Home | Our members | Contact us | Français | |  

Jean-Benoît Madore

 

Ph.D. student

Department of Applied Geomatics, Université de Sherbrooke

2500, boul. de l'Université
Université de Sherbrooke
Quebec, Canada
J1K 2R1

819.821.8000 extension 62506
jean-benoit.madore@usherbrooke.ca

 

 


 
 
 

Research project

Operationalisation and developpement of a snow covert simulation plateform for avalanche risk assessment in Canada in a global warming context

Climate change and variability are causing an increase in extreme winter events occurrence, in particular rain on snow (ROS)events. This type of event, linked to abnormally warm temperatures in a normally cold weather environment, has a significant impact on the dynamic of snow cover. More precisely, the effect of these events on the distribution and dynamic of the avalanche risk in mountainous regions is poorly understood. This leads to evaluation problems by the forecasters, leading to public safety issues. An increased occurrence of these events in avalanche terrain will lead to an increase of wet avalanche problems as seen in different regions in Canada. This new threat must be considered by the different public safety authorities in a global warming context. The snow thermodynamic model SNOWPACK was developed in Switzerland to evaluate the geophysical properties of the snowpack for avalanche risk assessments. However, few research as been carried out for the avalanche risk linked to ROS, even less in a Canadian context. Detecting these events and understanding the behavior of the mountain snow covert to ROS is of the upmost importance for an appropriate avalanche risk evaluation in a warming context.

The main objective of the project is to improve the percolation scheme of SNOWPACK from an operational Canadian context. More specifically, we intend to: 1) use the high resolution instruments available with our research team to identify high density crusts and the presence of wet snow link to the ROS events; 2) validate the potential of SNOWPACK to simulate the properties affecting the snowpack stability caused by ROS (percolation scheme); 3) Evaluate the impact of ROS events on the snow stability with field measurements and SNOWPACK simulation with local weather stations; 4) Characterize the operational potential of the SNOWPACK model for avalanche risk assessment and stability with an implementation of detection and processing of the ROS events.

Our activities are focused on three different sites: the Réserver Faunique des Chic-Chocs, QC; Glacier National Park, BC and Weissfluhjoch, Davos, Switzerland. Field measurements of snow microstructure are planned at each of these sites during the three years of this project. The data will be collected from to main methods: ‘summary’ and ‘detailed’. The ‘summary’ mode will allow a rapid characterization of snow variability under ROS events while the ‘detailed’ mode will provide numerous stability test and detailed measurements of microstructure to evaluate the impact of ROS on the metamorphic processes used to predict snow stability. Each site contains one or more weather station available to run the model SNOWPACK. The geophysical properties will be simulated by the model and validated with field measurements collected during annual campaigns.

 
 

Scientific communications

Domine, F., Picard, G., Morin, S., Barrère, M., Madore, J.-B., Langlois, A., 2019. Major issues in simulating some arctic snowpack properties using current detailed snow physics models: consequences for the thermal regime and water budget of permafrost. Journal of Advances in Modeling Earth Systems, 11(1): 34-33. DOI: 10.1029/2018MS001445.

Madore, J.-B., Langlois, A., Côté, K., 2018. Evaluation of the SNOWPACK model’s metamorphism and microstructure in Canada: a case study. Physical Geography, 39(5): 406-427. DOI: 10.1080/02723646.2018.1472984.

Côté, K., Madore, J.-B., Langlois, A., 2017. Uncertainties in the SNOWPACK multilayer snow model for a Canadian avalanche context: Sensitivity to climatic forcing data. Physical Geography, 38(2): 124-142. DOI: 10.1080/02723646.2016.1277935.

 
© 2019 All rights reserved | Adapted from an original design by BinaryTheme.com

Accueil | Nos membres | Nous joindre | English | |  

Jean-Benoît Madore

 

Étudiant 3è cycle

Département de géomatique appliquée, Université de Sherbrooke

Campus de Sherbrooke
2500, boul. de l'Université
Université de Sherbrooke
Sherbrooke
Québec, Canada
J1K 2R1

819.821.8000 poste 62506
jean-benoit.madore@usherbrooke.ca

 

 


 
 
 

Projet de recherche

Opérationnalisation et développement d’une plateforme de simulations du couvert nival pour la prédiction du risque d’avalanche au Canada dans un contexte de réchauffement climatique

Les changements climatiques se traduisent par une augmentation de l’occurrence des évènements extrêmes hivernaux, en particulier la pluie-sur-neige (PSN). Ce type d’évènement, relié à une température anormalement chaude dans les climats normalement froids, a un impact significatif sur la dynamique du manteau neigeux. Spécifiquement, l’effet de ces évènements sur la distribution et la dynamique du risque d’avalanche en montagne est peu connu, mais cause à chaque année beaucoup de problèmes tant au niveau de la prédiction, qu’au niveau de la sécurité publique. Une augmentation de ces évènements en terrain avalancheux mènera à une augmentation d’avalanches mouillées tel qu’actuellement observé dans plusieurs régions au Canada. La gestion de ce risque doit donc être considérée par les instances de sécurité publique dans le contexte de réchauffement climatique. Le modèle thermodynamique de neige SNOWPACK a été développé en Suisse pour l'évaluation des propriétés géophysiques de la neige à des fins de prévention du risque d'avalanche. Cependant, peu de recherches ont été effectuées pour l’évaluation des risques reliés aux PSN, encore moins dans un contexte canadien. La détection ces évènements et le comportement du manteau neigeux aux épisodes de PSN par le modèle SNOWPACK devient donc nécessaire pour la gestion du risque d'avalanche amenée par ce phénomène.

L’objectif principal du projet de thèse est l’amélioration du schéma de percolation de SNOWPACK dans un contexte opérationnel canadien. Spécifiquement, nous voulons: 1) utiliser les instruments de haute précision disponibles dans notre groupe de recherche afin de détecter les couches de hautes densités et de neige mouillée sur le terrain avalancheux issus des PSN; 2) Valider le potentiel de SNOWPACK pour simuler les propriétés affectant la stabilité de la neige en condition de PSN (schéma de percolation); 3) Évaluer l'impact sur la stabilité du manteau neigeux en utilisant des mesures terrains ainsi que des simulations SNOWPACK conduites à l'aide de données de stations météorologiques locales et 4) Caractériser le potentiel du modèle SNOWPACK pour la prédiction du risque d'avalanche et de stabilité avec une implémentation de détection et de traitement de PSN opérationnelle.

Les activités de recherche se concentreront sur trois sites différents: dans la réserve faunique des Chics-Chocs, QC, dans le Parc National des Glaciers, BC ainsi que qu’à Weissfluhjoch, Davos, Suisse. Des mesures terrains de la microstructure sont prévues pour chacun des sites au cours des trois années du projet. Les données seront recueillies de deux façons différentes: prise de données ‘sommaire’, et ‘détaillée’. Le mode de mesure ‘sommaire’ permettra de caractériser rapidement la variabilité des couches affectées par les évènements de PSN à contrario du mode ‘détaillé’ où de nombreux tests de stabilité supplémentaires permettront d'avoir des informations précises sur la microstructure du manteau neigeux en condition de PSN. Chacun des sites contient une ou plusieurs stations météorologiques permettant l'utilisation du modèle SNOWPACK. Celui-ci sera donc utilisé pour simuler les propriétés géophysiques ainsi que la stabilité de la neige et les données recueillies lors des campagnes de terrain permettront sa validation.

 
© 2018 Tous droits réservés | Adapté d'un design original de BinaryTheme.com