Home | Our members | Contact us | Français | |  

Catherine Girard

 

Postdoctoral fellow

Department of Biochemistry, Microbiology and Bioinformatics, Université Laval

Charles-Eugène-Marchand Building
1030 avenue de la Médecine
Université Laval
Quebec, Canada
G1V 0A6

4186562131 extension 4863
catherine.girard.15@ulaval.ca

 

http://132.203.57.253:8080/donneesweb/document/image/perso_3387.jpg

 


 
 
 

Research project

Aerosol viruses release from the melting cryosphere: sentinel microorganisms for a changing Arctic

Viruses play a major role in controlling biodiversity and ecology of aquatic microbial communities. They control their hosts’ evolution by allowing genetic exchange, induce significant mortality in the prokaryotic biomass, and control ecosystem’s productivity by redirecting carbon into the microbial loop.

The arctic cryosphere is a reservoir for such viruses. Indeed, glaciers and permafrost, with their freeze-thaw cycles, can release viral particles that have been trapped in ice for thousands of years, recycling their genomes into modern environments. These viruses can be released into the atmosphere and recolonize aquatic ecosystems of the arctic landscape or include pathogens that could impact human health in the North. Climate change has accelerated permafrost and glacier thawing, increasing humidity and leading to greater aerosolization from water, which could increase the amount of viruses in the air and their potential dispersion in the landscape.

The “aerosol virome”, the atmospheric viral community, has long been studied in hospitals, as it can influence transmission of infectious diseases. However, few studies have focused on environmental aerosol viromes, and none have explored viruses that can be released into the atmosphere from thawing glaciers and permafrost. This is of major importance in ecology, as this recycling of newly released viral genomes could allow for a new colonization of the Arctic. This could have consequences on human health in the North, and on ecosystem productivity and nutrient transfer.

The goal of this project is to describe for the first time environmental viral aerosols in the North, and to determine how the thawing of the cryosphere contributes to the release and dispersion of viruses across the landscape. By comparing sites with different levels of hydrological connectivity and anthropic influence (Thores Lake, Ward Hunt Island, Resolute Bay), I investigate the following questions:

  1. What is the diversity of viral aerosols in the North? This is an important question, as the diversity of viruses in the ocean and glaciers of the Arctic is poorly known, and newly viruses newly exposed by climate change may impact contemporary ecosystems or human health.
  2. How are these viruses dispersed in the Arctic? This will provide information on these viruses’ potential to colonize the North.
  3. Can these viruses and their microbial hosts be used as sentinels of change in the North?
 
 

Scientific communications

Girard, C., Charette, T., Leclerc, M., Shapiro, B.J., Amyot, M., 2018. Cooking and co-ingested polyphenols reduce in vitro methylmercury bioaccessibility from fish and may alter exposure in humans. Science of the Total Environment, 616-617: 863-874. DOI: 10.1016/j.scitotenv.2017.10.236.

Dubois, G., Girard, C., Lapointe, F.-J., Shapiro, B.J., 2017.

. Microbiome, 5(151). DOI: 10.1186/s40168-017-0370-7.

Girard, C., Tromas, N., Amyot, M., Shapiro, B.J., 2017. Gut microbiome of the Canadian Arctic Inuit. mSphere, 2(1): e00297-16. DOI: 10.1128/mSphere.00297-16.

Girard, C., Leclerc, M., Amyot, M., 2016. Photodemethylation of methylmercury in eastern canadian arctic thaw pond and lake ecosystems. Environmental Science & Technology, 50(7): 3511-3520. DOI: 10.1021/acs.est.5b04921.

Braune, B., Chételat, J., Amyot, M., Brown, T., Clayden, M., Evans, M., Fisk, A., Gaden, A., Girard, C., Hare, A., Kirk, J., Lehnherr, I., Letcher, R., Loseto, L., Macdonald, R., Mann, E., McMeans, B., Muir, D., ONullDriscoll, N., Poulain, A.J., Reimer, K., Stern, G., 2015. Mercury in the marine environment of the Canadian Arctic: Review of recent findings. Science of the Total Environment, 509-510(Special Issue: Mercury in Canada's North): 67-90. DOI: 10.1016/j.scitotenv.2014.05.133.

Chételat, J., Amyot, M., Arp, P., Blais, J.M., Depew, D., Emmerton, C.A., Evans, M., Gamberg, M., Gantner, N., Girard, C., Graydon, J., Kirk, J., Lean, D., Lehnherr, I., Muir, D., Nasr, M., Poulain, A.J., Power, M., Roach, P., Stern, G., Swanson, H., van der Velden, S., 2015. Mercury in freshwater ecosystems of the Canadian Arctic: Recent advances on its cycling and fate. Science of the Total Environment, 509-510(Special Issue: Mercury in Canada's North): 41-66. DOI: 10.1016/j.scitotenv.2014.05.151.

MacMillan, G.A., Girard, C., Chételat, J., Laurion, I., Amyot, M., 2015. High methylmercury in arctic and subarctic ponds is related to nutrient levels in the warming Eastern Canadian Arctic. Environmental Science & Technology, 49(13): 7743-7753. DOI: 10.1021/acs.est.5b00763.

 
© 2018 All rights reserved | Adapted from an original design by BinaryTheme.com

Accueil | Nos membres | Nous joindre | English | |  

Catherine Girard

 

Chercheure post-doctorale

Département de biochimie, microbiologie et bio-informatique, Université Laval

Pavillon Charles-Eugène-Marchand
1030 avenue de la Médecine
Université Laval
Québec
Québec, Canada
G1V 0A6

4186562131 poste 4863
catherine.girard.15@ulaval.ca

 

http://132.203.57.253:8080/donneesweb/document/image/perso_3387.jpg

 


 
 
 

Projet de recherche

Virus aérosols libérés de la cryosphère en fonte : des microorganismes sentinelles du changement dans le Nord

Les virus jouent un rôle majeur dans le maintien de la biodiversité et de la structure des communautés microbiennes aquatiques. Ils dirigent l’évolution de leurs hôtes en permettant les échanges génétiques, induisent une mortalité importante de la biomasse procaryote, et contrôlent la productivité des écosystèmes en redirigeant le carbone vers la boucle microbienne.

