Home | Our members | Contact us | Français | |  

Julie Malenfant Lepage

 

Ph.D. student

Department of Civil Engineering and Water Engineering, Université Laval

Adrien-Pouliot Building
1065 avenue de la Médecine
Université Laval
Quebec, Canada
G1V 0A6

418.656.2131 extension 4876
julie.malenfant-lepage.1@ulaval.ca

 

 


 
 
 

Research project

Development of a methodology for the design of low-impact drainage systems along transportation infrastructure in permafrost environments

One of the main causes of embankment degradation in northern Canada is the heat transferred by surface runoff and groundwater under the transportation infrastructures. Observations of events causing the rapid degradation of northern infrastructure (i.e. airstrips, roads and building foundations) suggest that liquid water transport and its effects have been significantly underestimated in recent years in permafrost science and engineering (ADAPT, 2012). These problems are likely to reduce structural and functional capacity of the road and even lead to embankment failure in some cases. It is therefore important to study and understand the influence of water on transportation infrastructures and to develop new engineering practices relating to water management.

This research project intends to develop practical methods to calculate the quantity of heat transferred through convective surface and sub-surface water flows in the design of a drainage system. In particular, a method to assess the maximum quantity of water that can be concentrated in one channel (i.e. culvert) in order to control heat transfer to permafrost and erosion of soils will be developed. The approach will lead to the optimal number of crossings (culvert) to consider for a given structure, the thermal design of these crossings as well as the need and the design of an appropriate flow diffusion system downstream from the structure.

In order to do this, the objectives to achieve are the following: 1) Improve the knowledge of surface water and groundwater flow and its influence on the performance of pavements built on a sensitive permafrost; 2) Develop new strategies for construction and maintenance to mitigate the problems of permafrost degradation resulting from water flow; 3) Develop a geophysical method that will enable the detection of groundwater flow under the road networks and; 4) Conduct a feasibility study and cost-benefit analysis of new techniques developed.

The project also involves soil temperature profile logging as a function of water flow, heat flux measurements, thermal modelling and small scale laboratory testing. Field work will be done at several sites: along the access road in Salluit, along the access road in Ilulissat in Greenland and along the Alaska Highway in the Yukon close to the community of Beaver Creek.

 
 

Scientific communications

Fritz, M., Deshpande, B., Bouchard, F., Högström, E., Malenfant Lepage, J., Morgenstern, A., Nieuwendam, A., Oliva, M., Paquette, M., Rudy, A.C.A., Siewert, M.B., Sjöberg, Y., Weege, S., 2015. Brief Communication: Future avenues for permafrost science from the perspective of early career researchers. The Cryosphere, 9: 1715–1720. DOI: 10.5194/tc-9-1715-2015.

 
© 2018 All rights reserved | Adapted from an original design by BinaryTheme.com

Accueil | Nos membres | Nous joindre | English | |  

Julie Malenfant Lepage

 

Étudiante 3è cycle

Département de génie civil et de génie des eaux, Université Laval

Pavillon Adrien-Pouliot
1065 avenue de la Médecine
Université Laval
Québec
Québec, Canada
G1V 0A6

418.656.2131 poste 4876
julie.malenfant-lepage.1@ulaval.ca

 

 


 
 
 

Projet de recherche

Gestion des eaux de surface et souterraines pour les infrastructures de transport en milieux pergélisolés

La construction et l’entretien des routes, aéroports et chemins de fer en condition de pergélisol sont des défis d’ingénierie majeurs. Une des causes principales de la dégradation des remblais dans le nord du Canada est la chaleur transférée aux remblais et au sol d’infrastructure par le ruissellement de surface et par les eaux souterraines. Les observations d’événements provoquant la dégradation accélérée des infrastructures nordiques (ex: pistes d'atterrissages, routes et fondations des bâtiments) suggèrent que l'eau liquide et ses effets de transport ont été grandement sous-estimés au cours des dernières années dans la science et l’ingénierie du pergélisol (ADAPT, 2012). Ces problèmes sont susceptibles de réduire les capacités structurelles et fonctionnelles de la route et même d’entraîner la rupture des remblais dans certains cas. Il est donc important d’étudier et de comprendre l’influence de l’eau sur les infrastructures de transport et de développer de nouvelles pratiques d’ingénierie face à la gestion de l’eau.

Ce projet de recherche vise à développer des méthodes pratiques pour calculer la quantité de chaleur transférée par convection par les flux d'eau de surface et du sous-sol dans la conception d'un système de drainage. Ceci implique plus particulièrement le développement d’une méthode d'évaluation de la quantité maximale d'eau qui peut être concentrée dans un canal (ex: ponceau) afin de contrôler le transfert de chaleur au pergélisol et subséquemment l’érosion thermique des sols. Cette approche conduira à un nombre optimal de passages (ponceaux) à considérer pour une structure donnée, à la conception thermique de ces passages ainsi qu’à la conception d'un système de diffusion de flux en aval de la structure.

Pour ce faire, les objectifs spécifiques à atteindre sont les suivants : 1) Améliorer la connaissance des écoulements d’eau de surface et souterraine et son influence sur la performance des chaussées construites sur un pergélisol sensible; 2) Développer une méthode géophysique qui permettra de détecter les réseaux d’écoulement souterrain sous la route; 3) Élaborer de nouvelles stratégies de construction et d’entretien afin d’atténuer les problèmes de dégradation du pergélisol résultant de l’écoulement d’eau; et 4) Effectuer une étude de faisabilité et de coûts-bénéfices des nouvelles techniques développées. Le projet comprend également l’analyse des profils de température du sol en fonction du débit de l'eau, des mesures de flux de chaleur, de la modélisation thermique et des essais en laboratoire à petite échelle.

Trois sites expérimentaux, où des problèmes d’écoulement d’eau ont été répertoriés, ont été choisis pour la recherche et sont situés respectivement: sur l’autoroute de l’Alaska au Yukon à proximité de Beaver Creek, sur la route d’accès de l’aéroport d’Ilulissat au Groenland ainsi que sur la route d’accès à Salluit au Nunavik.

 
 

Communications scientifiques

Fritz, M., Deshpande, B., Bouchard, F., Högström, E., Malenfant Lepage, J., Morgenstern, A., Nieuwendam, A., Oliva, M., Paquette, M., Rudy, A.C. A., Siewert, M.B., Sjöberg, Y., Weege, S., 2015. Brief Communication: Future avenues for permafrost science from the perspective of early career researchers. The Cryosphere, 9: 1715–1720. DOI: 10.5194/tc-9-1715-2015.

 
© 2018 Tous droits réservés | Adapté d'un design original de BinaryTheme.com