Home | Our members | Contact us | Français | |  

Vilmantas Preskienis

 

Ph.D. student

Centre Eau-Terre-Environnement, INRS-ETE

Centre Eau Terre Environnement
490, rue de la Couronne
INRS-ETE
Quebec, Canada
G1K 9A9

418.446.0120
preskienis@yahoo.com

 

 


 
 
 

Research project

Greenhouse gas emissions from Arctic lakes and ponds as influenced by carbon lability

The rapid climate warming in Arctic regions has induced extensive permafrost thawing and the consequent mobilization of a large reservoir of organic carbon that was frozen for millennia. Although the release of this old carbon into the atmosphere, either as carbon dioxide (CO2) or methane (CH4), may act as a positive feedback mechanism to global warming, the knowledge on patterns and rates of the biochemical processes involved as the different carbon pools are becoming available to aquatic ecosystems is rather scarce. As part of an interdisciplinary project investigating the influence of geomorphological and limnological factors on greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions from lakes and ponds on Bylot Island, Nunavut, my study aims to determine the lability (decomposability) and accessibility of the different carbon pools to microorganisms, and how this links to GHG emissions. The variability in carbon pool lability is one of the main gaps identified in recent studies on the vulnerability of permafrost carbon pools to climate warming.

The study was started in 2014 with incubation experiments on four sediment types found in organic-rich polygonal patterned ground landscape: upper-half portion of the active layer, lower-half portion of the active layer, permafrost, and thermokarst lake sediment. The different soil samples were incubated in-situ in shaded conditions, in one of the shallow tundra ponds. These incubations were repeated under controlled conditions in laboratory (stable temperature and in darkness). During the incubations, dissolved oxygen (O2) and headspace CH4 and CO2 concentrations were measured regularly over 10 days, allowing calculation of the rates of consumption or production of the gases as a proxy for carbon lability. These experiments will be repeated in 2015 with a larger coverage of the different carbon pools. Also a larger set of bioindicators will be used to further qualify carbon lability and better understand the trends obtained this year.

 
 

Scientific communications

Bouchard, F., Laurion, I., Preskienis, V., Fortier, D., Xu, X., Whiticar, M.J., 2015. Modern to millennium-old greenhouse gases emitted from ponds and lakes of the Eastern Canadian Arctic (Bylot Island, Nunavut). Biogeosciences, 12(23): 7279–7298. DOI: 10.5194/bg-12-7279-2015.

 
© 2019 All rights reserved | Adapted from an original design by BinaryTheme.com

Accueil | Nos membres | Nous joindre | English | |  

Vilmantas Preskienis

 

Étudiant 3è cycle

Centre Eau-Terre-Environnement, INRS-ETE

Centre Eau Terre Environnement
490, rue de la Couronne
INRS-ETE
Québec
Québec, Canada
G1K 9A9

418.446.0120
preskienis@yahoo.com

 

 


 
 
 

Projet de recherche

Les émissions de gaz à effet de serre des lacs et des mares de l'Arctique et l’influence de la labilité du carbone

Le réchauffement rapide du climat dans les régions arctiques cause le dégel du pergélisol et la mobilisation conséquente d'un grand réservoir de carbone organique qui a été gelé pendant des millénaires. Bien que la libération de ce vieux carbone dans l'atmosphère, sous forme de dioxyde de carbone (CO2) ou de méthane (CH4), peut agir comme un mécanisme de rétroaction positive sur le climat, les connaissances sur les patrons et les vitesses des processus biochimiques impliqués alors que, différents réservoirs de carbone deviennent plus disponibles pour les écosystèmes aquatiques, sont plutôt limitées. Faisant partie d’un projet interdisciplinaire qui étudie l'influence des facteurs géomorphologiques et limnologiques sur les émissions des gaz à effet de serre (GES) des lacs et des mares de l'île Bylot, Nunavut, mon étude vise à déterminer la labilité (décomposabilité) et l'accessibilité des différents réservoirs de carbone aux micro-organismes responsables de la production des GES. La variabilité de la labilité des réservoirs du carbone est l'une des principales lacunes identifiées par les études récentes sur la vulnérabilité des réservoirs de carbone du pergélisol au réchauffement climatique.

L'étude a débuté en 2014 avec des expériences d'incubation des sédiments provenant de quatre types représentatifs de sols de polygones coins de glace et riches en matière organique: la partie supérieure de la couche active, la partie inférieure de la couche active, le pergélisol et les sédiments de lac de thermokarst. Les différents échantillons de sol ont été incubés in-situ dans des conditions ombragées dans l'une des mares peu profondes. Ces incubations ont été répétées dans des conditions contrôlées en laboratoire (température stable et obscurité). Pendant les incubations, l'oxygène dissous (O2), le CH4 et le CO2 ont été mesurés régulièrement pendant 10 jours, permettant de calculer les vitesses de consommation ou de production de gaz comme un indicateur pour la labilité du carbone. Ces expériences seront répétées en 2015 sur un plus grand éventail des différents réservoirs du carbone, et en utilisant un plus grand ensemble de bio-indicateurs afin de mieux qualifier la labilité de carbone et de mieux comprendre les tendances obtenues cette année.

 
 

Communications scientifiques

Bouchard, F., Laurion, I., Preskienis, V., Fortier, D., Xu, X., Whiticar, M.J., 2015. Modern to millennium-old greenhouse gases emitted from ponds and lakes of the Eastern Canadian Arctic (Bylot Island, Nunavut). Biogeosciences, 12(23): 7279–7298. DOI: 10.5194/bg-12-7279-2015.

 
© 2018 Tous droits réservés | Adapté d'un design original de BinaryTheme.com