Home | Our members | Contact us | Français | |  

Tom Birien

 

Ph.D. student

Department of biology, chemistry and geography, UQAR

Des Ursulines Building
300 Allée des Ursulines
UQAR
Quebec, Canada
G5L 3A1

418.723.1986 extension 1052
tom.birien@uqar.ca

 

 


 
 
 

Research project

Influence of meteorological variables on weathering of sedimentary rock cliffs and on rockfalls occurrences in a climate change context.

Issues

Many communication axes (roads and railways) erected along rocky outcrops are regularly damaged by rockfalls (Budetta, 2004). In these environments, rockfalls are a major and essentially unpredictable sources of danger. Thus, the assessment of their probability of occurrence is a major challenge for risk management (Delonca et al, 2014).

Geologic and geomorphological contexts of rocky outcrops influence both the frequency and magnitude of slope instabilities. The more a rockwall is weathered, the more it is unstable (Hantz et al., 2003, Matsuoka and Sakai, 1999). Nevertheless, it is usually external factors that control rockfalls triggering. Many studies highlight the predominant role of meteorological factors as heavy rainfalls and freeze-thaw cycles on rock surface instabilities (Brazdil et al., 2012, Delonca et al., 2014, Hantz et al., 2003). These events induce a change in the balance of forces acting in rock discontinuities.

Depending of climatic regions, occurrences of heavy rainfalls and temperature oscillations around the freezing point are concentrated within certain periods of the year. Since instabilities are largely correlated with meteorological variables, a good knowledge of the role these variables play on rockfalls would greatly support the development of a tool for statistical forecasting of rockfalls. Such a tool will help managers to establish effective preventive risk management plans.

The close relationship between meteorological variables and instability occurrences has been widely studied around the world (eg. Hall et al., 2002, Matsuoka and Murton, 2008). Nevertheless, studies that quantify the role of these variables are scarce (eg. D'Amato et al., 2016, Delonca et al., 2014) and do not support rockfall dynamics modelling. To date, there is no effective tool to develop the ability to predict rock fall based on meteorological triggering factors.

Objectives

The main objective of my PhD project is to increase knowledge about the influence of meteorological variables on weathering of sedimentary rock cliff and on rockfall occurrence. To reach this goal, my project will build on the following three general objectives:

  • Model the depth of freeze-thaw front inside rock wall;

Evolution of freeze depth inside rock wall delimits depth of frost weathering and evolution of thaw depth in the spring dictates the size of rocks that are likely to fall following ice melt inside discontinuities of rock wall.

  • Quantify the role of meteorological variables on rock weathering and on rockfall dynamics;

Meteorological variables such as rain, temperature, solar radiation or wind contribute to rock weathering and are trigger factors for rockfalls. Influence of these variables will be studied by focusing on daily, seasonal and annual dynamics.

  • Assess the impact of climate change on the weathering processes and on the frequency and magnitude of rockfalls.

Based on results from the first two objectives and on 21st century climate scenarios, we will seek to understand how magnitude and frequency of rockfalls will be modified in the climate change context.

Study area

Our study sites are all located in Haute-Gaspésie where two roads (132 and 198) are particularly affected by rockfalls. Between 2000 and 2012, 4720 rock falls reached the road on a portion of only 70 km. A preliminary analysis carried out by the Ministry of Transport, Sustainable Mobility and Transport Electrification (MTMDET) shows that most of rockfalls occurs in spring, during the thawing period of rock walls or during heavy rainfalls (M.T.Q., 2004). The hazard management strategy adopted by the MTMDET is based on development of a predictive capacity of rockfall, similar to that currently available for snow avalanches. This preventive management would rely primarily on a thorough understanding of meteorological variable role on rock instabilities. It would support manager’s planning and decisions making and thus limit the risks related to this hazard.

References

BRAZDIL, R., KAREL., S., TOMAS., P., PETR., D., LUCIE., K. & RADIM., T. 2012. The influence of meteorological factors on rockfall in the Morovskoslezské Beskydy Mts. Geografie, 117, 1-20.

BUDETTA, P. 2004. Assessment of rockfall risk along roads. Natural Hazards and Earth System Sciences, 4, 71–81.

BUNCE, C. C., DM & MORGENSTERN, N. 1997. Assessment of the hazard from rock fall on a highway. Can. Geotech., 34, 344-356.

D'AMATO, J., HANTZ, D., GUERIN, A., JABOYEDOFF, M., BAILLET, L. & MARISCAL, A. 2016. Influence of meteorological factors on rockfall occurrence in a middle mountain limestone cliff. Natural Hazards and Earth System Sciences, 16, 719-735.

