Home | Our members | Contact us | Français | |  

Sandra Lai

 

Postdoctoral fellow

Department of biology, chemistry and geography, UQAR

Des Ursulines Building
300 Allée des Ursulines
UQAR
Quebec, Canada
G5L 3A1

418.723.1986
laisandra@gmail.com

 

http://132.203.57.253:8080/donneesweb/document/image/perso_2837.jpg

 


 
 
 

Research project

Characterization of the food web at Alert, Ellesmere Island

Climate change and the increase of human activities in the Arctic will cause major changes in the North in the next decades. The mechanisms which regulate Arctic ecosystems are not completely understood, but more knowledge is necessary to be able to maintain ecological integrity and the ecosystemic services on which northern communities depend.

This postdoctoral project aims to implement an ecological monitoring near the Canadian Forces Station Alert (Nunavut, Canada), a site located at the northern tip of the Canadian Archipelago and described as a “polar desert”, in order to better characterize the food web of this Arctic ecosystem. Contrary to other study sites in the Arctic, where the arctic fox (Vulpes lagopus) is the main terrestrial predator, Alert hosts a population of arctic hares (Lepus arcticus) predated by arctic wolves (Canis lupus arctos). The ecological monitoring will use research protocols standardized across the Arctic to determine the species diversity and abundance. In particular, the abundance of animal species will be estimated using visual counts and faeces counts along activity transects. Emphasis will be placed on the two key species of the ecosystem, the arctic hare and the arctic wolf. The hare population will be studied more intensively using a capture-mark-recapture program, behavioural observations and GPS collars. Breeding activities at wolf dens will be monitored with automatic cameras.

Long-term ecological monitoring programs are essential in order to understand the cumulative effects climate change and human presence in the North have on plant and animal communities. The characterization of the ecosystem at Alert and the study of species for which ecological data is missing will allow us to better understand the forces regulating this relatively simple food web.

 
 

Scientific communications

Lai, S., Bêty, J., Berteaux, D., 2017. Movement tactics of a mobile predator in a meta-ecosystem with fluctuating resources: the arctic fox in the High Arctic. Oikos, 126(7): 937-947. DOI: 10.1111/oik.03948.

Lai, S., Quiles, A., Lambourdière, J., Berteaux, D., Lalis, A., 2017. Fine-scale population genetic structure of arctic foxes (Vulpes lagopus) in the High Arctic. BMC Research notes, 10: 663. DOI: 10.1186/s13104-017-3002-1.

Rioux, M.-J., Lai, S., Casajus, N., Bêty, J., Berteaux, D., 2017. Winter home range fidelity and extraterritorial movements of Arctic fox pairs in the Canadian High Arctic. Polar Research, 36(Issue sup1: Arctic Fox Biology and Management): 11. DOI: 10.1080/17518369.2017.1316930.

Chevallier, C., Lai, S., Berteaux, D., 2016. Predation of arctic fox (Vulpes lagopus) pups by common ravens (Corvus corax). Polar Biology, 39(7): 1335–1341. DOI: 10.1007/s00300-015-1843-4.

Lai, S., Bêty, J., Berteaux, D., 2015. Spatio–temporal hotspots of satellite–tracked arctic foxes reveal a large detection range in a mammalian predator. Movement Ecology, 3: 37. DOI: 10.1186/s40462-015-0065-2.

Gauthier, G., Bêty, J., Cadieux, M.-C., Legagneux, P., Doiron, M., Chevallier, C., Lai, S., Tarroux, A., Berteaux, D., 2013. Long-term monitoring at multiple trophic levels suggests heterogeneity in responses to climate change in the Canadian Arctic tundra. Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society Series B, 368(1624): 20120482. DOI: 10.1098/rstb.2012.0482.

