Home | Our members | Contact us | Français | |  

Frédéric Lesmerises

 

Ph.D. student

Department of biology, chemistry and geography, UQAR

Des Ursulines Building
300 Allée des Ursulines
Quebec, Canada
G5L 3A1

418.723.1986 extension 1867
frederic.lesmerises@uqar.ca

 

http://132.203.57.253:8080/donneesweb/document/image/perso_3215.jpg

 


 
 
 

Research project

Effects of spatiotemporal heterogeneous landscape and individual characteristics on behavioural, distribution, population, and evolutionary ecology of gaspésie caribou (Rangifer tarandus caribou)

Resources available for animals are not homogeneously distributed. For a given species, a patchy environment can be defined as the perception of landscape discontinuities of its different resources where this structure is dynamic and naturally evolves over time with vegetation succession, climatic variation, and recently with anthropogenic disturbances. The niche theory states that a species can persist only if the abiotic and biotic characteristics, such as climate, vegetation, competition, predation, and parasitism, allow a positive population growth rate. However, humans have greatly modified natural landscapes. Roads, forest industries, mines, and urbanization are some threats that animals have to cope with in addition to natural constraints. By studying the behaviour and distribution of individuals we can understand and explain this compromise between the species’ environmental requirements and human caused constraints. Although many studies addressed this issue, there still is a lack of knowledge about the importance of individual variability and social interactions on animal distribution in a disturbed landscape. Thus, my thesis will focus on the effects of heterogeneous landscapes on individual and social behaviour and their implications for distribution, population and evolutionary ecology. Woodland caribou (Rangifer tarandus caribou) from the Atlantic-Gaspésie herds will serve as the model populations to address these general ecological questions. The biology and ecology of this sub-species is well understood and woodland caribou are known to be sensitive to anthropogenic disturbance and landscape change. Specifically, I will assess the influence of intrinsic (i.e., sex, reproductive status, and dominance) and extrinsic (i.e., season, predation risk, and patch quality) factors on caribou behaviour, especially the antipredator strategy and grouping dynamic. I will also assess interindividual and spatiotemporal variability in habitat selection by caribou and link this variability to intrinsic and contextual factors. At a larger scale, I will assess the impacts of intrinsic factors on survival. Finally, I will assess the relevance of ecotype classification considering only behavioural differences, making comparisons across other herds of woodland caribou found in similar environments. I will also assess if the space use strategies of those herds, relative to general ecological traits, are maladaptive in the context of changing human and predator influence. For this project, I expect to capture a total of 44 adult caribou (22M; 22F), proportionally distributed amongst three subpopulations (i.e., McGerrigle – Vallières , Albert and Logan ) and fit them with GPS collars programmed to acquire locations every 2 hours. These data will be coupled with behavioural observations in situ and vegetation and predator surveys that will be conducted during the two next summers.

 
 

Scientific communications

Lesmerises, F., Déry, F., Johnson, C.J., St-Laurent, M.-H., 2018. Spatiotemporal response of mountain caribou to the intensity of backcountry skiing. Biological Conservation, 217: 149-156. DOI: 10.1016/j.biocon.2017.10.030.

Lesmerises, F., Johnson, C.J., St-Laurent, M.-H., 2018. Landscape knowledge is an important driver of the fission dynamics of an alpine ungulate. Animal Behaviour, 140: 39-47. DOI: 10.1016/j.anbehav.2018.03.014.

Lesmerises, F., Johnsons, C.J., St-Laurent, M.-H., 2017. Refuge or predation risk? Alternate ways to perceive hiker disturbance based on maternal state of female caribou. Ecology and Evolution, 7(3): 845-854. DOI: 10.1002/ece3.2672.

Lesmerises, F., Dussault, C., St-Laurent, M.-H., 2013. Major roadwork impacts the space use behaviour of gray wolf. Landscape and Urban Planning, 112: 18-25. DOI: 10.1016/j.landurbplan.2012.12.011.

Lesmerises, F., Dussault, C., St-Laurent, M.-H., 2012. Réponses du loup gris au réseau routier et à la présence d'un important chantier de construction. Le Naturaliste Canadien, 136(2): 29-34.

Lesmerises, F., Dussault, C., St-Laurent, M.-H., 2012. Wolf habitat selection is shaped by human activities in a highly managed boreal forest. Forest Ecology and Management, 276: 127-138. DOI: 10.1016/j.foreco.2012.03.025.