La cryosphère arctique représente un véritable réservoir pour les virus. En effet, les glaciers et le pergélisol, avec leurs cycles de fonte, peuvent libérer des particules virales vieilles de plusieurs milliers d’années, permettant de recycler leurs génomes vers l’environnement. Ces virus pourraient être libérés vers l’atmosphère et recoloniser les milieux aquatiques du paysage arctique, ou encore inclure des pathogènes qui pourraient causer des problèmes de santé chez les communautés humaines du Nord. Les changements climatiques ont grandement accéléré la fonte des glaciers et du pergélisol, menant à une augmentation de l’humidité et à une plus grande aérosolisation à partir des surfaces d’eau, pouvant augmenter le nombre de virus dans l’air et leur potentiel de dispersion dans le paysage.

Le « virome aérosol », la communauté virale atmosphérique, est depuis longtemps étudiée en milieu hospitalier, ayant une importance capitale dans la transmission de maladies infectieuses. Toutefois, peu d’études se sont penchées sur le virome d’aérosol environnementaux, et aucune n’a étudié les virus qui peuvent être libérés vers l’atmosphère par la fonte de glaciers et de pergélisol. Cette question est pourtant d’une importance-clé en écologie, car ce recyclage de génomes viraux nouvellement exposés pourrait permettre une nouvelle colonisation de l’environnement arctique. Ceci pourrait avoir des conséquences sur la santé des humains dans le Nord ainsi que sur la productivité et le transfert de nutriments dans les écosystèmes aquatiques.

Le but de ce projet est de caractériser le virome d’aérosols environnementaux et pathogènes du Nord, et de déterminer comment la fonte de la cryosphère contribue à la relâche de virus vers l’atmosphère et à leur distribution dans le paysage. En comparant des sites de différents niveaux de connectivité hydrologique et d’influence anthropique (Thores Lake, Ward Hunt Island, Resolute Bay), je m’attarde aux questions suivantes :

1. Quelle est la diversité des viromes aérosols dans le Nord ? Cette question est importante, étant donné que la diversité virale des océans, des glaciers et de l’Arctique est peu connue, et que ces viromes nouvellement exposés par les changements climatiques pourraient contenir des composantes néfastes à la santé des humains et des écosystèmes aquatiques nordiques.

2. Comment ces virus se dispersent-ils dans l’environnement arctique ? Ceci fournira des informations sur le potentiel de colonisation de ces particules virales dans le paysage nordique.

3. Ces viromes et les microbiomes associés peuvent-ils servir de sentinelles de changements dans le Nord?

 
 

Communications scientifiques

Girard, C., Charette, T., Leclerc, M., Shapiro, B.J., Amyot, M., 2018. Cooking and co-ingested polyphenols reduce in vitro methylmercury bioaccessibility from fish and may alter exposure in humans. Science of the Total Environment, 616-617: 863-874. DOI: 10.1016/j.scitotenv.2017.10.236.

Dubois, G., Girard, C., Lapointe, F.-J., Shapiro, B.J., 2017.

. Microbiome, 5(151). DOI: 10.1186/s40168-017-0370-7.

Girard, C., Tromas, N., Amyot, M., Shapiro, B.J., 2017. Gut microbiome of the Canadian Arctic Inuit. mSphere, 2(1): e00297-16. DOI: 10.1128/mSphere.00297-16.

Girard, C., Leclerc, M., Amyot, M., 2016. Photodemethylation of methylmercury in eastern canadian arctic thaw pond and lake ecosystems. Environmental Science & Technology, 50(7): 3511-3520. DOI: 10.1021/acs.est.5b04921.

Braune, B., Chételat, J., Amyot, M., Brown, T., Clayden, M., Evans, M., Fisk, A., Gaden, A., Girard, C., Hare, A., Kirk, J., Lehnherr, I., Letcher, R., Loseto, L., Macdonald, R., Mann, E., McMeans, B., Muir, D., ONullDriscoll, N., Poulain, A.J., Reimer, K., Stern, G., 2015. Mercury in the marine environment of the Canadian Arctic: Review of recent findings. Science of the Total Environment, 509-510(Special Issue: Mercury in Canada's North): 67-90. DOI: 10.1016/j.scitotenv.2014.05.133.

Chételat, J., Amyot, M., Arp, P., Blais, J.M., Depew, D., Emmerton, C.A., Evans, M., Gamberg, M., Gantner, N., Girard, C., Graydon, J., Kirk, J., Lean, D., Lehnherr, I., Muir, D., Nasr, M., Poulain, A.J., Power, M., Roach, P., Stern, G., Swanson, H., van der Velden, S., 2015. Mercury in freshwater ecosystems of the Canadian Arctic: Recent advances on its cycling and fate. Science of the Total Environment, 509-510(Special Issue: Mercury in Canada's North): 41-66. DOI: 10.1016/j.scitotenv.2014.05.151.

MacMillan, G.A., Girard, C., Chételat, J., Laurion, I., Amyot, M., 2015. High methylmercury in arctic and subarctic ponds is related to nutrient levels in the warming Eastern Canadian Arctic. Environmental Science & Technology, 49(13): 7743-7753. DOI: 10.1021/acs.est.5b00763.

 
© 2018 Tous droits réservés | Adapté d'un design original de BinaryTheme.com