Home | Our members | Contact us | Français | |  

Paschale N. Bégin

 

Ph.D. student

Department of Biology, Université Laval

Alexandre-Vachon Building
1045 avenue de la Médecine
Université Laval
Quebec, Canada
G1V 0A6

418.656.2131 extension 8153
paschale-noel.begin.1@ulaval.ca

 

 


 
 
 

Research project

Ecological gradients in the littoral zone of High Arctic lakes

Arctic lakes possess the unique characteristic of being covered by a thick layer of ice for most of the year. In summer, the increased heat input results in thinning of this ice and melting of the margins, which opens up the littoral zone. Global warming observed over the last few decades could potentially intensify the thinning and contraction of the surface area of the lake ice. Hence, the littoral zone would benefit from increased availability of solar energy, resulting in enhanced productivity and greater interactions with the atmosphere.

The littoral zones of lakes in subarctic, temperate and tropical regions are defined by the presence of macrophytes and periphyton. However, High Arctic lakes contain few macroscopic plants, mainly mosses that persist to the bottom of the lake (Sand-Jensen et al. 1999). The objective of my thesis is to identify criteria that can be used to define the littoral zone of Arctic lakes and to evaluate the influence of the loss of the ice cover on the littoral food web dynamics and their interactions with the offshore, pelagic zone. My central hypothesis is that the transition from the littoral zone to the pelagic zone is characterized by an abrupt change in limnological properties (e.g., underwater light, temperature structure, dissolved oxygen, chlorophyll concentrations) where the ice cover ends. Thus, the benthic microbial food web in the littoral zone would have a markedly different structure than the benthic microbial food web in the pelagic zone of the lake. I also will test the hypothesis that loss of ice cover will stimulate the production of microbial mats and mosses of the bottom of the lake due to an increase in photosynthetically available radiation, and that an increase in ultraviolet radiation exposure will modify the quality of dissolved organic carbon quality that is released in the water column.

This research will take place on two High Arctic lakes. Ward Hunt Lake (85°05’N, 74°10’W) experienced a massive reduction of its ice cover thickness and area over the past few years after more than 50 years of stability, and completely lost its ice cover during the summers of 2011 and 2012 (Paquette et al. 2015). My research will focus on this lake as an excellent model to study the benthic zone and its relation with ice cover variations, with comparative analyses of the much deeper Lake A on northern Ellesmere Island (Comeau et al. 2012). I will apply a broad range of methods including satellite image analysis, physico-chemical profiling, sediment sampling, and plankton, pigment, lipid and stable isotope analysis, with the aim to develop an integrative, conceptual model of the littoral zone in Arctic lakes.

References: Comeau A. et al., 2012. Scientific Reports, 2:604; Paquette M. et al., 2015. Geophys. Res. Lett.. 42:1433-1440; Sand-Jensen K. et al. 1999. Can. J. Fish. Aquat. Sci. 56:388-393.

 
 

Scientific communications

Bégin, P.N., Lebedeva, L., Tashyreva, D., Velazquez, D., Blaen, P.J., 2017. Future priorities for Arctic freshwater science from the perspective of early career researchers. Arctic Science, 3(4): 661-671. DOI: 10.1139/AS-2016-0028.

Bégin, P.N., Vincent, W.F., 2017. Permafrost thaw lakes and ponds as habitats for abundant rotifer populations. Arctic Science, 3(2): 354-377. DOI: 10.1139/as-2016-0017.

