Home | Our members | Contact us | Français | |  

Isabelle Fournier

 

Ph.D. student

Department of Biology, Université Laval

Alexandre-Vachon Building
1045 avenue de la Médecine
Université Laval
Quebec, Canada
G1V 0A6

581.246.0223
isabelle.fournier.24@ulaval.ca

 

 


 
 
 

Research project

Roads impact on aquatic ecosystems

a) Context

Road salt is used on roads in cold regions to remove snow and ice. Road salt is mainly composed of sodium chloride (NaCl), but also contains associated contaminants such as metals, nitrogen and anti-agglutinative compounds. Runoffs then transport these ions and compounds into the environment, particularly to underground and surface water systems. All of these chemicals can be toxic and/or impact the water quality, leading to modifications of the ecosystem. These modifications may be most impactful in spring, when snow and ice melt results in increased transport of water and other materials into the aquatic systems. However, salts remain in lakes almost year through and concentration of chloride has been reported to increase from year to year in some systems.


b) Objectifs

The objective of my PhD project is to assess the effects of road de-icing salts on lentic ecosystem. More precisely, this project aims to (1) determine the de-icing salt composition, including the associated contaminants, on the studied watersheds; (2) to evaluate increasing salinity impact on plankton community structure (trophic chain) and (3) to determine if salinity leads to the dominance of phytoplankton (especially cyanobacterial) capable of producing toxic bloom.

Several lakes with various characteristics and issues will be studied. The first study lake will be Lac Saint-Augustin, located in the metropolitan region of Quebec City, and that is mostly used for recreational purpose by the residents. Secondly, Lac Saint-Charles will be studied. This lake is located in a more rural region of Quebec City and is a major drinking water reservoir for half of the local population. Finally, some lakes that are minimally altered by humans will be selected in the region of Northern Quebec (Nunavik).

The main study hypothesis is that salinity, contaminants and nutrients favor the dominance of cyanobacteria and other bloom-forming species in watersheds impacted by high concentrations of de-icing salts. It will be tested with a combination of field and laboratory work, including molecular, biochemical and microscopy approaches.
 
© 2019 All rights reserved | Adapted from an original design by BinaryTheme.com

Accueil | Nos membres | Nous joindre | English | |  

Isabelle Fournier

 

Étudiante 3è cycle

Département de biologie, Université Laval

Pavillon Alexandre-Vachon
1045 avenue de la Médecine
Université Laval
Québec
Québec, Canada
G1V 0A6

581.246.0223
isabelle.fournier.24@ulaval.ca

 

 


 
 
 

Projet de recherche

Impact des routes sur les écosystèmes aquatiques

a) Contexte

Dans les régions où la neige et la glace s’accumulent sur les routes durant l’hiver, l’utilisation de sels de déglaçage est de mise pour rendre le réseau routier sécuritaire. Toutefois, ce sel est transporté dans l’environnement (notamment dans les eaux souterraines et de surface) par les précipitations ou le ruissellement de la fonte des neiges. De plus, ce ne sont pas seulement les sels qui font leur chemin jusque dans les écosystèmes aquatiques, mais aussi les contaminants qui y sont associés (ex. métaux, anti-agglutinants). En plus de la toxicité de ces contaminants, le sel en lui-même (NaCl) peut être toxique et modifier les paramètres physicochimiques des lacs. Bien que le plus gros de l’apport en sel se fasse au printemps et que la salinité diminue durant le reste de l’année, il n’en reste pas moins qu’elle est présente et qu’elle augmente d’année en année.


b) Objectifs

L’objectif de mon projet de doctorat est de déterminer les effets des sels de déglaçage sur les écosystèmes lentiques. Plus précisément, ce projet a pour but de (1) déterminer la composition des sels de déglaçage et des contaminants qui y sont associés, dans les bassins versants à l’étude, (2) d’évaluer les impacts d’une augmentation de la salinité sur la structure des communautés planctoniques et (3) de déterminer si la salinité favorise la dominance d’espèces planctoniques capables de former des floraisons toxiques.

Les différents lacs étudiés présenteront des caractéristiques et des problématiques diverses. Il y aura le lac Saint-Augustin, un lac de la région métropolitaine de Québec dont la qualité de l’eau s’est beaucoup dégradée dans les dernières années et qui a une vocation de plaisance; le lac Saint-Charles, qui est un lac plus grand que le précédant se situant en région plus rurale et servant de source d’eau potable pour la ville de Québec et des lacs du Nord du Québec (Nunavik) qui sont peu altérés par l’humain.

J’évaluerai l’hypothèse que la salinité, les contaminants et les nutriments agissent de concert pour favoriser la dominance des cyanobactéries et de d’autres espèces planctoniques capable d’initier une floraison toxique dans les bassins versants affectés par les sels de déglaçage. Les différents objectifs seront examinés avec une approche combinant le travail de terrain et de laboratoire, des outils moléculaires, biochimiques et de la microscopie.
 
© 2018 Tous droits réservés | Adapté d'un design original de BinaryTheme.com