Home | Our members | Contact us | Français | |  

Antoine Boisson

 

Ph.D. student

Department of geography, Université Laval

Abitibi-Price Building
2405 rue de la Terrasse
Université Laval
Quebec, Canada
G1V 0A6

418.656.2131 extension 4508
antoine.boisson.1@ulaval.ca

 

 


 
 
 

Projet de recherche

Coastal classification of Nunavik (Québec)

Located in northern Québec (Canada), Nunavik is bordered by the Hudson Bay in the west, and the Hudson Strait and Ungava Bay in the north. With approximately 3000 kilometers, its coastline is composed of numerous bays, pocket beaches, fjords and estuaries. Seaboards of Nunavik are different in terms of tidal conditions, types of coast and coastal permafrost conditions, inducing a large complexity for the elaboration of coastal classifications. Nunavik is acknowledged for its high mineral potential, which generates a dual adaptation challenge in the context of rapid climate and environmental changes and pressure for industrial development. Besides, this research project is related to the expected development of marine transportation infrastructure in Nunavik, both in the Inuit communities and along the coastline.

In the scientific literature, many coastal classifications have been defined and applied to characterize the main features of a coastline in terms of physical and ecological properties. To date, several scientific programs have been carried out to map and classify Canadian Arctic shorelines: CanCoast, ACD (Arctic Coastal Dynamics), ShoreZone and eSPACE (Emergency Spatial Pre-SCAT for Arctic Coastal Ecosystems). However, only CanCoast provides results for the Nunavik coast. Consequently, acquiring sound knowledge on coastal systems and processes of Nunavik is essential to assess the sensibility of these environments in a context of climate change and economic development. A detailed geomorphological analysis is absolutely necessary for coastal management. Current coastal dynamics and expected transformative changes due to climate and geophysical changes need a better understanding.

The primary objective of this thesis is to produce a detailed coastal classification map of Nunavik. Specifically, we will: 1) Classify coastal segments accordingly to geomorphological and hydrodynamics criteria, based on a RapidEye Mosaic; 2) Create a GIS database with all coastal information (types of coasts, tidal ranges, coastal sediment cells, etc); 3) Conduct a shoreline videography by helicopter; 4) Identify sections along the coastline sensitive to erosion due to marine (waves, tides, ice, surges) and geophysical factors (relative sea level changes, coastal permafrost); 5) Refine geomorphological concepts in arctic and subarctic environments (coastal classifications, shoreline, extent of coastal permafrost); 6) Create morpho-sedimentological models of different coasts (e.g. Manitounuk Strait, Deception Bay, Koksoak estuary) and conduct an identification of coastal geotechnical risks.

This coastal classification involves several methodological steps. The mapping system is based on a segmentation of the shoreline. Therefore, the continuous and linear shoreline must be divided into homogeneous segments. We will use a high resolution shoreline at a 1:50,000 scale, that was developed by CanVec (a product of NRCan). Descriptive attributes (e.g. substrate, slope, shore type, tide, anthropogenic features) are entered into a GIS database for each shore segment to describe both the alongshore segment and the across-shore morphology.

 
© 2017 All rights reserved | Adapted from an original design by BinaryTheme.com

Accueil | Nos membres | Nous joindre | English | |  

Antoine Boisson

 

Étudiant 3è cycle

Département de géographie, Université Laval

Pavillon Abitibi-Price
2405 rue de la Terrasse
Université Laval
Québec
Québec, Canada
G1V 0A6

418.656.2131 poste 4508
antoine.boisson.1@ulaval.ca

 

 


 
 
 

Projet de recherche

Classification des côtes du Nunavik (Québec)

Situé au nord du Québec (Canada), le Nunavik est entouré par la baie d’Hudson, le détroit d’Hudson et la baie d’Ungava. Son littoral se dessine sur environ 3000 km et se compose d’une multitude de baies, de plages, de fjords et d’estuaires. Les façades maritimes du Nunavik sont différentes en termes de conditions de marnage, de types de côtes et de pergélisol, ce qui induit une grande complexité pour l’élaboration des classifications côtières. Disposant d’un fort potentiel minier, ce territoire suscite un double défi d’adaptation dans un contexte de changements climatiques et de pression en faveur du développement industrialo-portuaire. D’ailleurs, ce projet de recherche est lié avec le développement des infrastructures maritimes au Nunavik, à la fois dans les communautés Inuites et le long de la côte.

Dans la littérature scientifique, de nombreuses classifications côtières ont été définies et appliquées pour caractériser les traits dominants d’un littoral en termes de propriétés physiques et écologiques. Quelques programmes scientifiques ont été menés pour cartographier et classifier les littoraux de l’Arctique canadien : CanCoast, ACD (Arctic Coastal Dynamics), ShoreZone et eSPACE (Emergency Spatial Pre-SCAT for Arctic Coastal Ecosystems). Toutefois, seul le programme CanCoast couvre des résultats sur les littoraux du Nunavik. Par conséquent, il est opportun d’acquérir de solides connaissances sur les systèmes et processus côtiers du Nunavik, afin d’évaluer la sensibilité de ces environnements dans un contexte de changements climatiques et de développement économique. Une analyse géomorphologique détaillée est essentielle pour la gestion de ce vaste littoral. La dynamique côtière actuelle et les transformations anticipées en raison des changements climatiques et géophysiques ont besoin d’être mieux connues.

L’objectif principal de cette thèse est de produire une carte de classification des côtes du Nunavik. Les objectifs spécifiques sont : 1) Classifier les segments côtiers selon des critères géomorphologiques et hydrodynamiques, à partir d’une mosaïque RapidEye; 2) Créer un inventaire, sous forme de base de données, des caractéristiques côtières (types de côte, marnages, cellules hydrosédimentaires, etc.); 3) Opérer à une vidéographie aéroportée de la ligne de rivage; 4) Identifier les secteurs fragiles et sensibles face à l’érosion côtière; 5) Affiner des concepts géomorphologiques en milieux arctiques et subarctiques (les classifications côtières, le trait de côte, l’étendue de la limite du pergélisol côtier); 6) Exposer des modèles morpho-sédimentologiques de différentes côtes (détroit de Manitounuk, baie Déception, estuaire du Koksoak, etc.) et procéder à une identification des risques géotechniques côtiers.

Cette classification côtière comporte plusieurs étapes méthodologiques. La cartographie est basée sur une segmentation du littoral. C’est un processus de segmentation d’un linéaire côtier en sections homogènes. Nous utiliserons le trait de côte développé par CanVec (produit de RNCan). Ensuite, les attributs (ex. substrat, pente, type de côte, marée, caractéristiques anthropiques) seront introduits dans une base de données SIG pour décrire à la fois le segment longshore et la morphologie cross-shore.
 

 
© 2018 Tous droits réservés | Adapté d'un design original de BinaryTheme.com