Home | Our members | Contact us | Français | |  

Heather Brooks

 

Ph.D. student

Department of Civil Engineering and Water Engineering, Université Laval

Adrien-Pouliot Building
1065 avenue de la Médecine
Université Laval
Quebec, Canada
G1V 0A6

418.930.7517
heathermbrooks@gmail.com

 

 


 
 
 

Research project

Quantitative risk analysis of linear infrastructure on permafrost: geotechnical properties to social impacts

Qualitative analysis processes are currently used to design, and allocate maintenance monies for, linear infrastructure on permafrost. The routing is generally selected using a qualitative process with risks and their associated consequences evaluated using a scalar rating system, generally 1 to 5 or 1 to 10. The values of risk and consequence are multiplied to determine an importance factor. Risks are ranked and analyzed based on the value of the importance factor. Climate change vulnerability assessments for highways in permafrost regions of Canada utilized this methodology. While these analysis methods have been used in practice for many years, there is a push within the engineering community towards analysis methods based on probability theory, quantifying the analysis process. Specifically, probabilistic methods have been used to determine the reliability of geotechnical factors of safety, and statistical updating methods have been presented to refine geotechnical investigations.

The goal of this project is to develop a tool for quantitative risk assessment for embankment infrastructure (roads and airstrips) built on permafrost. The tool will be objective, removing the human factor from the risk assessment; this tool could be used to prioritize maintenance monies or select infrastructure routes to reduce risk. The analysis method will be calculated on a landform basis, utilizing input values including: climate factors (present or future depending on the needs of the user), geotechnical properties (in-situ soil and fill material properties), and site geometry. A landform is an area defined in surficial geologic mapping, formed by a specific geological process; thus, the underlying soil conditions and surrounding land features should be similar. Weighted averaging of the greatest risk along an alignment should be used to determine an overall infrastructure risk. A landform calculation basis will also allow a risk analysis map to overly the landform maps commonly used in infrastructure development and management.

The objective tool will determine the vulnerabilities of existing infrastructure and aid in determining the risk associated with climate warming. Since a risk analysis includes both an analysis of failure probability and a consequence of failure analysis, the socio-economic costs, both direct and indirect, can be added to the analysis; helping communities to use limited resources in an effective manner.

Since the roadway and airstrip infrastructure is of upmost importance in rural communities, a quantitative risk assessment tool will also aid the public sector in hazard assessments.
 
 

Scientific communications

Brooks, H., Doré, G., Smith, S., 2018. Permafrost geotechnical index property variation and its effect of thermal conductivity calculations. Cold Regions Science and Technology, 148: 63-76. DOI: 10.1016/j.coldregions2018.01.004.

Doré, G., Niu, F., Brooks, H., 2016. Adaptation methods for transportation infrastructure built on degrading permafrost. Permafrost and Periglacial Processes, 27(4 - Special Issue: Transactions of the International Permafrost Association): 352-364. DOI: 10.1002/ppp.1919.

 
© 2018 All rights reserved | Adapted from an original design by BinaryTheme.com

Accueil | Nos membres | Nous joindre | English | |  

Heather Brooks

 

Étudiante 3è cycle

Département de génie civil et de génie des eaux, Université Laval

Pavillon Adrien-Pouliot
1065 avenue de la Médecine
Université Laval
Québec
Québec, Canada
G1V 0A6

418.930.7517
heathermbrooks@gmail.com

 

 


 
 
 

Projet de recherche

Analyse quantitative des risques des infrastructures linéaire allant de propriétés géotechniques aux impacts sociaux

Des procédures d'analyses qualitatives sont couramment utilisées pour concevoir les infrastructures routières linéaires construites sur pergélisol et répartir les coûts reliés à leur entretien. Le tracé est généralement établi en utilisant une méthode qualitative qui évalue les risques et leurs conséquences associées en utilisant un système de notation scalaire, généralement 1 à 5 ou 1 à 10. Les valeurs des risques et des conséquences sont multipliées pour déterminer un facteur d'importance. Les risques sont classés et analysés suivant la valeur du facteur d'importance. Cette méthode est utilisée pour l'évaluation de la vulnérabilité des routes aux changements climatiques dans les régions de pergélisol au Canada. Alors que cette méthodologie d'analyse a été utilisée dans la pratique pendant plusieurs années, les ingénieurs tendent aujourd’hui à utiliser des méthodes d'analyse basées sur la théorie des probabilités, quantifiant ainsi la procédure d'analyse. Plus spécifiquement, les méthodes de probabilités ont été utilisées pour déterminer la fiabilité des facteurs géotechniques liés à la sécurité et, les méthodes d'actualisation statistiques ont été présentées pour affiner les investigations géotechniques.

L’objectif de ce projet est de développer un outil d’évaluation quantitative des risques pour les infrastructures (routes et pistes d’atterrissage) construites sur le pergélisol. L’outil sera objectif, supprimant ainsi le facteur humain de l’évaluation des risques; cet outil pourrait être utilisé pour établir les priorités d'allocations financières allouées à l’entretien des routes, ou sélectionner le tracé des infrastructures pour réduire les risques. La méthode d’analyse sera calculée en fonction du relief, utilisant les valeurs suivantes : les facteurs climatiques (actuels ou futurs, selon les besoins de l’utilisateur), les propriétés géotechniques (propriétés in situ et les matériaux de remblai), et la topographie du site. Un relief est une zone définie dans la cartographie géologique de surface, formé par un processus géologique spécifique. Ainsi, les caractéristiques du sol sous-jacent et du terrain environnant devraient être similaires. La moyenne pondérée du risque le plus élevé le long d’un alignement doit être utilisée pour déterminer le risque global de l’infrastructure. Une base de calcul de la topographie permettra également une carte d’analyse des risques pour recouvrir les cartes topographiques couramment utilisé dans le développement et la gestion des infrastructures.

L’outil développé évaluera la vulnérabilité des infrastructures existantes et aidera à déterminer la part du risque associée au réchauffement climatique. Puisqu'une analyse des risques inclut l'étude de la probabilité et de la conséquence d'une défaillance, les coûts socio-économiques, à la fois directs et indirects, peuvent être ajoutés à l’analyse; aidant ainsi les communautés à utiliser les ressources limitées de manière efficace.
 
 

Communications scientifiques

Brooks, H., Doré, G., Smith, S., 2018. Permafrost geotechnical index property variation and its effect of thermal conductivity calculations. Cold Regions Science and Technology, 148: 63-76. DOI: 10.1016/j.coldregions2018.01.004.

Doré, G., Niu, F., Brooks, H., 2016. Adaptation methods for transportation infrastructure built on degrading permafrost. Permafrost and Periglacial Processes, 27(4 - Special Issue: Transactions of the International Permafrost Association): 352-364. DOI: 10.1002/ppp.1919.

 
© 2018 Tous droits réservés | Adapté d'un design original de BinaryTheme.com