Home | Our members | Contact us | Français | |  

Yohanna Klanten

 

Master student

Department of geography, Université Laval

Abitibi-Price Building
2405 rue de la Terrasse
Université Laval
Quebec, Canada
G1V 0A6

418. 656.2131 extension 13160
yohanna.klanten.1@ulaval.ca

 

http://132.203.57.253:8080/donneesweb/document/image/perso_3992.jpg

 


 
 
 

Research project

Paleolimnological reconstruction to assess environmental changes during the Holocene on the north coast of Ellesmere Island

In order to fully understand the significance of climate changes are in the Arctic, it is necessary to determine the magnitude of the natural temperature variations in order to place current changes in a longer-term context . High latitude lakes are particularly sensitive to environmental variations and their sediments represent important potential archives of these fluctuations. By using a paleolimnological approach, this project aims to provide a better understanding of the functioning of the Arctic ecosystems and geosystems and their roles in the global climate system.

Despite being at the northernmost fringe of land on Earth, the northwest coast of Ellesmere Island is a highly dynamic region that has experienced significant climatic variability during the Holocene. The study lake is located in a glacial valley in this region (82º54 'N; 66º58' W). The lake that once was connected to the ocean was isolated following isostatic rebound after the regional glacial retreat.

In this study, I will study diatoms, which possess many characteristics of ideal bioindicators. Since diatoms have specific ecological preferences, it will be possible to reconstruct limnological conditions that are associated with climate (e.g. pH, temperature, conductivity, mixing). My project will have two main objectives: 1) to determine the timing of the isolation of the lake by using diatom assemblages to detect the change from sea water to fresh water; and 2) to document climatic variability along the extreme terrestrial margin of the High Arctic during the Holocene.

 
© 2019 All rights reserved | Adapted from an original design by BinaryTheme.com

Accueil | Nos membres | Nous joindre | English | |  

Yohanna Klanten

 

Étudiante 2è cycle

Département de géographie, Université Laval

Pavillon Abitibi-Price
2405 rue de la Terrasse
Université Laval
Québec
Québec, Canada
G1V 0A6

418. 656.2131 poste 13160
yohanna.klanten.1@ulaval.ca

 

http://132.203.57.253:8080/donneesweb/document/image/perso_3992.jpg

 


 
 
 

Projet de recherche

Reconstitution paléolimnologique pour évaluer les changements environnementaux durant l'Holocène sur la côte nord de l'île d'Ellesmere, Nunavut

Afin de bien comprendre ce que représentent les changements de climat actuels, il est important de déterminer l’ampleur des variations naturelles des températures passées. Les lacs des hautes latitudes sont particulièrement sensibles aux variations environnementales et leurs sédiments représentent d’excellentes archives de ces fluctuations. C’est donc en utilisant une approche paléolimnologique que ce projet vise à permettre une meilleure compréhension du fonctionnement des écosystèmes et des géosystèmes du haut arctique et de leurs rôles dans le système climatique mondial.

En plus d’être à la frontière nord de l’Océan Arctique, la côte Nord de l’île d’Ellesmere est une région très dynamique qui a vu une importante variabilité climatique durant l’holocène. Le lac à l’étude est situé dans une vallée glaciaire de cette région (82º54’ N; 66º58’ O). Le relèvement isostatique provoqué par le retrait du glacier à isolé le lac qui autrefois était connecté à l’océan.

Les diatomées, algues microscopiques qui possèdent plusieurs caractéristiques qui en font des bio-indicateurs idéaux, seront les principaux indicateurs étudiés dans le cadre de cette étude. Comme les diatomées ont des préférences écologiques spécifiques, il sera entre autre possible de retracer les conditions limnologiques associées au climat (par ex., pH, température, conductivité, brassage). Mon projet aura deux objectifs principaux : 1) Déterminer le moment de l’isolation du lac en détectant le passage de l’eau marine à l’eau douce, et donc de connaitre son âge; et 2) Dresser un portrait de la variabilité climatique dans l’extrême nord du Canada durant l’holocène.​

 
© 2018 Tous droits réservés | Adapté d'un design original de BinaryTheme.com