DELONCA, A., GUNZBURGER, Y. & VERDEL, T. 2014. Statistical correlation between meteorological and rockfall databases. Natural Hazards and Earth System Science, 14, 1953-1964.

HALL, K., THORN, C. E., MATSUOKA, N. & PRICK, A. 2002. Weathering in cold regions: some thoughts and perspectives. Progress in Physical Geography, 26, 577-603.

HANTZ, D., DUSSAUGE-PEISSER, C., JEANNIN, M. & VENGEON, J.-M. 2003. Rock fall hazard assessment: from qualitative to quantitative failure probability. Picarelli. Int. Conf. on Fast Slope Movements, Prediction and Prevention for Risk Mitigation, 263-267.

HUNGR, O., EVANS, S. & HAZZARD, J. 1999. Magnitude and frequency of rock falls and rock slides along the main transportation corridors of southwestern British Columbia. Can. Geotech. J., 36, 224 - 238.

M.T.Q. 2004. Plan de transport de la Gaspésie-Îles-de-la-Madeleine. Direction du Bas-Saint-Laurent-Gaspésie-Îles-de-la-Madeleine. Ministère des Transports du Québec (MTQ), Rimouski (Québec), Bibliothèque nationale du Québec.

MATSUOKA, N. & MURTON, J. 2008. Frost weathering: recent advances and future directions. Permafrost and Periglacial Processes, 19, 195-210.

MATSUOKA, N. & SAKAI, H. 1999. Rockfall activity from an alpine cliff during thawing periods. Geomorphology, 28, 309-328.

 

 
© 2019 All rights reserved | Adapted from an original design by BinaryTheme.com

Accueil | Nos membres | Nous joindre | English | |  

Tom Birien

 

Étudiant 3è cycle

Département de biologie, chimie et géographie, UQAR

Campus de Rimouski
300 Allée des Ursulines
UQAR
Rimouski
Québec, Canada
G5L 3A1

418.723.1986 poste 1052
tom.birien@uqar.ca

 

 


 
 
 

Projet de recherche

Influence des variables météorologiques sur la météorisation des falaises de roche sédimentaire et sur l’occurrence des chutes de pierres dans un contexte de changement climatique.

Problématique

De nombreux axes de communication (routes et voies ferrées) érigés le long des affleurements rocheux sont régulièrement endommagés par les chutes de pierres (Budetta, 2004, Bunce and Morgenstern, 1997, Hungr et al., 1999). L’imprévisibilité du phénomène complique la gestion de l’aléa et c’est pour cette raison que nous cherchons à comprendre les facteurs et les mécanismes qui déclenchent ces instabilités.

Les contextes géologiques et géomorphologiques des escarpements rocheux influencent la fréquence et la magnitude des instabilités sur les versants. Une paroi est d’autant plus instable qu’elle est météorisée et que son réseau de discontinuités est développé (Hantz et al., 2003, Matsuoka and Sakai, 1999). Néanmoins, ce sont généralement des facteurs externes qui contrôlent le déclenchement des chutes de pierres. De nombreuses études mettent en évidence le rôle prépondérant des variables météorologiques sur la dynamique d’éboulisation (Brazdil et al., 2012, Delonca et al., 2014). C’est par exemple le cas des pluies intenses et des cycles gel-dégel (Hantz et al., 2003). Ces événements induisent un changement dans l’équilibre des forces qui agissent dans les discontinuités de la roche.

Selon les régions climatiques, l’occurrence des précipitations liquides et des oscillations de températures autour du point de congélation se concentrent dans certaines périodes de l’année plus ou moins courtes. Puisque l’occurrence des chutes de pierres est en grande partie corrélée à des variables météorologiques, une bonne connaissance du rôle de ces variables sur ces instabilités permettrait de développer un outil de prévision statistique des chutes de pierres. Un tel outil aiderait le gestionnaire à mettre en place une gestion préventive de l’aléa.

L’étroite relation qui existe entre les variables météorologiques et l’occurrence des instabilités a été largement étudiée à travers le monde (p.ex. Hall et al., 2002, Matsuoka and Murton, 2008). Néanmoins, les études qui quantifient le rôle de ces variables sur l’occurrence des chutes de pierres sont peu nombreuses (p.ex. D'Amato et al., 2016, Delonca et al., 2014) et ne permettent pas de modéliser la dynamique d’éboulisation. À ce jour, il n’existe pas d’outil efficace permettant de développer une capacité prédictive des chutes de pierres basée sur les facteurs qui les déclenchent.

