Home | Our members | Contact us | Français | |  

Gabriel Chiasson-Poirier

 

Master student

Department of geography, Université de Montréal

520, ch. de la Côte-Sainte-Catherine Building
520, ch. de la Côte-Sainte-Catherine
Université de Montréal
Quebec, Canada

8198292954
gchiassonpoirier@hotmail.ca

 

 


 

Direction

 
 

Research project

Hydrogeomorphic controls and shallow groundwater flow patterns during the arctic summer, Niaqunguk River watershed, Iqaluit, Nunavut

CONTEXT
Climate change is impacting the hydrology of northern rivers. Recent studies suggest that Arctic warming and associated permafrost degradation are contributing to a widespread upward trend in minimum daily flows (Smith et al. 2007, St-Jacques & Sauchyn 2009). Understanding the link between permafrost thaw and altered flow regimes requires fundamental knowledge of the processes controlling the flow and storage of water within the seasonally thawed soils above permafrost (i.e., active layer) (Chiasson-Poirier 2016). However, few field studies have investigated the movement of water within the active layer. Better knowledge of active layer processes is critical to our understanding of the impact of climate change on the hydrology, geochemistry, and ecology of northern rivers; and on the delivery of water, nutrients, sediments and carbon to the Arctic Ocean.

OBJECTIVES
The aim of my research is to provide a better characterization of how geomorphic features of the arctic landscape can influence subsurface flow patterns and thus their connectivity with surface water during the arctic summer.
To realize this goal, I will:

  1. track across a hillslope the evolution of suprapermafrost groundwater flow patterns and frost table topography;
  2. identify which are the dominant physical controls governing the routing of shallow groundwater flow during the thawing period and relate these controls to different degrees of hydrological connectivity;
  3. assess the importance of groundwater contributions relative to other water sources (rain, lakes, overland flow) that contribute to the flow of a tributary stream at the foot of the studied hillslope to confirm the magnitude of hydrological connectivity across the hillslope-stream sequence.

STUDY SITE AND METHODOLOGY
Field studies will take place in a subwatershed (0.41km2) centrally located within the 58km2 Niaqunguk River watershed, located northeast of Iqaluit, NU (63° 45’ N, 68° 33’ W). This subwatershed is characterized by a wide range of surficial deposits types and a shallow active layer (<1.5m) (Leblanc et al. 2015). The surficial deposit types (i.e., glaciofluvial, boulder fields, organic and till cover of varying thickness) present within this subwatershed are representative of those throughout the Niaqunguk watershed.

Fieldwork will involve:

  1. continuous monitoring of the flow network across a hillslope-stream toposequence using piezometers equipped with water level sensor-loggers and a mapping of the three-dimensional architecture of the hillslope using both intrusive (e.g., soil cores, depth to frost table measurements) and non-intrusive methods (e.g., electrical resistivity surveys);
  2. source water characterization (i.e., groundwater, stream, lake and rainfall) using environmental tracers (e.g., electrical conductivity, stable water isotopes, and Dissolve Organic Carbone (DOC).

Combined canonical and asymmetric eigenfunction analysis will be used to determine which geomorphological features of the hillslope and degree of hydrological connectivity better explained le variation in groundwater flow patterns observed through the summer. Hydrochemical analysis will then be used to quantify the proportion of groundwater contributing to streamflow and to track the evolution of structural connectivity during the thaw season. Additionally, I will complete a detailed characterization of the surficial geology of the subwatershed to assess how distinct deposit-type and hydrogeomorphic features influence hydrological connectivity.

IMPLICATIONS
The knowledge gathered by this study is critical to project the response of arctic river systems to climate change. Outcomes will contribute to fundamental hydrological knowledge and will also be particularly relevant in the context of the Niaqunguk River watershed, as the rapidly expanding City of Iqaluit has identified the river as a supplemental potable water source. A better understanding of groundwater contributions to river discharges are necessary for a more effective management of this critical water resource.

