Home | Our members | Contact us | Français | |  

Lin Chen

 

Ph.D. student

Department of geography, Université de Montréal

René-J.-A.-Lévesque Laboratory
2905, chemin des services
Université Laval
Quebec, Canada

514. 343.6111
chl_sc@163.com

 

 


 
 
 

Research project

Vertical and lateral heat transfer associated with subsurface water flow: impacts on the thermal stability of transportation infrastructure in discontinuous permafrost regions - south-western Yukon, Canada

Higher air temperature and surface disturbance due to road construction alter the surface energy balance, increase underlying permafrost temperature and thawing, and even promote the development of taliks. Infrastructure embankments essentially interact with the underlying permafrost primarily through conductive heat transfers and phase change during freeze-thaw episodes. When the embankments are located in the path of groundwater flow, convective heat transfers may be an order of magnitude more important than conductive heat transfer in the embankment (Kane et al. 2001; Kurylyk et al. 2014, 2016). Heat advection by groundwater and its impact of the thermal regime of permafrost have been poorly documented. According to short-term field observations and numerical modeling results, water flow in the soils is a key factor in the dynamics of heat transfer and permafrost degradation (McKenzie et al. 2007; Woo et al. 2008; de Grandpré et al. 2010, 2012). Lateral water flow in the active layer triggers convective heat transfers that can significantly alter the temperature of the soils, increase active layer thickness, and create supra-permafrost talik beneath embankment. Connections of talik layers develop new groundwater flow paths, which enlarge with time (along with permafrost degradation). Clearly, groundwater flow will significantly reduce the long-term stability of embankments, increase maintenance costs, and very likely reduce the life cycle of the infrastructure.

In the Beaver Creek area, south-western Yukon, a highway research facility with a road test section has been constructed in 2008. This site is well-known for the ongoing thermal degradation of the permafrost below the embankment, demonstrates significant groundwater flow, and is heavily instrumented from previous work. The current road alignment intercepts a local drainage network and it was observed that heat advection from groundwater flow promotes permafrost degradation. As active layer below slopes and toes of embankment deepened over time, thawed permafrost (originally ice-rich) yielded ground subsidence and the road settled, unevenly, over time. As coarse embankment material (sand and gravel) with large interstitial voids subsides, it intercepts the water table, increases the permeability of the water storage media and yields more groundwater (positive feedback). In spring and summer, snowmelt water and rainfall saturate the thawed soil and water stored at the toe of embankment allows lateral flow in the active layer and in taliks. Furthermore, groundwater flow that gets trapped under the road before winter significantly delays freeze back of the active layer which contributes to general higher permafrost temperature. A network of groundwater monitoring wells, piezometers and thermistor cables was installed along the sides and under the centerline of the road to estimate groundwater flow and its thermal impact on the permafrost beneath the embankment.

The complex interaction between transportation infrastructure, groundwater flow, and underlying permafrost remains poorly understood and quantified and none of these studies have been based on long term field observations. Our study site provides an opportunity to investigate the convective heat transfer linked to groundwater, notably within taliks. The general objective of my project is to develop fully-coupled numerical thermal model based on field studies and to evaluate the potential response of permafrost and infrastructure to groundwater flow and climate change. The specific objectives are: 1) Improve the knowledge of groundwater flow paths and refreezing process in active layer and talik region beneath an embankment; 2) Develop a fully coupled heat-water-deformation model to investigate the impact of seepage on thermal regime and deformation of the subgrade; 3) Evaluate the long-term performance of mitigation techniques submitted to groundwater flow and warming climate. This study will also help to better understand the development of longitudinal settlement and to improve the design of mitigation techniques and drainage system in cold region.