 
© 2019 All rights reserved | Adapted from an original design by BinaryTheme.com

Accueil | Nos membres | Nous joindre | English | |  

Frédéric Lesmerises

 

Étudiant 3è cycle

Département de biologie, chimie et géographie, UQAR

Campus de Rimouski
300 Allée des Ursulines
Rimouski
Québec, Canada
G5L 3A1

418.723.1986 poste 1867
frederic.lesmerises@uqar.ca

 

http://132.203.57.253:8080/donneesweb/document/image/perso_3215.jpg

 


 
 
 

Projet de recherche

Effets de l´hétérogénéité du paysage et de la variabilité interindividuelle sur le comportement, la distribution, la survie et l´évolution du caribou de la Gaspésie (Rangifer tarandus caribou)

Les ressources disponibles pour les espèces fauniques ne sont pas distribuées de façon homogène. Pour une espèce donnée, un paysage hétérogène peut être défini comme la perception de discontinuités des différentes ressources nécessaires à sa survie. Cette structure est dynamique et évolue naturellement par le biais de processus tels que la succession végétale, les variations climatiques et plus récemment par la main de l’homme. La théorie de la niche écologique spécifie qu’une espèce peut survivre et persister dans un paysage seulement si les caractéristiques biotiques et abiotiques permettent une croissance de la population. Cependant, les humains ont grandement modifié les paysages naturels. Les routes, l’exploitation forestière et minière ainsi que l’urbanisation sont de très bons exemples de perturbations anthropiques auxquelles les espèces fauniques doivent faire face en plus des contraintes naturelles. En étudiant le comportement et la distribution des individus d’une même espèce, nous pouvons comprendre et expliquer le compromis entre les besoins environnementaux intrinsèques à l’espèce et les contraintes d’origine anthropique. Bien que plusieurs études se soient attardées à cette problématique, peu d’études ont intégré la variabilité interindividuelle et les interactions sociales au sein d´une population, malgré leurs impacts majeurs sur le comportement des individus. Ma thèse visera à combler ce manque en étudiant les effets de l’hétérogénéité du paysage sur le comportement individuel et social, et leurs implications sur la distribution et l’écologie de la population. J’utiliserai le caribou de la Gaspésie (Rangifer tarandus caribou) comme modèle biologique pour répondre à ces différents objectifs, puisqu’il est reconnu pour être sensible aux perturbations de son milieu. Plus spécifiquement, j’évaluerai l’influence des facteurs intrinsèques (i.e., sexe, statut reproducteur et dominance) et extrinsèques (i.e., saison, risque de prédation et qualité du milieu) sur le comportement du caribou, particulièrement sur la stratégie antiprédatrice et la dynamique des groupes sociaux. Je considérerai également la variabilité interindividuelle et spatiotemporelle dans la sélection d’habitat du caribou dans le but de lier cette variabilité aux facteurs intrinsèques et extrinsèques. J’évaluerai également les impacts des facteurs intrinsèques sur la survie des faons. Puis, je revisiterai le concept d’écotype en considérant seulement les différences comportementales et en comparant différentes hardes de caribou des bois retrouvées dans des habitats similaires. Pour le projet, un total de 44 caribous adultes (22M et 22F), proportionnellement distribués parmi les trois sous-populations (i.e. McGerrigle-Vallières, Albert et Logan ), seront capturés et équipés de colliers GPS programmés pour acquérir une localisation à chaque 2 heures. Ces données télémétriques seront couplées aux observations comportementales in situ, aux inventaires de végétation et aux indices de fréquentation du parc par les prédateurs et les touristes, réalisées durant les deux premiers étés du projet.

 
 

Communications scientifiques

Lesmerises, F., Déry, F., Johnson, C.J., St-Laurent, M.-H., 2018. Spatiotemporal response of mountain caribou to the intensity of backcountry skiing. Biological Conservation, 217: 149-156. DOI: 10.1016/j.biocon.2017.10.030.

Lesmerises, F., Johnson, C.J., St-Laurent, M.-H., 2018. Landscape knowledge is an important driver of the fission dynamics of an alpine ungulate. Animal Behaviour, 140: 39-47. DOI: 10.1016/j.anbehav.2018.03.014.

Lesmerises, F., Dussault, C., St-Laurent, M.-H., 2013. Major roadwork impacts the space use behaviour of gray wolf. Landscape and Urban Planning, 112: 18-25. DOI: 10.1016/j.landurbplan.2012.12.011.

Lesmerises, F., Dussault, C., St-Laurent, M.-H., 2012. Réponses du loup gris au réseau routier et à la présence d'un important chantier de construction. Le Naturaliste Canadien, 136(2): 29-34.

Lesmerises, F., Dussault, C., St-Laurent, M.-H., 2012. Wolf habitat selection is shaped by human activities in a highly managed boreal forest. Forest Ecology and Management, 276: 127-138. DOI: 10.1016/j.foreco.2012.03.025.

 
© 2018 Tous droits réservés | Adapté d'un design original de BinaryTheme.com