Objectifs

L’objectif principal de ce projet de doctorat est d’accroître les connaissances relatives à l’influence des variables météorologiques sur la météorisation des falaises de roches sédimentaires et sur le déclenchement des chutes de pierres. Pour y parvenir, le projet s’appuiera sur les trois objectifs généraux suivants :

  • Modéliser la profondeur du front de gel-dégel dans les parois rocheuses;

L’évolution de la profondeur du front de gel délimite la profondeur d’action du gel sur la météorisation de la roche et l’évolution de la profondeur du dégel au printemps dicte la taille des pierres qui sont susceptibles de chuter suite à la fonte de la glace dans la paroi.

  • Quantifier le rôle des variables météorologiques sur la météorisation et la dynamique des chutes de pierres;

Les variables météorologiques comme la pluie, la température, le rayonnement solaire ou le vent participent à la météorisation de la roche et sont des facteurs déclencheurs des chutes de pierres. L’influence de ces variables sera étudiée en s’intéressant aussi bien aux dynamiques quotidiennes, saisonnières et annuelles.

  • Évaluer l’impact des changements climatiques sur les processus de météorisation et sur la fréquence et la magnitude des chutes de pierre.

En s’appuyant sur les résultats tirés des deux premiers objectifs et sur les scénarios climatiques du 21ème siècle, nous chercherons à comprendre comment la magnitude et la fréquence des chutes de pierres vont être modifiées, dans le contexte du changement climatique.

Secteur d’étude

Nos sites d’études sont répartis dans le nord de la Gaspésie où deux axes routiers (132 et 198) sont particulièrement touchés par les chutes de pierres. Entre 2000 et 2012, 4720 chutes de pierres ont atteint la route sur une portion de seulement 70 km. Une analyse préliminaire effectuée par le Ministère des Transports, de la Mobilité Durable et de l’Électrification des Transports (MTMDET) montre que la majorité de ces chutes de pierres se produit au printemps, lors du dégel des parois rocheuses ou encore lors de pluies soutenues (M.T.Q., 2004). La stratégie de gestion de l’aléa adoptée par le MTMDET repose sur le développement d’une capacité prédictive des chutes de pierres, similaire à celle qui existe actuellement pour les avalanches de neige. Cette gestion préventive s’appuierait avant tout sur une compréhension approfondie du rôle des variables météorologiques sur les instabilités rocheuses. Elle permettrait d’orienter les décisions des gestionnaires et donc de limiter les risques liés à cet aléa.

Références

BRAZDIL, R., KAREL., S., TOMAS., P., PETR., D., LUCIE., K. & RADIM., T. 2012. The influence of meteorological factors on rockfall in the Morovskoslezské Beskydy Mts. Geografie, 117, 1-20.

BUDETTA, P. 2004. Assessment of rockfall risk along roads. Natural Hazards and Earth System Sciences, 4, 71–81.

BUNCE, C. C., DM & MORGENSTERN, N. 1997. Assessment of the hazard from rock fall on a highway. Can. Geotech., 34, 344-356.

D'AMATO, J., HANTZ, D., GUERIN, A., JABOYEDOFF, M., BAILLET, L. & MARISCAL, A. 2016. Influence of meteorological factors on rockfall occurrence in a middle mountain limestone cliff. Natural Hazards and Earth System Sciences, 16, 719-735.

DELONCA, A., GUNZBURGER, Y. & VERDEL, T. 2014. Statistical correlation between meteorological and rockfall databases. Natural Hazards and Earth System Science, 14, 1953-1964.

HALL, K., THORN, C. E., MATSUOKA, N. & PRICK, A. 2002. Weathering in cold regions: some thoughts and perspectives. Progress in Physical Geography, 26, 577-603.

HANTZ, D., DUSSAUGE-PEISSER, C., JEANNIN, M. & VENGEON, J.-M. 2003. Rock fall hazard assessment: from qualitative to quantitative failure probability. Picarelli. Int. Conf. on Fast Slope Movements, Prediction and Prevention for Risk Mitigation, 263-267.

HUNGR, O., EVANS, S. & HAZZARD, J. 1999. Magnitude and frequency of rock falls and rock slides along the main transportation corridors of southwestern British Columbia. Can. Geotech. J., 36, 224 - 238.

M.T.Q. 2004. Plan de transport de la Gaspésie-Îles-de-la-Madeleine. Direction du Bas-Saint-Laurent-Gaspésie-Îles-de-la-Madeleine. Ministère des Transports du Québec (MTQ), Rimouski (Québec), Bibliothèque nationale du Québec.

MATSUOKA, N. & MURTON, J. 2008. Frost weathering: recent advances and future directions. Permafrost and Periglacial Processes, 19, 195-210.

MATSUOKA, N. & SAKAI, H. 1999. Rockfall activity from an alpine cliff during thawing periods. Geomorphology, 28, 309-328.

 
© 2019 Tous droits réservés | Adapté d'un design original de BinaryTheme.com