 
© 2019 All rights reserved | Adapted from an original design by BinaryTheme.com

Accueil | Nos membres | Nous joindre | English | |  

Sandra Lai

 

Chercheure post-doctorale

Département de biologie, chimie et géographie, UQAR

Campus de Rimouski
300 Allée des Ursulines
UQAR
Rimouski
Québec, Canada
G5L 3A1

418.723.1986
laisandra@gmail.com

 

http://132.203.57.253:8080/donneesweb/document/image/perso_2837.jpg

 


 
 
 

Projet de recherche

Caractérisation du réseau trophique à Alert, Ile d'Ellesmere

Les changements climatiques et l’augmentation croissante des activités humaines en Arctique vont provoquer des changements majeurs dans le Nord au cours des prochaines décennies. Les mécanismes qui régissent le fonctionnement des écosystèmes arctiques sont encore mal connus, mais il est nécessaire de mieux les connaître afin de pouvoir maintenir leur intégrité et les services écosystémiques dont dépendent les communautés nordiques.

Ce projet postdoctoral vise à mettre en place un suivi écologique près de la station militaire d’Alert (Nunavut, Canada), un site situé à l’extrême nord de l’archipel arctique canadien et qualifié de « désert polaire », afin de mieux caractériser le réseau trophique de cet écosystème arctique. Contrairement aux autres sites de recherche en Arctique, où le renard arctique (Vulpes lagopus) est le principal prédateur terrestre, Alert présente une population de lièvres arctiques (Lepus arcticus) qui est prédatée par des loups arctiques (Canis lupus arctos). Le suivi écologique utilisera des protocoles de recherche standardisés à travers l’Arctique afin de déterminer les espèces présentes à ce site et leur abondance. Notamment, l’abondance des espèces animales présentes sera déterminée par des décomptes visuels et des décomptes de fèces réalisés le long de transects d’activité. L’accent sera mis sur les deux espèces-clés de l’écosystème, le lièvre arctique et le loup arctique. Les lièvres arctiques seront étudiés plus extensivement grâce à la mise en place d’un programme de capture-marquage-recapture, des observations visuelles et la pose de colliers GPS. Les tanières de loups seront munies d’appareils photo automatiques afin de suivre les activités de reproduction.

Les suivis écologiques à long terme sont essentiels afin de comprendre les effets cumulatifs que peuvent avoir les changements climatiques et l’augmentation de la présence humaine dans le Nord canadien sur les communautés animales et végétales arctiques. La caractérisation de l’écosystème d’Alert et l’étude d’espèces pour lesquelles il existe peu de données permettra de mieux comprendre les forces régulant ce très simple réseau trophique.

 
 

Communications scientifiques

Lai, S., Bêty, J., Berteaux, D., 2017. Movement tactics of a mobile predator in a meta-ecosystem with fluctuating resources: the arctic fox in the High Arctic. Oikos, 126(7): 937-947. DOI: 10.1111/oik.03948.

Lai, S., Quiles, A., Lambourdière, J., Berteaux, D., Lalis, A., 2017. Fine-scale population genetic structure of arctic foxes (Vulpes lagopus) in the High Arctic. BMC Research notes, 10: 663. DOI: 10.1186/s13104-017-3002-1.

Rioux, M.-J., Lai, S., Casajus, N., Bêty, J., Berteaux, D., 2017. Winter home range fidelity and extraterritorial movements of Arctic fox pairs in the Canadian High Arctic. Polar Research, 36(Issue sup1: Arctic Fox Biology and Management): 11. DOI: 10.1080/17518369.2017.1316930.

Chevallier, C., Lai, S., Berteaux, D., 2016. Predation of arctic fox (Vulpes lagopus) pups by common ravens (Corvus corax). Polar Biology, 39(7): 1335–1341. DOI: 10.1007/s00300-015-1843-4.

Lai, S., Bêty, J., Berteaux, D., 2015. Spatio–temporal hotspots of satellite–tracked arctic foxes reveal a large detection range in a mammalian predator. Movement Ecology, 3: 37. DOI: 10.1186/s40462-015-0065-2.

Gauthier, G., Bêty, J., Cadieux, M.-C., Legagneux, P., Doiron, M., Chevallier, C., Lai, S., Tarroux, A., Berteaux, D., 2013. Long-term monitoring at multiple trophic levels suggests heterogeneity in responses to climate change in the Canadian Arctic tundra. Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society Series B, 368(1624): 20120482. DOI: 10.1098/rstb.2012.0482.

 
© 2019 Tous droits réservés | Adapté d'un design original de BinaryTheme.com