Home | Our members | Contact us | Français | |  

Philip Bertrand

 

Ph.D. student

Department of biology, chemistry and geography, UQAR

Des Ursulines Building
300 Allée des Ursulines
UQAR
Quebec, Canada
G5L 3A1

418. 723.1986
Philip.Bertrand@uqar.ca

 

http://132.203.57.253:8080/donneesweb/document/image/perso_3940.jpg

 


 

External link

 
 
 
 

Research project

Effect of the cryosphere reduction on movement and reproductive ecology of the black-legged kittiwake (Rissa tridactyla)


  Arctic temperatures are increasing twice as fast than the global average (1). Those changes modify the properties of the cryosphere (i.e. ice cover of terrestrial system) by decreasing its surface, its thickness and its time of occurrence (2). This process is known to modify the biogeochemical cycles and the trophic relationships, affecting marine biodiversity habitats (3). The increase of temperatures also promotes melting of tidewater glaciers, bringing a significant amount of freshwater discharge in the sea (i.e. calving front). These discharges promote the rise of upwelling plumes, carrying plankton to the surface. Due to the increased accessibility of preys, these calving fronts constitute an important feeding area for arctic vertebrates such as the black-legged kittiwake (Rissa tridactyla) (3). The black-legged kittiwake is a high-level trophic predator with a circumpolar distribution. This trophic position makes it sensitive to environmental changes and researchers frequently used it as bioindicator of oceanic temperature variations and food abundance (4). The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change predicts that the Arctic would be ice-free during summers by 2050 (5), underlining the importance of understanding how these changes would affect feeding and reproductive strategies of seabird communities.


Hypotheses

   This study aims to investigate whether tidewater glacier front is representing a high-quality foraging zone for arctic seabird populations, promoting the maintenance of high reproductive success and viable population size, despite the global sea warming and consequent changes on trophic relationships. From this general statement, three hypotheses will be tested;

Hypothesis 1: Black-legged kittiwake populations are using tidewater glacier fronts as feeding zone under reproductive period;

Hypothesis 2: Individuals using tidewater glacier calving fronts demonstrate a higher reproductive success than those that are not feeding at these zones;

Hypothesis 3: The productivity of the colonies that are using tidewater glacier fronts is sufficient to compensate population annual mortality.


Methods

   Black-legged kittiwakes are known to have variable feeding strategies across the breeding season, where longest distances are usually travelled during incubation period and shortest during the chick-rearing one (6). By camera monitoring, we will investigate the temporal variation in the use of calving fronts as feeding zones across the breeding period. Along phenology, evidences suggest that feeding strategies in seabirds also varies according to sexes (7), with males travelling further than females. In order to determine the level of spatiotemporal variability among individuals and colonies, as well as by sex, fine-scale movement analysis will be achieved by monitoring the pattern of 40 individuals fitted with GPS per colony (six colonies in total). Combining telemetry and reproductive success data, we aim to understand the potential selective advantage associated with the use of tidewater glacier front. The analysis will be realized at two levels, at the individual and colony level, correlating movement patterns to their relative breeding outputs. Finally, we aim to understand and predict the effect of glacier fronts on seabird population demography. Empirical demographic data will be used in different theoretical scenarios to explore the effect of glacier fronts on population trajectories.


Significance of the project

   The project results will improve our understanding of the importance of glacier fronts in Arctic landscape, and their effect on reproductive performances of seabird communities. This knowledge is key for the elaboration of future management plans necessary to arctic seabird conservation.


References

(1) Blunden et al. 2012. Bull. Amer. Meteor. Soc. 93:S1–S264. (2) Vihma. 2014. Surv. Geophys. 35:1175-1214. (3) Grémillet et al. 2015. Glob. Chang. Biol. 21:1116-1123. (4) Frederiksen et al. 2007. Mar. Ecol. Prog. Ser. 350:137-143. (5) IPCC. 2014. Climate Change 2014: Synthesis Report. Geneva. (6) Robertson et al. 2014. Mar. Biol. 161:1973-1986. (7) Pinet et al. 2012. Anim. Behav. 83:979-989.

