Home | Our members | Contact us | Français | |  

Andréanne Beardsell

 

Ph.D. student

Department of biology, chemistry and geography, UQAR

Des Ursulines Building
300 Allée des Ursulines
UQAR
Quebec, Canada
G5L 3A1

418.723.1986 extension 1566
Andreanne.Beardsell@uqar.ca

 

http://132.203.57.253:8080/donneesweb/document/image/perso_3535.jpg

 


 
 
 

Research project

Predator-mediated effects of herbivores on tundra nesting insectivorous birds

Global changes, particularly pronounced in the Arctic, threaten biodiversity and transform Arctic terrestrial communities. One of these transformations, observed at the circumpolar scale, is the explosion of geese populations. As geese reach record population levels, lemming cycles are fading in several parts of the Arctic and shorebird populations are experiencing marked declines at the circumpolar scale. Geese, lemmings and shorebirds share common predators and are therefore closely linked through indirect trophic interactions. Shared predation can affect species abundance and coexistence at the community level through a variety of indirect effects (e.g. apparent mutualism, apparent competition). Despite a large number of studies on trophic interactions involving shorebirds, predator-mediated effects of herbivores on shorebirds remain poorly understood. By adopting a multi-sites approach combined with long-term ecosystem monitoring, this thesis addresses predator-prey interactions and their potential indirect impact on shorebirds experiencing significant population declines. The main objective of my project is to determine the role of indirect trophic interactions on Arctic shorebirds. Specifically, we aim to i) determine predation thresholds that shorebird populations can support using population models, ii) define the nature of indirect interactions involving shorebirds by using empirically-based models and iii), investigate how changes in lemmings and geese population dynamics affect shorebirds demography. This project combines a theoretical and empirical approach in collaboration with researchers working in various sites at a circumpolar scale (Canada, United States, Norway, Russia and Greenland). This project also relies on long-term ecosystem monitoring datas (> 25 years) from Bylot Island (73 ° N, 79 ° W, NU). Understanding indirect interactions is necessary to maintain the ecological integrity of protected ecosystems and to preserve Arctic biodiversity. How species interact have fascinated and continue to generate great interest among the scientific community and the relative simplicity of the Arctic vertebrate community provides an ideal theoretical framework to address these questions.
 
 

Scientific communications

Beardsell, A., Gauthier, G., Fortier, D., Therrien, J.-F., Bêty, J., 2017. Vulnerability to geomorphological hazards of an arctic cliff-nesting raptor, the rough-legged hawk. Arctic Science, 3(2): 203-219. DOI: 10.1139/AS-2016-0025.

Therrien, J.-F., Lecomte, N., Zgirski, T., Jaffré, M., Beardsell, A., Goodrich, L.J., Bêty, J., Franke, A., Zlonis, E., Bildstein, K.L., 2017. Long-term phenological shifts in migration and breeding-area residency in eastern North American raptors. The Auk: Ornithological Advances, 134: 871-881. DOI: 10.1642/AUK-17-5.1.

Beardsell, A., Gauthier, G., Therrien, J.-F., Bêty, J., 2016. Nest site characteristics, patterns of nest reuse, and reproductive output in an Arctic-nesting raptor, the Rough-legged Hawk. The Auk: Ornithological Advances, 133(4): 718-732. DOI: 10.1642/AUK-16-54.1.

 
© 2019 All rights reserved | Adapted from an original design by BinaryTheme.com

Accueil | Nos membres | Nous joindre | English | |  

Andréanne Beardsell

 

Étudiante 3è cycle

Département de biologie, chimie et géographie, UQAR

Campus de Rimouski
300 Allée des Ursulines
UQAR
Rimouski
Québec, Canada
G5L 3A1

418.723.1986 poste 1566
Andreanne.Beardsell@uqar.ca

 

http://132.203.57.253:8080/donneesweb/document/image/perso_3535.jpg

 


 
 
 

Projet de recherche

Effets des interactions trophiques indirectes sur les oiseaux insectivores de l'Arctique

Les changements globaux, particulièrement prononcés en Arctique, menacent la biodiversité et transforment les communautés terrestres arctiques. Une de ces transformations, observées à l’échelle circumpolaire, est l’explosion démographique des populations d’oies. Alors que les oies atteignent des niveaux de populations record, les cycles de population de lemmings s’affaissent dans plusieurs régions de l’Arctique et les populations d’oiseaux de rivage, appelés aussi limicoles, connaissent des déclins marqués à l’échelle circumpolaire. Ces changements dans les populations d'oies et de lemmings sont susceptibles de contribuer au déclin des limicoles via la prédation. En effet, les oies, les lemmings et les limicoles partagent des prédateurs communs et sont ainsi étroitement interconnectés par l’entremise de relations trophiques indirectes. Ces interactions prennent différentes formes (p.ex.: mutualisme apparent, compétition apparente) et peuvent influencer l’abondance, l’assemblage et la coexistence des espèces à l’échelle des communautés. En dépit d'un nombre élevé d'études ayant porté sur les interactions trophiques impliquant les limicoles, la nature des interactions reliant ces espèces demeure mal comprise. En combinant une approche théorique et empirique, cette thèse aborde les interactions prédateurs-proies et leur impact indirect potentiel sur des espèces à statut précaire comme les limicoles. L’objectif principal de ce projet est de déterminer le rôle des interactions trophiques indirectes sur les limicoles de l’Arctique. Spécifiquement, nous proposons de i) déterminer des seuils de taux de prédation permettant le maintien des populations de limicoles, de ii) définir la nature des interactions indirectes impliquant les limicoles à l'aide de modèles paramétriques et iii) de simuler, à partir des modèles développés en i) et ii), l'effet de changements dans les populations de lemmings et de oies sur les populations de limicoles. Cette problématique sera abordée en collaboration avec des chercheurs travaillant sur plusieurs sites à l’échelle circumpolaire (Canada, États-Unis, Norvège, Russie et Groenland). Ce projet est également basé sur des données issues du suivi écosystémique à long terme (> 25 ans) de l'île Bylot (73°N, 79°W; NU). Une meilleure compréhension du rôle des interactions indirectes est nécessaire pour le maintient de l’intégrité écologique des écosystèmes protégés et la gestion de la biodiversité arctique. De plus, les interactions prédateurs-proies continuent de générer un grand intérêt auprès des scientifiques et la simplicité du réseau trophique terrestre arctique offre un cadre théorique idéal pour l'étude des interactions indirectes en milieu naturel.
 
 

Communications scientifiques

Beardsell, A., Gauthier, G., Fortier, D., Therrien, J.-F., Bêty, J., 2017. Vulnerability to geomorphological hazards of an arctic cliff-nesting raptor, the rough-legged hawk. Arctic Science, 3(2): 203-219. DOI: 10.1139/AS-2016-0025.

Beardsell, A., Gauthier, G., Therrien, J.-F., Bêty, J., 2016. Nest site characteristics, patterns of nest reuse, and reproductive output in an Arctic-nesting raptor, the Rough-legged Hawk. Auk, 133(4): 718-732. DOI: 10.1642/AUK-16-54.1.

 
© 2018 Tous droits réservés | Adapté d'un design original de BinaryTheme.com