Département de géomatique appliquée, Université de Sherbrooke

Campus de Sherbrooke
2500, boul. de l'Université
Université de Sherbrooke
Sherbrooke
Québec, Canada
J1K 2R1

819 821 8000 poste 62506
Guillaume.Couture6@USherbrooke.ca

 

 


 

Direction

 
 

Projet de recherche

Développement d’une climatologie de polynies à l’aide d’images RADARSAT dans l’Arctique canadien

En 2016, la superficie de glace de mer en Arctique était de 4.72 millions de km2. Cette surface est complexe et présente plusieurs caractéristiques qui font en sorte qu’elle varie grandement sur de très courtes distances, tant en épaisseur qu’en concentration. À certains endroits, l’apparition d’eau libre peut survenir en hiver suivant des processus dynamiques, ou thermodynamiques ayant d’importants impacts sur l’environnement, notamment les rétroactions climatiques. Ces secteurs sont connus sous le nom de polynies, et jouent un rôle important comme source de nourriture pour les grands mammifères, comme agent de contrôle des cycles annuels de CO2 tout en initiant la fonte de la glace au printemps. Ces régions sont aussi beaucoup utilisées par les populations Inuit comme secteurs de chasse. Avec les changements climatiques actuellement observés dans l’Arctique, il est attendu qu’une augmentation de taille et d’occurrence de ces évènements soit observée. Cependant, aucune étude ne semble présentement indiquer quelles sont les tendances spatio-temporelles des dernières décennies de ces polynies en région Arctique.

Dans le cadre du projet ‘Development of a multi-scale cryosphere monitoring network for the Kitikmeot region and Northwest territories using in-situ measurements, modeling and remote sensing’, financé par SAVOIR POLAIRE Canada, le projet a pour but principal de développer une base de données de polynies numérisées sur des images RADARSAT 1 et 2 des vingt dernières années.

Le secteur à l’étude pour ce projet est la région Kitikmeot du Nunavut qui englobe une partie de l’îles Victoria, de l’île du roi William et de l’île du Prince-de-Galles. Les passages situés entre ces îles sont beaucoup empruntés lors des périodes de gel par les populations de caribous de la région. Une augmentation du nombre de polynies ou de leur taille pourrait forcer ces populations à modifier leurs trajectoires habituelles de migration. De plus, une connaissance accrue de la position des polynies de la région permettrait de mieux guider les navires pour le transport maritime. Pour ce faire, un algorithme de détection de polynies à l’aide d’imagerie radar a été développé par les chercheurs d’Environnement et Changement Climatique Canada (ECCC).

Les objectifs du projet sont donc de développer une base de données de polynies numérisées sur des images RADARSAT 1 et 2, de développer une climatologie pour évaluer les tendances spatio-temporelles dans l’ouest de l’Arctique canadien et, enfin, évaluer la caractérisation d’importants processus reliée à l’occurrence des polynies et des liens potentiels avec les évènements météorologiques extrêmes.

 
© 2018 Tous droits réservés | Adapté d'un design original de BinaryTheme.com