 
 

Scientific communications

Bertrand, P., Bowman, J., Dyer, R.J., Manseau, M., Wilson, P.J., 2017. Sex‐specific graphs: Relating group‐specific topology to demographic and landscape data. Molecular Ecology, 26(15): 3898-3912. DOI: 10.1111/mec.14174.

Haché, S., Bertrand, P., Fiola, M.-L., Thériault, S., Bayne, E., Villard, M.-A., 2016. Band-related foot loss does not prevent successful return and reproduction in the ovenbird (Seiurus aurocapilla). Wilson Journal of Ornithology, 128(4): 913-918. DOI: 10.1676/15-172.1.

Boulanger, Y., Arseneault, D., Morin, H., Jardon, Y., Bertrand, P., Dagneau, C., 2012. Dendrochronological reconstruction of spruce budworm (Choristoneura fumiferana) outbreaks in southern Quebec for the last 400 years. Canadian Journal of Forest Research, 42: 1264-1276.

 
© 2019 All rights reserved | Adapted from an original design by BinaryTheme.com

Accueil | Nos membres | Nous joindre | English | |  

Philip Bertrand

 

Étudiant 3è cycle

Département de biologie, chimie et géographie, UQAR

Campus de Rimouski
300 Allée des Ursulines
UQAR
Rimouski
Québec, Canada
G5L 3A1

418. 723.1986
Philip.Bertrand@uqar.ca

 

http://132.203.57.253:8080/donneesweb/document/image/perso_3940.jpg

 


 

Liens externes

 
 
 
 

Projet de recherche

Réduction de la cryosphère et son impact sur la reproduction et l’alimentation d’une sentinelle Arctique, la mouette tridactyle (Rissa tridactyla)

   
  Le réchauffement climatique en Arctique s’accroit jusqu’à deux fois plus rapidement que la moyenne globale (1). Ces changements modifient la cryosphère (i.e. couverture de glace du système terrestre) en diminuant son épaisseur, son étendue et sa durée d’occurrence (2). Ceci a pour effet la modification des cycles biogéochimiques et des réseaux trophiques, transformant profondément l’habitat de la biodiversité marine (3). L’augmentation des températures favorise la fonte des glaciers côtiers (i.e. glacier dont le front rejoint la mer ou l’océan ; front glaciaire) amenant un apport d’eau douce important à l’océan. Cet écoulement favorise la remontée du panache, dirigeant le plancton environnant à la surface. Cette zone de rencontre constitue alors un site d’alimentation important pour les vertébrés arctiques telle que la mouette tridactyle (Rissa tridactyla) (3). Cette espèce à distribution circumpolaire niche en colonies spatialement délimitées. Elle est largement piscivore, la situant dans les plus hauts niveaux de la chaîne trophique. Cette position la rend sensible aux changements environnementaux et amène certains chercheurs à la considérer comme bio-indicateur des fluctuations de températures océaniques et d’abondances de proies (4). Le groupe d'experts intergouvernemental sur l'évolution du climat (GIEC) prévoit que les eaux de la zone Arctique seront dépourvues de glace (i.e. banquise) pendant la saison estivale d’ici 2050 (5), soulignant l’importance de la compréhension des effets de ces changements sur les stratégies d’alimentation et le succès reproducteur des communautés aviaires.