 
© 2019 All rights reserved | Adapted from an original design by BinaryTheme.com

Accueil | Nos membres | Nous joindre | English | |  

Paschale N. Bégin

 

Étudiante 3è cycle

Département de biologie, Université Laval

Pavillon Alexandre-Vachon
1045 avenue de la Médecine
Université Laval
Québec
Québec, Canada
G1V 0A6

418.656.2131 poste 8153
paschale-noel.begin.1@ulaval.ca

 

 


 
 
 

Projet de recherche

Gradients écologiques dans la zone littorale des lacs du Haut Arctique

Les lacs arctiques possèdent la caractéristique unique d’être couverts d’une épaisse couche de glace pour la majorité de l’année. En période estivale, les plus grands apports en énergie thermique contribuent à la diminution de l’épaisseur de cette glace ainsi qu’à la fonte des marges qui libèrent la zone littorale. Le réchauffement climatique observé à l’échelle planétaire depuis les dernières décennies pourrait accentuer la diminution de l’épaisseur et de la superficie du couvert de glace. La zone littorale profiterait ainsi d’une plus grande disponibilité énergie solaire, ce qui aurait pour effet de stimuler sa productivité et d’augmenter les interactions avec l’atmosphère.

Les zones littorales des lacs des régions subarctiques, tempérées et tropicales se définissent par la présence de macrophytes et de périphyton. Par contre, les lacs du Haut Arctique contiennent peu de plantes macroscopiques, principalement des mousses qui persistent jusqu’au fond du lac (Sand-Jensen et al. 1999). L’objectif de mon projet de doctorat est donc d’identifier des critères qui peuvent définir la zone littorale d’un lac arctique ainsi que d’évaluer l’influence de la perte du couvert de glace sur la dynamique du réseau alimentaire de la zone littorale et son interaction avec le large (zone pélagique). Mon hypothèse centrale est que la transition entre la zone littorale et la zone pélagique est caractérisée par un changement abrupt des propriétés limnologiques (p. ex.: lumière pénétrant dans l’eau, température, oxygène dissous, concentration de chlorophylle) à l’endroit où le couvert de glace se termine. Ainsi, le réseau alimentaire microbien benthique de la zone littorale aurait une structure sensiblement différente que celle de la zone pélagique. Je vais aussi tester l’hypothèse qu’une perte du couvert de glace stimulera la production des tapis microbiens et mousses du fond par une augmentation de la disponibilité de la radiation disponible pour la photosynthèse (PAR) et que l’augmentation de l’exposition au rayonnement ultraviolet altèrera la qualité du carbone organique dissous qui est relâché du benthos vers la colonne d’eau.

Ce projet de recherche sera effectué sur deux lacs du Haut Arctique. Le lac Ward Hunt (85°05’N, 74°10’O) a connu une diminution massive de l’épaisseur et la superficie de son couvert de glace au cours des dernières années, après plus de 50 ans de stabilité (Paquette et al. 2015). Mon projet se concentrera sur ce lac qui représente un excellent modèle pour y étudier la zone benthique en relation avec les variations du couvert de glace, en complétant avec des analyses comparatives du lac A, plus profond, situé sur la pointe nord de l’île d’Ellesmere (Comeau et al. 2012). J’appliquerai une large gamme de méthodes incluant l’analyse d’image satellite, le profilage physico-chimique, l’échantillonnage de sédiments, ainsi que l’analyse du plancton, des pigments, des lipides et des isotopes stables, avec pour objectif de développer un modèle intégratif et conceptuel de la zone littorale des lacs arctiques.

Références: Comeau A. et al., 2012. Scientific Reports, 2:604; Paquette M. et al., 2015. Geophys. Res. Lett.. 42:1433-1440; Sand-Jensen K. et al. 1999. Can. J. Fish. Aquat. Sci. 56:388-393.

 
 

Communications scientifiques

Bégin, P.N., Lebedeva, L., Tashyreva, D., Velazquez, D., Blaen, P.J., 2017. Future priorities for Arctic freshwater science from the perspective of early career researchers. Arctic Science, 3(4): 661-671. DOI: 10.1139/AS-2016-0028.

Bégin, P.N., Vincent, W.F., 2017. Permafrost thaw lakes and ponds as habitats for abundant rotifer populations. Arctic Science, 3(2): 354-377. DOI: 10.1139/as-2016-0017.

 
© 2018 Tous droits réservés | Adapté d'un design original de BinaryTheme.com