 
© 2019 All rights reserved | Adapted from an original design by BinaryTheme.com

Accueil | Nos membres | Nous joindre | English | |  

Gabriel Chiasson-Poirier

 

Étudiant 2è cycle

Département de géographie, Université de Montréal

Pavillon 520, ch. de la Côte-Sainte-Catherine
520, ch. de la Côte-Sainte-Catherine
Université de Montréal
Montréal
Québec, Canada

8198292954
gchiassonpoirier@hotmail.ca

 

 


 

Direction

 
 

Projet de recherche

Contrôles hydrogéomorphologiques et patrons d’écoulements souterrains suprapergélisol durant l’été arctique, rivière Niaqunguk, Iqaluit, Nunavut

PROBLÉMATIQUE
Les changements climatiques impactent le cycle hydrologique des rivières arctiques. Des études récentes suggèrent que le réchauffement de l’Arctique et la dégradation du pergélisol qui en découle entrainent une augmentation des débits minimums journaliers (Smith et al. 2007, St-Jacques et Sauchyn 2009). Les processus physiques contrôlant les écoulements et le stockage de l’eau dans la couche du sol sujette aux cycles de gel/dégel saisonniers (couche active), sont essentiels à la compréhension des liens entre dégel du pergélisol et altération du régime hydrologique, géochimique et écologique des rivières arctiques, ainsi que sur la décharge d’eau, nutriments et de sédiments dans l’Océan arctique.

OBJECTIFS
L’objectif principal de mon projet de recherche est de fournir une meilleure caractérisation de l’influence de différentes unités géomorphologiques sur les patrons d’écoulements souterrains suprapergélisol et sur leur connexion avec les eaux de surface durant l’été arctique.

Pour ce faire, les objectifs méthodologiques suivants seront développés :

  1. faire le suivi sur une pente de l’évolution des patrons d’écoulements suprapergélisol et de la topographie du plafond de gel du pergélisol,
  2. identifier les principaux contrôles physiques influençant les patrons d’écoulements durant la période de dégel et lier ces contrôles à différents degrés de connectivité hydrologique,
  3. évaluer l’importance de la contribution des eaux souterraines relativement à d’autres sources d’eau (pluie, lacs, écoulement hortonien) contribuant au débit d’un petit tributaire de tête situé au pied de la pente étudiée, afin de confirmer le degré de connectivité hydrologique à travers la séquence pente - cours d’eau.

MÉTHODOLOGIE
La pente instrumentée est adjacente à un tributaire de tête du bassin versant de la rivière Niaqunguk (superficie: 58 km2), situé au nord-est de la ville d’Iqaluit, Nunavut (63° 45’ N, 68° 33’ W). Ce tributaire draine une superficie de 0,41 km2, caractérisée par une géologie de surface hétérogène et une profondeur de couche active relativement peu profonde (<1,5m) (Leblanc et al. 2015). Les différents types de dépôts de surface (ex: fluvioglaciaire, champ de blocs, couverture de dépôts organiques ou de till de différentes épaisseurs) présents dans le sous-bassin sont représentatifs de l’ensemble du bassin versant de la rivière Niaqunguk.

Les études effectuées sur le terrain impliqueront :

  1. un suivi en continu du réseau d’écoulement souterrain pour la séquence pente – cours d’eau, grâce à un réseau de piézomètres équipés d’enregistreurs de pression mesurant les niveaux d’eau, ainsi qu’une cartographie de l’architecture de la pente, grâce à des méthodes intrusives (ex: carottage, sondage de gel) et des méthodes non-intrusives (ex: profils de résistivité électrique),
  2. une caractérisation des sources d’eau (ex.: eaux souterraine, tributaire, lac et pluie) à l’aide de traceurs environnementaux (ex.: conductivité électrique, isotopes stables et carbone organique dissous).

Une combinaison d’analyses canoniques et de fonctions basées sur des eigen-vecteurs asymétriques sera utilisée afin de déterminer quels sont les caractéristiques géomorphologiques et les degrés de connectivités permettant d’expliquer la variation des patrons d’écoulement observés au courant de l’été. Des analyses hydrochimiques permettront ensuite de quantifier la proportion d’eau souterraine alimentant le débit du tributaire et de suivre l’évolution de la connectivité structurale à travers la séquence pente - cours d’eau. De plus, une caractérisation détaillée de la géologie de surface du sous-bassin sera aussi effectuée afin de déterminer comment différents types de dépôts ou unités hydrogéomorphologiques peuvent influencer la connectivité hydrologique.

IMPLICATIONS
Les résultats de cette recherche permettront une meilleure compréhension de la contribution des écoulements souterrains au débit des rivières arctiques et de prédire les impacts des changements climatiques sur l’hydrologie de la couche active. La ville d’Iqaluit, capitale du Nunavut et plus importante ville de l’est de l’Arctique, a identifié la rivière Niaqunguk comme source alternative d’eau potable. Les connaissances développées seront donc aussi essentielles pour gestion durable des ressources en eau de la rivière.

 
© 2018 Tous droits réservés | Adapté d'un design original de BinaryTheme.com