Hypothèses

   Le projet testera l’hypothèse générale que les fronts glaciaires représentent une zone d’alimentation de qualité permettant aux populations d’oiseaux marins arctiques de maintenir un succès reproducteur élevé ainsi qu’une taille de population viable. Partant de cette hypothèse générale, trois sous-hypothèses seront vérifiées, soit ;

Hypothèse 1 : Les populations de mouettes tridactyles utilisent les fronts glaciaires comme zone d’alimentation durant la reproduction ;

Hypothèse 2 : Les mouettes tridactyles utilisant ces zones démontrent un succès reproducteur plus élevé que celles qui ne les utilisent pas ;

Hypothèse 3 : La productivité des colonies de mouettes tridactyles qui utilisent les fronts glaciaires est suffisante pour compenser la mortalité annuelle.


Contexte et méthodes

   La mouette tridactyle adopte des stratégies d’alimentation variables au cours de la saison de reproduction, où plus de kilomètres sont généralement parcourus pendant la période d’incubation que durant l’élevage des jeunes (6). Par l’utilisation de caméras, nous investiguerons la variation temporelle d’utilisation des fronts glaciaires comme zone d’alimentation au cours de la période de reproduction. Les stratégies d’alimentation chez les oiseaux marins peuvent aussi varier selon le sexe durant certaines périodes phénologiques, au cours desquelles les mâles voyagent de plus grandes distances que les femelles (7). Afin de déterminer le niveau de variabilité spatiotemporelle entre les individus, les sexes et les colonies, l’analyse du mouvement à fine échelle sera réalisée par le suivi télémétrique de 40 individus munis d’équipement GPS par colonie et cela dans six colonies. Combinant le suivi télémétrique des oiseaux et leur succès reproducteur respectif, nous visons la compréhension de l’avantage sélectif potentiel engendré par l’utilisation des fronts glaciaires. L’analyse se fera à deux niveaux : au niveau de l’individu et de la colonie. Finalement, nous étudierons l’effet des fronts glaciaires sur la démographie des populations d’oiseaux marins. Plus précisément, nous utiliserons des données démographiques empiriques dans différents scénarios théoriques afin d’explorer l’effet de l’utilisation des fronts glaciaires sur la trajectoire démographique des populations. Importance de la recherche proposée


Importance de la recherche proposée

   Les résultats de cette recherche permettront de mieux comprendre l’importance des fronts glaciaires dans le paysage arctique et plus précisément de mieux comprendre leurs effets sur le succès reproducteur des oiseaux marins. Ces connaissances sont indispensables à l’établissement de futurs plans de conservation assurant la pérennité des communautés aviaires marines de l’Arctique.
 

Références

(1) Blunden et al. 2012. Bull. Amer. Meteor. Soc. 93:S1–S264. (2) Vihma. 2014. Surv. Geophys. 35:1175-1214. (3) Grémillet et al. 2015. Glob. Chang. Biol. 21:1116-1123. (4) Frederiksen et al. 2007. Mar. Ecol. Prog. Ser. 350:137-143. (5) IPCC. 2014. Climate Change 2014: Synthesis Report. Geneva. (6) Robertson et al. 2014. Mar. Biol. 161:1973-1986. (7) Pinet et al. 2012. Anim. Behav. 83:979-989.

 
 

Communications scientifiques

Bertrand, P., Bowman, J., Dyer, R., Manseau, M., Wilson, P., 2017. Sex-Specific Graphs: Relating Group-Specific Topology to Demographic and Landscape Data. Molecular Ecology, 26(15): 3898-3912.

Haché, S., Bertrand, P., Fiola, M.-L., Thériault, S., Bayne, E., Villard, M.-A., 2016. Band-related Foot Loss Does Not Prevent Successful Return and Reproduction in the Ovenbird ( Seiurus aurocapilla ). Wilson Journal of Ornithology, 128(4): 913-918.

Boulanger, Y., Arseneault, D., Morin, H., Jardon, Y., Bertrand, P., Dagneau, C., 2012. Dendrochronological reconstruction of spruce budworm (Choristoneura fumiferana) outbreaks in southern Quebec for the last 400 years. Canadian Journal of Forest Research, 42: 1264-1276.

 
© 2018 Tous droits réservés | Adapté d'un design original de BinaryTheme.com