 
© 2019 All rights reserved | Adapted from an original design by BinaryTheme.com

Accueil | Nos membres | Nous joindre | English | |  

Lin Chen

 

Étudiant 3è cycle

Département de géographie, Université de Montréal

Laboratoire René-J.-A.-Lévesque
2905, chemin des services
Université Laval
Montréal
Québec, Canada

514. 343.6111
chl_sc@163.com

 

 


 
 
 

Projet de recherche

Impacts des transferts de chaleur verticaux et latéraux sur la stabilité thermique des infrastructures de transport dans les régions de pergélisol discontinu - sud-ouest du Yukon, Canada

La hausse des températures de l’air et les perturbations de surface créées par la construction des routes altère l’équilibre thermique de surface, entraînent une hausse de la température et de la dégradation du pergélisol et favorisent le développement de taliks. Les remblais de route interagissent avec le pergélisol sous-jacent essentiellement via les transferts de chaleur conductifs et les changements de phase durant les épisodes de gel et dégel. Lorsque les remblais sont localisés dans les chemins d’écoulement souterrain préférentiels, les transferts de chaleur (conducto-convectifs) peuvent être plus d’un ordre de grandeur plus important que les transferts de chaleur conductifs (Kane et al. 2001; Kurylyk et al. 2014, 2016). L’advection de chaleur par écoulement souterrain et son impact sur le régime thermique du pergélisol ont été peu étudiés jusqu’à ce jour. D’après des observations de terrain et les modélisations numériques, l’écoulement d’eau dans les sols est un facteur clé des transferts de chaleur et de la dégradation du pergélisol (McKenzie et al. 2007; Woo et al. 2008; de Grandpré et al. 2010, 2012). L’écoulement latéral dans les sols peut affecter significativement la température du sol, augmenter la profondeur de la couche active et créer des taliks sous les remblais de route. La connectivité des taliks créent de nouveaux chenaux d’écoulement souterrain qui augmente en dimension avec le temps (avec la dégradation du pergélisol). L’écoulement souterrain affectera significativement la stabilité à long terme des infrastructures, augmentera les coûts d’entretien et réduira le cycle de vie des infrastructures.

Dans la région de Beaver Creek, au sud-ouest du Yukon, une section test a été construite en 2008. Ce site est bien connu pour la dégradation du pergélisol sous le remblai de route, est soumis à des écoulements souterrains significatifs et est très bien instrumenté pour le suivi thermique. La route intercepte le réseau de drainage local. L’approfondissement de la couche active sous les pentes et le pied du remblai au cours des années a entraîné une subsidence de la route. La subsidence des matériaux grossiers du remblai (sable et gravier) au niveau de la nappe phréatique favorise l’augmentation de l’écoulement souterrain (rétroaction positive). Durant la saison chaude, les eaux de fonte des neiges et les pluies saturent le sol dégelé et entraînent un stockage de l’eau au pied du remblai et peuvent entraîner l’écoulement dans la couche active et les taliks. De plus, l’eau accumulée sous la route, retarde le gel du sol en hiver et contribue donc à une hausse des températures du pergélisol. Un réseau de piézomètres et de câbles à thermistances a été installé dans le remblai afin d’estimer l’ampleur de l’écoulement souterrain et son impact sur le pergélisol sous le remblai.

L'interaction complexe entre les infrastructures de transport, l'écoulement des eaux souterraines, et le pergélisol sous-jacent reste mal comprise et quantifiée et aucune de ces études ont été basées sur des observations sur le terrain à long terme. Cette section d'essai routier offre l'occasion d'étudier le transfert de chaleur par convection des eaux souterraines, notamment dans les taliks. L’objectif général de mon projet est de développer un modèle thermique numérique basé sur nos études de terrain et d'évaluer la réponse potentielle du pergélisol et des infrastructures à l'écoulement des eaux souterraines et au changement climatique. Les objectifs spécifiques sont : 1) Améliorer la connaissance des voies d'écoulement des eaux souterraines, des processus de regel dans la couche active et du développement de taliks sous un remblai; 2) Développer un modèle hydro-thermo-mécanique de l’infrastructure et du pergélisol sous-jacent et 3) Évaluer le rendement à long terme des techniques de mitigation visant à contrer la dégradation du pergélisol. Cette étude permettra également de mieux comprendre le développement de dépressions longitudinales et d'améliorer la conception des systèmes de drainage en conditions de pergélisol.

 
© 2018 Tous droits réservés | Adapté d'un design original de BinaryTheme.com