Home | Our members | Contact us | Français | |  
Welcome to the centre for northern studies (CEN)
A strategic cluster funded by the FRQNT

A strategic interuniversity cluster

The Centre d'études nordiques (CEN), founded in 1961, is a strategic interuniversity cluster supported financially by FRQNT between Université Laval, Université du Québec à Rimouski and the Centre Eau, Terre et Environnement of the Institut national de la recherche scientifique. It also includes members from Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières, Université de Sherbrooke, Université de Montréal, Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, Université du Québec à Montréal, l'École de Technologie Supérieure (Montréal), McGill University, Concordia University and Cégep F-X Garneau. Today, the CEN brings together more than 300 researchers, students, trainees and professionals from various disciplines (biology and microbiology, geography, geology, engineering, archaeology, land use planning).

CEN's mission

CEN's mission is to contribute to the sustainable development of northern regions by improving our understanding of these environments and our ability to predict the changes that affect them. In partnership with the scientific, government, Indigenous and industrial communities at the national and international levels, CEN generates fundamental and applied knowledge in order to develop expertise adapted to northern regions and to propose strategies for adapting to the impacts of climate and environmental change in cold environments. CEN trains highly qualified professionals to meet the challenges posed by the dual context of global warming and the accelerated socio-economic development of the North. CEN co-produces knowledge with northern communities and organizations to contribute to education and socio-cultural well-being and to address local concerns.

Areas of intervention of CEN

The following list summarizes the main areas of CEN intervention in arctic/subarctic, alpine and ice-exposed environments.

  • Dynamics of the permafrosted physical environment;
  • Natural and geomechanical risks;
  • Coastal dynamics and resilience;
  • Evolution of landscapes;
  • Paleo-environmental reconstruction;
  • Interactions between climate, biogeochemical cycles and aquatic and terrestrial systems;
  • Exchange of energy and materials between environmental compartments;
  • Structure and functioning of ecosystems;
  • Remote sensing applied to geo-ecosystems;
  • Water cycle and groundwater management;
  • Responsible management of renewable and non-renewable natural resources;
  • Development of renewable energy adapted to the North;
  • Man-environment relationship and culture of adaptation of the peoples of the North

Book a stay in the North

If you plan to stay in the North, you can book accommodation in one of our stations. Just use the online form.

Nordicana D

This collection, published only in electronic form, is freely and openly accessible to CEN researchers and to other users. Nordicana D has been conceived to aid the management of data sets, to ensure and maximize the exchange and accessibility of relevant data for the different stakeholders, and to provide a lasting legacy of CEN monitoring and research activities.

Our partners

© 2021 All rights reserved | Adapted from an original design by BinaryTheme.com

Accueil | Nos membres | Nous joindre | English | |  
Bienvenue au Centre d'études nordiques

Un centre multi-universitaire

Le Centre d'études nordiques (CEN) est un centre d'excellence interuniversitaire entre l'Université Laval, l'Université du Québec à Rimouski et le Centre Eau, 3 Terre et Environnement de l'Institut national de la recherche scientifique. Il compte également des membres de l'Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières, l'Université de Sherbrooke, Université de Montréal, Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, Université du Québec à Montréal, McGill University, l'Université Concordia et Cégep F-X Garneau. Le CEN regroupe aujourd'hui plus de 300 chercheurs, étudiants, stagiaires et professionnels provenant de diverses disciplines (biologie et microbiologie, géographie, géologie, génie, archéologie, aménagement du territoire).

La mission

La mission du CEN est de contribuer au développement durable des régions nordiques en améliorant notre compréhension et notre capacité de prédiction des changements qui affectent ces environnements. En partenariat avec les milieux scientifiques, gouvernementaux, autochtones et industriels à l’échelle nationale et internationale, le CEN génère des connaissances fondamentales et appliquées en vue de développer le savoir-faire adapté aux régions nordiques et de proposer des stratégies d’adaptation aux impacts des changements en milieu froid. Le CEN forme des professionnels hautement qualifiés, aptes à faire face aux défis que pose le double contexte du réchauffement climatique et du développement socio-économique accéléré que connaît présentement le Nord. Le CEN assure un échange de connaissances avec les communautés nordiques pour contribuer à l’éducation et au bien-être social et culturel.

La direction

La directrice du CEN est Najat Bhiry et le directeur scientifique est Gilles Gauthier de l'Université Laval. Les directeurs adjoints sont : Esther Lévesque de l'UQTR et Joël Bêty de l'UQAR.

Réserver un séjour dans le Nord

Si vous prévoyez faire un séjour dans le Nord, vous pouvez réserver une place d'hébergement dans l'une de nos stations. Il suffit d'utiliser le formulaire en ligne.

Nordicana D

Cette collection produite uniquement sous forme électronique est librement accessible, via internet, aux chercheurs du CEN ainsi qu'à tous les autres utilisateurs intéressés par les travaux du CEN. Elle facilite la gestion des ensembles de données et en garantie l'accessibilité via ce site web. Elle permet aussi de laisser en héritage les résultats des travaux de recherche et de collecte de données du CEN.

Nos partenaires

© 2017 Tous droits réservés | Adapté d'un design original de BinaryTheme.com